We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so hostel”
Review of RestUp London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
RestUp London
Ranked #415 of 930 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just a disclaimer that I'm giving this 3 out of 5 stars on the hostel scale.. for backpackers/budget travelers and therefore one can't expect a whole lot.

This is a very large hostel in South London. Modern building. Wifi in common areas. Rooms are small. We had a private, 2 twin room with bathroom (therefore cannot attest to the shared bathroom concerns I've read in other reviews). Staff was nice, and a bug problem we had in our room was addressed quickly. Nice outdoor grass area to sit in. Surprisingly nice market attached to the gas station across the street.

A few negatives - one is the location. For me, location is the most important and this hostel was a little too south. Bus stop right out front and ten minute walk to the tube station but not super central in terms of seeing tourist sites. Furthermore, the neighborhood isn't much. North of the river, many areas further south have cute little neighborhoods with shops, restaurants, etc. but nothing really near the hostel. Another negative was how hot the rooms were. London had very warm temperatures, which is somewhat unusual for the summer, but the windows can only be opened a few inches and no fan/AC so sleep was almost impossible in the heat. The size of the hostel being able to accommodate large groups also made for lots of groups of high-schoolers milling about outside and in the halls. Not really the typical hostel/backpacker atmosphere.

A few pros and a few cons make this just a so-so hostel for me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuffaloGal017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 544 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

Would not stay again.. Staff were unpleasant and unhelpful. Rooms were tiny and cramped, stuffy and hot with no airflow as the windows only opened a fraction. The showers were terrible! By far the worst hostel and service I experienced on my 7 wks of travel around UK and Europe.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noodlebug2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I had been there alone in a private room for one night at this hostel.
They gave me a double bed room with private bathroom to stay.This is quite nice and large bed for me to sleep in.(Although is a far distant from the tube station....)There is elephant and castle shopping centre by walking for 15 mins (as i walk really slow and relax to get there).There are some city renting bicycle along the street.That area is quiet and I think is a housing area.It's better for you the check the bus to get here by the way(if you have large luggage with you, because it went sucks that i took a large luggage with me taking the tube and i got lost for so many times..........it's crazyyyyyy!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
i remember that there is a 114bus??? reaching between victoria to elephant and castle...you can check if you wish ti stay here,

i heard a alarm noise that night when i am sleeping...at around 12:00,but i am so tired and go to sleep again.....and i turn out save the next morning..hahaaaaa= =,,i actually dunno what's going on.....................................
!!!

PS:there are no hair dryer for the hostel!!!!!
bring your own if you really need that.

there are some hand dryer in the shared bathroom..(i used those to dry my hairrr...!!)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eggeggwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We went there in haste as we were not being able to secure lodging otherwise. They have secured payment which won over another place around the same price, which is cheap by london standards. It is well located in a quiet neighborhood and you can get to the good stuff in a 40 minute walk, to save the steep underground fare. Last time I went to london I was in Piccadilly backpackers which was by a mile a better location as you practically dived into westminster. It is also important to notice that we added a few years to the age average of the guests, which might or mightn't be less picky.

The Good:
- The building is impressive and beautiful
- The common areas (except bathrooms and toilets) are clean
- They have a cafeteria
- Very good coffe shop and kebab across the street
- Not far away from waterloo, traffalgar square, piccadilly and beyond
- Adequate bedding and matress with sha


The bad
- Faulty showers that didn't drain
- Lack of toilet paper
- General untidiness and odor in showers and toilets
- 2 pounds not retunable for a 24 hr locker
- 10 pound (refoundable) deposit per key
- 14 people dorm which is far from private

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is by far one of the better hostels I have stayed in anywhere in the world.
It is new, has weather was great, there was a fantastic outside space with grass to seat on, they even had a bbq going with burgers and sausages to buy ( thought that was great).
The rooms were decent, very clean, mine also had en suite shower and toilet which is an almost unheard of luxury in a hostel. Great chill out area including a room with a big TV, pool table and lots of comfortable sofas. The hostel was busy but staff were still very friendly and helpful.
Location was good too, close distance to Elephant and Castle tube station ( zone 1) also loads of buses to anywhere in London just outside the hostel.
I really enjoyed the stay and really recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtraveler1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Shared a quad room with sink and shower. Nice looking reception and dining area. Beds were comfortable, but the room was a little dusty and could have been cleaner. Staff didn't seem very helpful. Wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittyempire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The shower was so dirty none of us could use it, and I have travelled South East Asia so I don't have stupidly high standards!
Our window wouldn't shut which given the constant shouting from directly outside was not ideal.
You have to pay £5 to use a towel, each!
One of the bed sheets had what looked like a large blood stain on it.
The vending machine stole our money and staff just shrugged and laughed.
The room was so small that we could not all be off the bed at the same time. It was so claustrophobic, you couldn't fit any luggage in and there was no room to manoeuvre. There was no ventilation at all which meant that with that many people in the room it was unbearable. The tiny window did nothing.
The noise went on until 5am, which was fine, but it then started again at 7am.
I think we could have coped had it been dirt cheap, but we paid £81 for this when we could have got a reasonable hotel room for less if we had travelled a little, in future we would always do that. This seemed like an easy option but totally backfired.
Perhaps if you are a hardened traveller then this is OK but for us it is definitely somewhere we will never return!
2 showers later and I still feel dirty. I wish I had taken photos but I just couldn't get out quick enough!
Also it is not easy to get back here at night from lots of places, we had the option of 3 nightbuses or a £50 taxi.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Clink78
Clink78
#64 of 930 in London
2,159 reviews
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#50 of 930 in London
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Home London
#512 of 930 in London
284 reviews
London Bridge
Safestay London Hostel at Elephant & Castle
Marylebone
Phoenix Hostel
Phoenix Hostel
#145 of 930 in London
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RestUp London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RestUp London

Address: 172 New Kent Road | Driscoll House, London SE1 4YT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #415 of 930 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $13 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — RestUp London 2*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REST UP hostel in London has been established within Driscoll House, a unique pre-WWI baroque style listed building, unlike any other in the surrounding suburb of Elephant & Castle. We have a century old history of being a hostel, a claim that we are very proud of, originally just for women and children however now open to all. With an original exterior, the interior has been brought up to date with modern common areas perfect for relaxing and zoning out of reality and into the cyber world with our FREE WIFI. Our TV room and terrace are both great places to enjoy some snacks and laze around in the brightly coloured chairs/ bean bags and soak up the sunlight (on the rare occasions when London’s weather decides to shine). English not your mother tongue? That’s not a problem! We have multi-lingual staff that are here to help you. A hostel unlike any other hostel; with the hustle and bustle of central London on our doorstep complimented by the great array of guests within (young and old from all around the world) as well as friendly staff and delicious meals available throughout the day it’s the perfect place to make new friends, relax and REST UP at Driscoll House Hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your RestUp London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
RestUp London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing