We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience”
Review of The Nightjar

The Nightjar
Ranked #639 of 28,444 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Shoreditch
Description: A multi-award winning vintage bar and music venue specialising in amazing cocktail serves. Voted into the World's Top 3 bars for 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 We also have a small tapas menu for those who come with an appetite.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As said in the title, very good experience, the atmosphere felt great, the music in the background amazing. Wide menu with some excellent and some not so excellent choices. Overall very very good

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jeanrebl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (618)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had the best cocktails we’ve ever drunk at Nightjar. We had 4 cocktails each, the Toronto, Tiajuana and Snake in the Grass were our favourites. I’ve included a couple of photos. Would definitely recommend and will definitely come back.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank ZakShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This place is incredibly organized. You can book a table in advance. They will save you a table and text you if you are running late. The downside is...they're a bit rigid about the seating. My colleague was not allowed to sit next to me, because they insisted on a certain seating arrangement (weird). Very efficient / friendly service. The band we planned to see -- didn't show, so we had 1 drink and left but love the place.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Max98116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2019

We went for a drink and live Music. The cocktails are superb and the music was great. Excellent service.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2019

I was looking for a cocktail bar to end our evening and a pre trip web search seemed to show consistent good reviews. The bar seems to have gone for a specific theme. You are met at the not very obvious entrance by a pleasant greeter with guest list and then you enter and go down stairs to be shown to your table. I imagine it is like an old speakeasy. Moody lighting not huge building and depending on time a jazz group in the corner. If the group is playing you can still just about talk and hear people with you or just enjoy the music and drink. Clientele seemed couples and small groups of friends. You will be near others but still have your own table, I think everyone seated. You get to see the various cocktails moving around which helps if you have no idea what you want. On that point the menu is extensive so have a look before you go. The staff work hard to explain your cocktails some have more theatre than others and some of them accompanying bits to add to the taste for example grasshoppers and marmite cigars yum!!. The glasses and serving bowls are also eye catching. Summary did my research found what I was looking for ambience great cocktails great service and a feeling of something special to end our night out . Price wise depends what you choose and if there live music is on. Recommend advance booking.

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
Thank mkdon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Nightjar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing