We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate and did the job”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of RestUp London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
RestUp London
Ranked #452 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Adequate and did the job”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was well located for the south bank- about a 20 min walk. The service was very good by the reception staff and they were very friendly. I think the hotel is best suited for international tourists looking for cheap London accommodation. We had a private room which was compact but clean and overall I'd say the price was ok- I'd possibly expect it a bit cheaper. We had a lot of noise from people walking past the room at night- not too much but just the noise of them walking was loud. I'd recommend it to someone wanting to crash in London for a night or two, but not a family.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    133
    136
    91
    82
See reviews for
40
77
86
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

On first impressions, the reception and lunch area looked modern, lively and colourful, what you would expect for a hostel trying to attract younger travellers and backpackers alike. However, the rest certainly did not live up to those first impressions. Once checked in we found our own way to our room, which was a little too small for the three bunk beds crammed against each wall, which stood on bare tiles.
The room itself was freezing and after several attempts at trying to turn the radiators on I gave up hope and added a few extra layers of clothing instead!
The beds were ok, comfortable enough and the linen was clean, though that was all there was in the way of comfort. The room was bare, cold and hostile.
Then came the horror of the shared bathroom. The shower I chose at first sent a pressurised jet of water straight into my face, due to the lack of a shower head. It was literally a pipe sticking out of the wall! So when I quick footed across to another shower I found it soon filling up around my feet as the plug was obviously blocked up with hair. Disgusting!
The worst however, was the bin which stood directly under the warm hand dryer, which someone had clearly been sick in at some point, as it smelt horrendous every time the hand dryer was used. There were also used sanitary items in the bin, which had no lid, because there were no sanitary bins provided in the unisex toilets. Yikes!
As if all that weren't bad enough, then came breakfast. Being vegan, I asked the gentleman at the reception whether I could have all the breakfast items except for the eggs and meat. He agreed, after a little confusion and went ahead and charged me the full £6. We then made our way into the breakfast room, where there was a lot of confusion as to what we were supposed to be doing. A lady kept trying to take our room number, even though I said several times, that we had only just paid and it wasn't recorded against our room. eventually we were seated and out came our breakfast. To my utter disappointment I received a plate of beans... yes, that was all.
I was absolutely gobsmacked that the gentleman at reception had thought it ok to charge my £6 for half a tin of beans.
Due to a family emergency we had to leave the hostel very shortly after and I did not get a chance to complain, which I deeply regret as there were quite clearly some very basic errors being made, which made our stay fairly miserable and uncomfortable.
Would NOT recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Slovenj Gradec, Slovenia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

The hostel is almost in the center and is great for sightseeing.
Had a room with bathroom and I was quite pleased. It was clean and comfortable. The bed was really comfy.
The TV room was really nice, and the breakfast was ok.
The only thing that I would change is more staff at the check in/out counter. That was a bit slow, but managable.

Room Tip: You must take the room with bathroom. It is not that much expencive, but you have the privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sassa21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We had a double room with a private bathroom. Very small room, bed was pushed against the wall with very little room for luggage etc. but we managed to make the most of it. Bathroom was clean, glad to have our own as the hostel was busy. A big group of teenagers must have been occupying several rooms and were very noisy, using the hall way to gather and muck around. Towels are not provided, but linen is. Breakfast is available for 4 pounds, cereal, toast, tea, coffee, juices, boiled eggs, cheese, ham. Overall the hostel was okay, the distance from the city, which was walkable if you had the time and energy, was somewhat of a drawback, and in retrospect we would have booked accommodation closer to the city centre.

Room Tip: It is probably worth paying the extra for accommodation closer to the city centre, as a return ticke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

The staff, in general, is not friendly and not helpful at all. The rooms are ok, not amazingly clean, but it's not terrible either, although they put too many beds in a very small room, what makes the beds too close to each other. The bed is not even basically comfortable, it seems like the mattresses are those used for camping. The area is a bit dodgy, specially at night, and it's not that close to the underground station. The bathrooms are the worse: dirty, structured in a way you have no privacy and the shower is either boiling hot or cold, I tried other showers but all of them were this way. The hotel doesn't feel safe at all and is always crowded - when I was there there was around 30 pre-teens making lots of noise, probably some school trip, I don't know. I wouldn't stay there again and I don't recommend this hostel for anyone. Bad impression!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

it`s the therd time i come here,i slept around 6 hostels before to found this one,the best one!
the staff is very competent and friendly, free wi-fi, good breackfast for just 4£
Bathroom and shower exellent, and you can wash your dress inside the hostel, because they have a loundry room as well...
The rooms are perfect, as well in 20people room, it is very big, so seems like you aren`t in 20 people...
I suggest this Hostel to everybody.... The best hostel in London!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Domenico850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

From the moment I walked through the doors it immediately struck me how warm and friendly the staff are, even when extremely busy during the check in rush at 2.00pm. The building is warm throughout and the beds comfortable. Laundry services at realistic prices and rare to find in hostels, as is the quality of the food served in their dining area. Having stayed in many hostels while working abroad, Restup puts most to shame. Excellent value for money in a very expensive town and highly recommend.




Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank scrutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#688 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#43 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
London Backpackers
#202 of 837 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#38 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,401 reviews
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#68 of 837 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RestUp London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RestUp London

Property: RestUp London
Address: 172 New Kent Road | Driscoll House, London SE1 4YT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #452 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — RestUp London 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REST UP hostel in London has been established within Driscoll House, a unique pre-WWI baroque style listed building, unlike any other in the surrounding suburb of Elephant & Castle. We have a century old history of being a hostel, a claim that we are very proud of, originally just for women and children however now open to all. With an original exterior, the interior has been brought up to date with modern common areas perfect for relaxing and zoning out of reality and into the cyber world with our FREE WIFI. Our TV room and terrace are both great places to enjoy some snacks and laze around in the brightly coloured chairs/ bean bags and soak up the sunlight (on the rare occasions when London’s weather decides to shine). English not your mother tongue? That’s not a problem! We have multi-lingual staff that are here to help you. A hostel unlike any other hostel; with the hustle and bustle of central London on our doorstep complimented by the great array of guests within (young and old from all around the world) as well as friendly staff and delicious meals available throughout the day it’s the perfect place to make new friends, relax and REST UP at Driscoll House Hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your RestUp London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RestUp London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing