We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and staff members”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich
Ranked #165 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed for a night with my boyfriend over the weekend, an amazing hotel in a great location! The staffs were really friendly and welcoming when we checked in, Yasmin made our stay enjoyable and comfortable, she was very courteous and lovely

The hotel room were very clean and the bed was super comfortable, the only downfall was that our room was facing the carpark on the 6th floor and there were some building work going on early in the morning which woke us up, other than that the stay was brilliant and we would definitely visit again 

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissJTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you Miss JTT, great review with another mention for Yasmin – Hooray! Next time, contact me in advance of your arrival and I will ensure an altogether better view – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,612 - 1,618 of 1,830 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights as a base to attend 'strictly' at the o2. The hotel is lovely. Beds are very comfortable, and rooms are fine. The service on the front desk was great, especially Jaz who made us very welcome.The location for DLR and the town itself is great, 10 minutes walk.The hotel appeared quiet and i hope that given time it becomes the success it deserves. We love Greenwich and will definetley return here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnstreeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for your very kind review Mr Streeter, we are glad you enjoyed the comfy beds together with the service at Front Desk (Jasmine will be delighted for the mention!). We look forward to your return – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for five nights as we had to move out of our apartment across the road in Deals Gateway prior to our return to Australia. The hotel is a great addition to the Greenwich community and we could not fault anything. I have noted that another guest commented on the small check in desk, which I agree with, but note that this is now being changed. The decor of the hotel is first class and it is obvious that a lot of time and effort has gone into the total transformation of this building (old police station).

The restaurant service was excellent although on that particular night we were the only guests eating so it was very attentive. However, I am sure it would be the same no matter how many guests. The bar staff were friendly and efficient and the bar area itself is a delight. We would definitely stay here again when we return to Greenwich (we loved living there for all of 2012).

A P.S. to the management of the hotel - please do all you can to ensure that the old White Swan pub around the corner from you is sold to a good property developer (it needs it!)

Room Tip: Ask for a room which faces towards Greenwich Park rather than Greenwich High Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJL1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

We hope you had a good trip back to Australia and are delighted that you believe us to be a great addition to Greenwich. We are glad too that you loved your time in Blighty and hope that you return soon - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

A group of us booked 4 rooms for a one night stay.

On arrival check in was on a very small desk with 2 members of staff who worked as fast as they could to check in our group into 4 rooms and the other arriving guests. For the size of the hotel it did appear a little inadequate but I cannot fault the staff for their friendliness and effort to get us checked in.

The hotel itself is very well presented internally, the bar and restaurant were very nice and inviting.

All 4 of us stayed in rooms on different floors and the report back from each is the rooms were very well decorated and really clean. The TV was flat screen and a good size and internet access free and worked well for me (I was on the 7th floor).

We drank in the bar and would like to say the bar staff were very attentive and friendly, my only complaint is they didn't stock Guinness but you can't win them all.

We also ate an evening meal in the restaurant. a great experience and we all really enjoyed the food. Breakfast was also very good.

The bed in my hotel room was very comfortable and the only thing that stopped us all having a good nights sleep was the noise through the double glazed windows that didn't appear to have any effect on the wind blowing past or the traffic. everyone mentioned it in the morning, not forgetting we were in different rooms.

All in all a very nice hotel with their greatest asset being their staff. The only things I would change is the check in/check out desk and look at if there was a way to reduce the noise through the windows. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_Trish_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for the review; the good news is that the front desk has been completely redesigned and will be installed at the beginning of March. This should make the sense of arrival more commensurate with the level of comfort and service we aim to provide. Alas, I am told Guinness doesn't travel (Im sure it does!) I will discuss with the food & drink department and see what we can do. Hope to see you soon - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The hotel rooms OK, room service is dreadful. Food is very poor.
Internet connection is just awful, every evening almost unusable. Inexcusable in London and I will never come back again just because of this. Please sort it out you are not a pub with free internet!!! Find a decent ISP and pay them for premium service.

Tracing route to www.google.com [173.194.66.103]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1 1 ms <1 ms <1 ms 172.17.1.1
2 * 1 ms 1 ms 82-71-76-117.dsl.in-addr.zen.co.uk [82.71.76.117
]
3 707 ms 829 ms 751 ms losubs.subs.dsl3.th-lon.zen.net.uk [62.3.84.25]

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LifeIsARollercoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

I find it interesting that you seem to have a completely contrary view to the hotel than all the other reviewers but I suppose you are entitled to your opinion.... If you change your mind about returning, let me know as I would like to meet you and discuss your feedback - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

stayed there for two nights (mid week) and i have to say it was one of the most pleasant experiences i have had in a hotel thus far. the staff were very courteous and indeed very efficient, on top of this the owner was there during my visit, and showed a very large interest in what i had to say. i dont know about everyone else but i love to see this in a business.

the rooms were very nice, internet included which is always a good thing to see. but the pinnacle of my stay was the bed. it was incredibly comfortable and led to a very good nights sleep. the food was good as well.

if i had to come up with a negative point it would have to be that it was rather quiet. this was probably due to the fact that it had very recently opened when i stayed.

overall, however, i thoroughly enjoyed my stay and i will most certainly be going back soon!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 616Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Thank you for your kind review and we are delighted you got a chance to meet with the owner. We hope to welcome you back very soon - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel Friday and Saturday night last week and have only positive things to say about our stay: The staff were so friendly and went out of their way to be helpful; the room, albeit not being big (which was't a problem, I hasten to add!), was tastefully decorated and very clean. (The door to the bathroom even offered a history lesson and we could see London Eye from the windows in our room!) Breakfast was great with lots of different options and filled us up for the day! I loved how you could choose extra things from a menu (porridge among other things!).

I would definitely come back!

Keep up the good work!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael R, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you so much for this sterling review, we are delighted that you had such a great experience and hope to welcome you back again very soon – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Westbridge Hotel
#98 of 1,077 in London
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
De Vere Devonport House
De Vere Devonport House
#399 of 1,077 in London
1,439 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich

Address: Catherine Grove, London SE10 8FR, England (Formerly Mercure London Greenwich)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#101 Best Value Hotel in London
#125 Business Hotel in London
#131 Luxury Hotel in London
#143 Romantic Hotel in London
#287 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $99 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Royal Greenwich, DoubleTree By Hilton London Greenwich is just a 15 minute walk from the Cutty Sark, Maritime Museum and near the O2 Arena. Close to Canary Wharf, Excel Exhibition Centre and with great transport links to Central London, this London Hotel is easily accessible via the DLR from Greenwich station and is near to Greenwich Market and the observatory. This 4* hotel offers free wi-fi in all bedrooms, the restaurant and bar. Use of the hotel gym is free for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton London Greenwich England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing