We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice bar !”
Review of The Nightjar

The Nightjar
Ranked #221 of 22,675 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Shoreditch
Description: A multi-award winning vintage bar and music venue specialising in amazing cocktail serves. Voted into the World's Top 3 bars for 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 We also have a small tapas menu for those who come with an appetite.
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very nice bar !”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

From the outside, the bar seems like the entrance to a basement and you wonder why there are so many people queuing to enter. But when you actually ente and go down the stairs to the basement / bar, you understand why it is so hype.

FIrst, the bar is really well decorated, and there is such an amazing good ol' time atmosphere that you can only adore it. On the weekends they even have some good ol' time bands that come and play live.
Second, the service is friendly and very competent: as the choice of cocktails is quite wide, the waiters usually suggest you cocktails based upon the description of the way you want it to taste, and they are pretty good at it!
Third, the cocktails are original, gorgeous and taste great. My favourite one is a very creamy one called "Naked Lady

The only drawback of this bar is the very high price: 9-12£ for a cocktail. Due to the price, I've stopped going there very oftenly as I would rather spend my hardly-earned money in cheaper places.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MikeDoviel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    98
    19
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectations”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Went to this bar with a group of 6 on a Saturday night having booked a month or two in advance. It was well worth the wait. From the friendly welcome at the unassuming entrance (sandwiched in between two cafes) to the amazing cocktails and a fab jazz band, all made for a brilliant speakeasy experience. You should definitely believe the hype about Nightjar!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank PPLondon0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great drinks, great service”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I booked a table for 2 for an early Sunday evening following the vastly positive feedback found on TripAdvisor.
This bar is the perfect place to take a date to. The atmosphere is very pleasant and warm. The service is what one would expect from a great cocktail place. I let the waitress guide me in my cocktail choices that would match my tastes. It was a success and I discovered quite a few subtle taste combinations.

The cocktails are made with great quality ingredients but are not overpriced (10-12£ is a fair price).

If you like good cocktails I can only recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Piotr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Unique cocktails at a speakeasy”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

From dry ice to sides of candyfloss and rum cake the drinks at Nightjar aren't your usual run of the mill cocktails. They all are very creative and some incredibly alcoholic such as the Zombie Barrel with 4 different types of rum plus other spirits. Drinks are priced around £10-14 and most were long drinks that will last you a while. There was a live jazz band whilst we were there, but we didn't pay much attention.

On the downside you might be waiting a while to get in, we turned up around 10pm on a Saturday night and had about a 50 minute wait. Then there was a £7 cover charge per person, and a ~12.5% service charge on top of the cost of the drinks.

We had a good time, but with the waiting, price and the fact that there's plenty of other speakeasy bars in London to visit, I won't rush back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattrileyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“one of the best cocktail bars in London”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

one of the best 'secret' bars in London. the atmosphere is fantastic. It is better to visit the bar on Friday or Saturday since there is live jazz music on these days. the cocktails are well-presented and the service is really nice. the only drawback is that it is difficult to make find a table on the weekend in the same month.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nightjar also viewed

 

Been to The Nightjar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing