We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Pan-Asian food”
Review of SamarQand Restaurant and Bar - CLOSED

SamarQand Restaurant and Bar
Price range: $48 - $64
Cuisines: Asian, Russian, Ukrainian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Description: Experience rare, exotic new flavours at Samarqand restaurant and bar. Newly opened in the heart of Marylebone, Samarqand specialises in authentic Central Asian cuisine.Let your taste buds be tantalized by a mixture of cuisines from faraway countries like Uzbekistan and Kazakhstan, as well as influences from Central Asia’s neighbouring territories of Russia, China and Mongolia. Choose from traditional Central Asian dishes cooked with a modern twist, and enjoy enticing spices, fresh herbs and succulent flavours in a stylish and laid back environment.SamarQand’s chic bar and cocktail lounge offers an ideal space for pre or post dinner drinks, serving a selection of innovative Eastern inspired cocktails.SamarQand boasts five private rooms, each equipped with flat screen TV and DVD player, Karaoke machine and games consoles, as well as an inbuilt sound system, suitable for private dinners, business meetings, or special parties.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
361 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice Pan-Asian food”
Reviewed May 16, 2014

It was my first time in this restaurant together with a few colleagues. We were all positively surprised about the food, both the wide variety and taste. We had Russian herring, houmous, solenia, kartoshhechka, lamb shashlik, lamb chops, seabass and more, which all made a nice experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fornebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Authentic Central Asian Food”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Went there with my friends to treat them for some food from back home. Must say food is as good as it can be. Some Dishes are very similar to what I'm used to. Service was very good, very attentive staff. wine selection from Georgian is very good. Would recommend to a friend. :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Azamat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food but poor service”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We have booked a table for 16 people as we're celebrating a birthday and were expecting for an amazing experience but unfortunately were disappointed. First of all we were waiting ages for the food to arrive, eventually after almost all of us received it two people were still waiting. Their food arrived only when we finished ours. There was only one waiter serving us and he looked very confused. As well when we asked for tee some cups arrived dirty. In overall food was good but service poor and it ruined whole experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tattie_Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We had an amazing time in your Restaurant. As always the reception and service was second to none. I”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed in SamarQand Restaurant . The food was superb. Thank you to you, your wonderful chef and staff for a lovely evening. Also a belated thank you for looking after us when we came to for the meal . Again the food and service was excellent. Thank you very much !

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

New type of cuisine for our friends circle, however not one that everyone enjoyed. 'Plov' was disappointing, however manty was one of the best I've had. Great drinks. Service was adequate, some lovely staff however our particular waitress was very abrupt. Don't think we'll be returning any time soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ani612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SamarQand Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing