We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff but food could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Rocco - CLOSED

Rocco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Rocco was born from our passion for good food and fine dining and from our will to open a place where the high tradition of Italian cuisine blends with the pleasure of experimenting, thus creating everchanging menus enriched by the dishes of our table. Our Food Boutique offers a fine selection of hard-to-find Italian specialties such as extra vergin olive oil, honey, farmstead cheeses, Parma ham and other traditional salumi (cured meat) and, of course, wine.
UK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely staff but food could be better”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I decided to try Rocco as it opened a few months ago and is very close to where we live. The welcome was friendly and we were seated easily though we had no reservations. The restaurant is quite large, not much character. The wine waiter had no knowledge about wine although he spent a ridiculous amount of time decanting the Italian wine we selected. However, it was entertaining if nothing else. The clams that we ordered were very gritty -- there is absolutely no excuse for this. The veal I had as a second dish was very poor and tasteless. Not a very inspiring meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Europe_City_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    74
    21
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic authentic Italian restaurant”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Rocco is a fantastic restaurant. The food is gorgeous authentic Italian. Service is great as all the staff make you feel so welcome. I especially enjoy Stephano's cocktails. Absolutely amazing. I can't recommend this restaurant highly enough. Once you try it you'll go back for more.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizbakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Italian food and service”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Wonderful warm welcome, swift service, first from the good selection of cocktails and then from the excellent menu - not your usual London Italian, but some genuine, original regional choices, with delicious antipasti and main courses in particular. This is a very welcome reinterpretation of an excellent site that previously housed Pontevecchio and Langans, and is now rightly making a name for itself. All the staff are extremely friendly and appear to be just as happy serving families with children as they are parties of grown-ups or cooing couples. The place seems to have the approval of many Italians in London, which is another good sign, and its relaxed atmosphere makes it a splendid addition to the Earls Court area. Will definitely go again......

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful adventure”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

As a local to Earls Court, I was delighted to see this restaurant open last summer. I have been many times and vary between sitting at the bar test driving the delicious cocktails, with a light supper - or sit in the main restaurant for a feast.

The Rocco team are all about service and you really feel it is important to them, that you have a good evening.

Don't be afraid to go off piste with your food choices and make sure you finish with the parmesan, pear with honey on the side... and / or biscotti and grappa!

You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Rubish rubish rubish!!!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Called today for lunch and was a disaster from start to finish. Waited forever for a waiter to take our order. When he finally arrived he was called away twice so only took the order on his third attempt. The starters didn't arrive before luke warm mains were served. One drink ordered at the start didn't come even after 3 times of asking. Bottom line, just don't bother!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Harrydavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocco also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing