We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heliot Steakhouse”
Review of Heliot Steak House

Heliot Steak House
Ranked #103 of 22,516 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Judged 'Best Steak Restaurant in London' by the customers of Bookatable, Europe's biggest online restaurant booking service, the 150-seat Heliot Steak House serves the best value American prime steak in the capital. It also has a unique view unlike any in London...diners can look out over the magnificent Grand Casino floor of The Hippodrome, the largest and most popular casino and entertainment venue in the country. PLEASE NOTE BECAUSE OF ITS CASINO LOCATION, HELIOT STEAK HOUSE ADMITS OVER 18s ONLY (IF YOU ARE LUCKY ENOUGH TO LOOK UNDER 25 YOU MUST BRING PHOTO ID). Heliot serves only USDA prime - the USDA marque a true indication of quality - aged between 4 and 6 weeks to develop tenderness and flavour. You can choose from a selection of toppings, including roast bone marrow, truffle and lobster tail or one of the eight sauces available. And if steak isn't your thing there is plenty more to feast on including And if steak isn't your thing there is plenty more to feast on including delicious fish, vegetarian and Arabic dishes. We highly recommend the legendary Millionaire's Mac & Cheese (topped with a poached duck egg and black truffle). There are six bars throughout The Hippodrome including the Piano Bar on the first floor overlooking the gaming tables. This serves as the social hub of the venue, with a drinks list offering everything from American beers to bespoke cocktails. While the Cranbourn Club Bar, sited on the third floor adjacent to the two-tier Smoking Terrace, is the West End's busiest and most popular late night venue. Also, check out the in-house offer of half price wines on Sunday. Over 18s only.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heliot Steakhouse”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Received a daily email from Bookatable promoting Heliot Steakhouse which is located inside the Hippodrome Casino right next door to Leicester Sq tube station. Took one look at the menu and the reviews on TripAdvisor and booked straight away - we were not disappointed! Fantastic steak cooked perfectly, outstanding prices, attentive staff without being intrusive and very accomodating to diners requirements. Would recommend to any steak lover!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fire_and_icicles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, Manager at Heliot Steak House, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello Fire_and_iciclies. Thank you for booking and dining with us. It is great to here positive feedback from all avenues, especially our guests. We will look forward to passing your comments along to our staff. Please join us again soon for another amazing night out. Sincerely, The Hippodrome Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    821
    270
    54
    24
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect dinner”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I was there under suggest of my friend. The environment is really amazing inside the hippodrome casino. I ordered mac&cheese and rib on the bone. The food is really awesome and the service is accurate and fast. The waiters can recommend you a good selection of wines. I can say for sure I will go back. 5 stars!

Helpful?
Thank Giacomo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, Manager at Heliot Steak House, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello GiacomoB. Thank you for taking time to review your night out with us. We love to hear feedback, especially a positive experience as you had to pass along to our staff. We will make sure to pass along your amazing night out to our staff to keep up the good work and keep striving for this amazing success. We do hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, The Hippodrome Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crayford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Poor Service, inconsistent food”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

I dined here on Saturday 18th January. There were 11 of us. We had booked for 20:15 and when arriving at the host desk, were told that the table was not ready and we would have to wait. We waited for approxinmately 10 minutes.
Service was appaling. We did not get a bottle of wine which had been ordered until gone 9pm. One person in our party was skipped in the ordering and we had to ask the waiter to take the order.
Food was very inconsistent, There were a few people in the party who enjoyed their meal. For me, I ordered a steak (rib-eye) with a side of fries and topped with fois gras. I asked for the steak medium. One half was bordering on medium the other well-done. My fries did not arrive until I had nearly finished my steak. My friend ordered a burger cooked medium. This was also completely over done and she could not eat it. We had various starters. One was mac and cheese (a side dish ordered as a starter). It had no flavour. It just tasted like a bland bechemal sauce and not cheesy at all.

Overall, I would not return to this restaurant. We had service charge taken off of the bill (I never do this). We also kept being told about the 2.5 hour time limit on our table but were not able to get service when we needed it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraMcG17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, Manager at Heliot Steak House, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello LauraMcG17. Thank you for your input to your night out at Heliot Steakhouse. We do strive to give all our guests 5 star service. As you can see from fellow reviewers they have come to love not only the food but the service at Heliot. It is sad to hear when anyone has an experience not up to our standards. Group size always plays a difficult role, especially being a Saturday night! Larger groups can be difficult to sit on time as we have to wait for many smaller groups to finish and leave what surely would be a great night. We can only apologize for the food and lack of taste. We have increased our amount of beer given to our cows to make them happier and gave the chef a bit more money for salt and pepper allowance. We do hope he spends and use this wisely. We here at the Heliot can only hope to allow us another chance to try our steakhouse again. As the cows are now happier, aka drunk, and the cheese with a touch more salt the level can only increase. The staff are also crying for a second chance as they are now on number 100 of their pushup punishment for this review. Please come in and see us again we will meet those expectations. Sincerely, The Hippodrome Casino.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
117 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great steak!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My boyfriend and I couldn't decide where to eat before going to the theatre and came across this steakhouse. Everywhere was really busy due to the Wolf of Wall Street premiere but it was quiet here (about 6pm) and was a hidden gem. I had a fillet and it was amazing, one of the best steaks I've had in the UK! Service was quick and professional, and prices weren't extortionate. I would definitely return in the future.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyA94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, Manager at Heliot Steak House, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello AmyA94. Thank you for your feedback on your night out with us. Always great to hear another story of our guests expectations that are exceeded from quality, value and service. The "Hidden Gem" is quickly becoming know to all so please book ahead so we can ensure to have you as our guest again! We now have Weekend Roast at a great value along with those same high standards of service and quality. See you again soon! Best, The Hippodrome Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, Good Service”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Took my father here in November for a 3 course set menu from 5pm.com and we enjoyed our meal.

Starters were nice but the steaks were cooked lovely. Didn't fancy our free cocktail but was able to swap for a glass of house wine instead.

Only minor let down was our next course was sitting next to us before we had finished out current course. Not a big deal but clearly they want you fed and down to the casino floor.

Would return, maybe for lunch next time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DonN85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, Manager at Heliot Steak House, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hello DonN85. Thank you for giving us your feedback on your night out with us. We are very pleased to hear that your overall experience was meeting your expectations. We have a new cocktail, wine and food list ready for a spring/summer launch! The chefs can become excited in sending the food out as they want you to taste the high quality food that is being made in the kitchen. We hope to see you again soon! If you happen to be in the area for lunch pop in and try our Weekend Roast on Saturday and Sunday afternoons. Best, The Hippodrome Casino.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heliot Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Heliot Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing