We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Underdone veggies, overpriced meals, bad service”
Review of The Haven Arms

The Haven Arms
Ranked #8,725 of 22,511 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Underdone veggies, overpriced meals, bad service”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I joined a friend and her family for lunch today. They had previously had a decent meal here so we tried again today. The service was not great for starters. The kids roasts were nearly £8 and there was so many veggies on the plate it was silly. The chicken was ok. I suggested to the other waitress that they give smaller portions for the kids meal and reduce the price. The veggies were all under cooked so hence the kids did not eat anything. Apart from undercooked they were bland without a hint of butter or gravy or spices.
The Adult roasts were approx £15 and once again, same undercooked veg. The meat on the plates were really a small portion for that price. They seem to load the plate with veg.
I had the fish and chips with peas. The chips were hard and tasted like they had been reheated. The fish was a good size portion but had def been cooked in old oil.
Nobody checked if our food was ok. When the other waitress came to clear some plates she half heartedly asked if it was ok and we gave her some feedback as my friend who was with me is a brilliant cook. She did not even come back with the manager or offer us a free coffee nothing.
The pub looked fairly busy at the time so not sure if it was that they were busy and not bothered about another table.
I would def not eat there again and their service was bad.
There are lots of other pubs with much better, cheaper food around. Paying £7 for a kids meal and a juice is too much.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DanitaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    5
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch 27th April”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

It was average, after reading the reviews I expected great things. We got there about 3pm and most of the roasts were sold out, some of the vegetables were just warm.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Steak Night”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Had the two course £ 11.50 special

The starter of smoked salmon with toasted bread and micro salad was a very generous and tasty portion.

I like my steak on the rare side and it was dome to perfection.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JJBW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just what it should be”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I was flagging after a day out on the "other" side of London, passing through Ealing and remembered this place from a civil partnership booze-up a few years ago, tucked up a residential street. In fact got the wrong street first but persevered, and - salvation! Top notch Bombardier and a real welcome. The rugby was on which suited me, maybe not everyone, but it was England-France and drew in a good crowd, Cannot vouch for the food but a good honest menu. What a great friendly local pub just a few paces away from the chains and "bars".

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheStowE17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Christmas Lunch”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I organised Christmas lunch here for 2o+ people with the Haven Arms, they were absolutely great at helping me organise the lunch. All the staff I spoke to were incredibly friendly and helped me feel at ease that the lunch was going to go smoothly.

During the lunch all the staff made everyone feel welcome. They had a list of all the menu choices and dishes before hand but delivered each dish on time and by name. The food was delicious and was the best roast I have eaten in a long time.

The venue is homely and warm, they had beautiful Christmas decorations and had gone the extra mile to create a lovely atmosphere.

Special mention to Mark, Steven and Nick they were great

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EatDrinkDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Haven Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Haven Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing