We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cocktail bar in London!”
Review of The Nightjar

The Nightjar
Ranked #221 of 22,675 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Shoreditch
Description: A multi-award winning vintage bar and music venue specialising in amazing cocktail serves. Voted into the World's Top 3 bars for 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 We also have a small tapas menu for those who come with an appetite.
london
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best cocktail bar in London!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I finally managed to visit this fantastic cocktail bar because unfortunately I do not live and work near by.
Well, worth it's worth the waiting! The atmosphere is elegant and stuck in the past, the cocktails are among the best I've ever tried, we had: Marmelade n2 for me that I love "Negroni and Americano" style, London Mule and the top: Beyond the sea​​, a must try!.The waitresses are nice and helpful and bartenders are real professionals.
What I can say ... if you are a cocktails lover try this place!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eliwinelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    98
    19
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great jazz and very original cocktails”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Having been once before we booked in advance for a table and music for the evening. The place is small but intimate with a great vibe. It feels full and bustling without getting crowded and the jazz and blues music really add to the atmosphere. The cocktails in this place are something else, some may say gimmicky but we really enjoyed wondering what was coming next. The waitress service could not have been better. Staff were extremely attentive despite how busy it got and were also informative about the cocktails before and once we'd ordered them. The barrel-aged zombie deserves a special mention. It came in a wooden tankard, topped with a minature dark chocolate bar balanced on a 64% rum infused sponge cake. My boyfriend was especially grateful to have been warned by our waitress that it had been on fire, hence the metal straw and not to eat the sponge all at once, good advice. The cocktails are very strong as you'd expect with prohibition theme and the sheer number of ingredients listed. We only managed three each. Light-weights you may think, well try for yourself. Would definitely recommend for a memorable night out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Amazing atmosphere”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I have been there in September 2013 and I was really suprised. The music band was like from past century. Totally the best!
And the coctails? I really like the name of the coctails and also the way of serving.
Love this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent cocktail experience”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We went to this place quite early on a Sunday evening - we had booked a table beforehand. We were expecting quite a bit and were not dissapointed. The cocktails were absolutely beautiful and very creative, both in ingredients and presentation. The flavours were quite intense and "grown up", so don't come to this place expecting the drinks to taste like soda.
The vibe is quite laid back - great place for hanging out with friends.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JacobLinda_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southend on sea
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best chilled bars in London”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We went on a Sunday- brilliant jazz and blues pianist playing. The experience made all the better by the uniquely presented cocktails- an extensive list (see website) using high quality ingredients, some of which you won't have even heard of- a glossary near the back of menu to help!

The place is intimate, but who minds that after a drink with a chilled out, friendly crowd?! Also, as past reviewers have said, they are quite strict about pairs and groups staying at their tables- this isn't a place to go if you want to pull or mingle in a rowdy way with others at the venue. If you want to go along with a partner or a few friends for an evening of chatting, drinking and enjoying the music, then this is the one for you! Note- only four small tables in front of stage- request before booking if this is what you want, otherwise you could be sitting where you cannot see the performer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kate h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nightjar also viewed

 

Been to The Nightjar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing