We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated feel close to DLR”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich
Ranked #176 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Sophisticated feel close to DLR”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

A bit tucked away, this hotel is 2-3 minutes' from Deptford Bridge DLR station and a couple of stops from Greenwich Maritime, for access to Cutty Sark etc. The welcome and check-in were friendly and efficient; the room large with big glass-fronted shower room/WC with excellent toiletries and fluffy towels. The glass is printed with historic dates about Greenwich. Tea/coffee making facilities good. I didn't have breakfast or eat in the restaurant so can't comment on those. Bed was firm and comfortable, with good seating area/desk and accessible plugs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesly_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and that the team made you feel welcome. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    899
    550
    148
    72
    29
See reviews for
229
820
89
273
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Modern hotel with lovely décor. Hotel is set on a quiet street, but is in convenient location for travel into downtown London as it is close to the DLR train (walking distance). MOST IMPORTANTLY… I want to give a warm thank you to NICK and HASAAN (gentlemen at the front desk). They were a kind and helpful and big contributors in making our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you very much for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel with its décor and the quiet location with fantastic transport links to central London. I am pleased that Nicolas and Hassan made you feel welcome. They will be happy to hear your comments. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was my second visit to this hotel – literally a hidden gem away from the hustle and bustle of London. The hotel is close to Deptford Bridge DLR station (about a 5 minute walk) located in a quiet residential street. It is also about 10 minutes walk to Greenwich station where as well as the DLR you can catch a train to London Bridge (journey time around 10 minutes).

The facilities in the room were excellent – you can control the temperature of your room and the lighting on the TV. There is a choice of “pay to view” movies and good choice of TV/radio channels. The bathroom was a good size with a great shower The bed was comfy and the room had blackout blinds to ensure a good night’s sleep. There is also free Wi-Fi.
A 15 minute walk will take you to historic Greenwich or catch the DLR and alight at Cutty Sark station. You can also travel to Canary Wharf for a choice of restaurants and shops. There is a good Waitrose supermarket here and places to eat alfresco if you are on a budget. If you want to be a little more adventurous catch a DLR train to Stratford (you sometimes have to change trains at Canary Wharf - just cross the platform) and go to the Westfield Shopping Centre – for a huge selection of shops, restaurants and a multiplex cinema.

The breakfast room is located in the basement of the hotel and is one of the better buffet breakfasts I have experienced with plenty of choice. You will be offered tea or coffee on arrival. If you want coffee I suggest you ask for a cappuccino, latte or espresso as the filter coffee is a little bitter. The staff at the hotel are all friendly and welcoming and nothing seems to be too much trouble. This is a new hotel and if this level of service continues it will become my hotel of choice to stay when in London.
If you are travelling to London for business or pleasure this hotel is a great place to stay. If you book in advance you will get a great room rate too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel for a guaranteed good night's sleep. The rooms on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindermereBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest, We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind feedback. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the room facilities and had a good night sleep. I agree that the hotel’s location is well situated for central London visitors or business guests working in Canary Wharf. We are delighted that Mercure London Greenwich is your first choice in London and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

A quiet hotel just off of the main routes around Greenwich, the historical centre was about a ten minute walk away.
Easy access to the docklands lights railway.
Staff friendly and helpful
Rooms chic and comfy
Lovely restaurant ..though breakfast was pretty standard

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. It is great to read that you did benefit from the hotels location and liked the modern design of the hotel rooms. See you on your next trip hopefully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed for one night as attending wedding in Dulwich. Staff very friendly and most helpful especially Andre on Reception. Breakfast excellent hot and plentiful - staff only too pleased to help if needed. Perfect for visiting Greenwich area tho' must remember to book car park next time!..had to keep feeding meter outside in road! Prices a little high but thats London area I guess. Very good quality hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eloise1512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I was also absolutely delighted to read your lovely comments regarding our team members and especially about Andre. They all work so hard to ensure all our guests’ experiences are as comfortable and memorable as possible. I will be very happy to share your kind words with the teams. We highly recommend our guests to reserve a car park space prior to their stay due to limited availability. I do hope that we will soon have the opportunity to welcome you back to Mercure London Greenwich in the near future, for another enjoyable stay experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed one night with partner and friend. Was an all round good experience. Staff were friendly and helpful and knew their job. Rooms clean, pleasant and everything worked through the TV - never seen that before. Friend had room with magnificent views of Thames and London. Full evening meal and breakfast were good quality and not short on the helpings. Staff even offered a paper bag to help transport some breakfast items for lunch - that's a first. Beats the usual napkin in the handbag! Good value for London and most helpful that Deptford Bridge DLR stations is just around the corner. Will certainly be staying here again when in London - hope the offers are still on:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandVWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted that all of you had a great stay with us. I recommend booking early to avail of our fantastic offers. We very much look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed at hotel last Sunday as going to the O2 to see Michael Buble. Hotel was very nice and located in a nice quiet street. The staff were very helpful, especially as there were a little confusion over one of our rooms. They had put us on the lower ground floor but said we could move if weren't happy, they moved us straight away.The rooms were very modern. If you want to park there you have to reserve a space which wasn't explained when I rang to see if they had a car park. It was ok though as the the parking meters outside are free from 5pm - 9am and we managed to find a space outside.
Its best to get a taxi to the O2 as its a long walk( alot longer than 20mins).A taxi is £12 and the hotel staff will order it for you. Didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment. Will stay stay there again.

Room Tip: Don't have a room on lower ground, its in the basement and window are small and high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Next40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janine W, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind review. We are delighted our staff made you feel welcome. Fantastic to read that you will be staying with us again. We recommend our guests to pre-book car park due to limited availability. Consider booking a privilege room situated on the 8th & 9th floor for panoramic views over London. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westbridge Hotel
#101 of 1,068 in London
1,392 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich
Address: Catherine Grove, London SE10 8FR, England (Formerly Mercure London Greenwich)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#125 Business Hotel in London
#139 Luxury Hotel in London
#143 Romantic Hotel in London
#288 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Royal Greenwich, DoubleTree By Hilton London Greenwich is just a 15 minute walk from the Cutty Sark, Maritime Museum and near the O2 Arena. Close to Canary Wharf, Excel Exhibition Centre and with great transport links to Central London, this London Hotel is easily accessible via the DLR from Greenwich station and is near to Greenwich Market and the observatory. This 4* hotel offers free wi-fi in all bedrooms, the restaurant and bar. Use of the hotel gym is free for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton London Greenwich England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing