We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cocktails ever! Really impressed with service... Despite other reviews!”
Review of The Nightjar

The Nightjar
Ranked #258 of 22,544 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Shoreditch
Description: A multi-award winning vintage bar and music venue specialising in amazing cocktail serves. Voted into the World's Top 3 bars for 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 We also have a small tapas menu for those who come with an appetite.
England
Level Contributor
135 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Best cocktails ever! Really impressed with service... Despite other reviews!”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

This place isn't obvious from the outside. Even as we walked down the stairs we weren't sure. But I'm pleased we went in. The service was perfect, the music and venue great and the cocktails, the most impressive I've had.

The food was expensive given the portion sizes but tasty nonetheless.

I'd definitely go back. A really nice place to wile away a couple of hours.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sodyathen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    98
    19
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A second good visit...”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Having visited this bar a couple of months ago and been totally 'wowed' I decided to revisit... It was still good, however not as good as the last visit. Previously the waiters (all male ones) had been very good, but this time the waitresses didn't seem as interested as their male counterparts. Our one was functional but didn't raise a smile or seem very interested in her job. Still a very good atmosphere and amazing cocktail list. The tapas dishes are also very good....

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ahedger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So Awesome”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

What a great vibe! Speakeasy style with great live swing music. This is a must see in London. Every drink is a work of art.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe_G_3227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible service at door”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Doorstaff took one look at us and refused entry. I would not mind but we had come all the way from Norfolk to go there as I am a subscriber to the diffords guide and it came highly recommended. This was a Thursday. Im sure that on a thursday evening it cant be that busy. Perhaps the company want to stop spamming me with emails if theyre not actually going to let me in. As a young business owner taking a few rare precious days off to come down to London I have to admit that I was highly disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edweil, Owner at The Nightjar, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Louise,

We're really sorry you had a negative experience at our door. We can assure you that our door policy is non discriminatory and based purely on our strict licensed capacity. This means that the are times when we simply cannot admit any more customers if we are fully booked.

For this reason we strongly recommend either booking in advance via our website or arriving early in the evening (6/7pm) when there is normally still some walk-in space available, advice which we emphasise in all our correspondence.

We sincerely hope you will return and discover our hospitality, live music and cocktails first hand.

With Best Wishes,

Nightjar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Expected much more”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I live right across this place and I've always wondered why there was such a queue to go inside. After booking with one month in advance I went in to find a bar that has only 4 tables facing the live music! I immediately felt disappointed because I booked only to see the live music. Cocktails are good and fancy but very expensive! I saw a lot of tables go in, order a drink and leave afterwards so I guess they must have been disappointed as well. I wouldn't recommend this place, Shoreditch has much more better bars, which are cheaper!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank andreavelezg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Nightjar also viewed

 

Been to The Nightjar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing