We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel ❤️”
Review of South Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Place Hotel
Ranked #48 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel - really reminded me of Thomsons in New York - amazing room and bathroom, lovely lobby & bar and staff were lovely. Loved their brand and communications - the little 5k running route leaflet is such a good idea. Only downside is not the most attractive views out of window and there is construction across the road at moment. But that's the only negative - and I'm pretty fussy. Plus when I asked about the construction they found me another room without me asking for it and were very sweet about it. Highly
Recommend.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Betty80800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Betty80800,

Thank you writing a review.

I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the running map useful.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Warm regards,

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,069)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

677 - 683 of 1,069 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2014

Amidst the cranes and commotion, South Place Hotel hangs on the northern edge of the City. Access to most anything is very easy via the Moorgate and Liverpool tube stations. Or easily walk to St. Paul's, the Museum of London or find yourself invited to the street by walking into the lobbies of the many snazzy office tours that abound. (Why do they put huge fishtanks on the ground floor if they do not want you to take a look? Oh, well.) As for the hotel, it's terrif. It seems inclined toward those within the financial trade, but it's comfortable, well-tended, loaded with fancy electronics and a great place, we discovered, to watch the final match of the World Cup. (Reward yourself with a lobster roll in the bar. Outstanding.) But the key thing with this place are the people running it, who appear, to the person, to actually enjoy what they are doing and go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. Very impressed with this bunch, especially Paul, concierge-extraordinaire.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapertonGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear CapertonGC,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I have shared it with the entire team who were so pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. I was delighted that you were able to explore the local area as well as the restaurants and bars in the hotel. We have some great London landmarks nearby.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Warm regards,

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We spent 4 very comfortable nights in a South Place King Room: Stylish decor, well sized room with super king-bed and a beautiful black marble bathroom with the citrus scent of the James Heeley,St Clements toiletries.

Our room was very well appointed, lots of natural light from floor to ceiling windows, tea/coffee making facilities, touch panel lighting and good wi-fi. Great selection of magazines in room and interesting artwork throughout the building.

There is a good range of options for breakfast and Moorgate station is a 2 minute walk away, so the hotel is well located for exploring the city.

We enjoyed our stay at South Place very much.

Room Tip: King room is a good size, with natural light and has a deep bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oz_muse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear oz_muse,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave such a fantastic review.

I am so pleased you liked the hotel and had an enjoyable stay with us. Art and design is really important to us and we are really proud of our collaboration with the local artists who produced the artworks for the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Warm regards,

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Absolutely outstanding Hotel, stayed here for our anniversary in March 2014 and boy was it a treat. Great location and extremely friendly and helpful staff. Will definitely be back soon. Amazing for any occasion.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear james B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I was so pleased that you chose South Place Hotel for such a special occasion and that you found the stay so enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Warm regards,

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I have not given a five-star rating to a hotel in 10 years, but South Place Hotel deserve it. Lovely 6 night stay, super friendly and helpful staff, great location near Liverpool & Moorgate Tube stations. We arrived a bit early, "our" room was not ready so they offered us another that was, but were candid enough to say it wasn't as quiet. We decided to wait for the better room. In the meantime, we were served a lovely cool drink and escorted to the spa area where my wife and I took showers to refresh ourselves after a grueling overnight flight to Heathrow. Rooftop bar was wonderful, I regret we did not have a chance to eat at the Angler restaurant, which has received good reviews.
Room decor is contemporary but not overbearingly so. We had a room facing Wilson St. and it was very quiet at night.
The staff are to be congratulated on their excellent service, kudos to you and please keep it up! I plan to return to London next year and will not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room facing Wilson St. was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank madsuzukidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear madsuzukidad

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. I was thrilled to learn that we met and exceeded your very exacting standards.

Your comments are very kind and the entire team are so pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to South Place Hotel on your return to London next year.

Warm regards

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We originally only booked the Angler Restaurant as it was recommended by a friend.

After reading the comments we decided to stay over night. What a great decision. We had a matinee theatre booked and arranged to meet our friends in the hotels reception to drop off our bags.
On arrival it was obvious this hotel is extremely well run. Despite getting there really early, the room was ready and we left our bags in a well designed and well appointed room. Spotlessly clean.

On returning from the theatre we requested that our dinner reservation could be delayed for half an hour....... nothing was too much trouble.
Pre dinner drinks on a balmy evening on the terrace and followed one of the best meals we have had in a good time. Followed by coffee on the terrace.

A lovely night sleep followed helped by the electric black out blinds.

This is a great hotel, the staff are friendly efficient and appear to be pleased to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

There is building work going on on two sides of the hotel but they were not working at the weekend. Being in the "city" it should be quiet as the city closes down at the weekend.

Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Peter B,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am pleased to hear you had a pleasurable stay with us and found our very popular Angler restaurant to be enjoyable. Customer satisfaction is very important to us and the entire team were proud to read your comments.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Warm regards,

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I had the pleasure to stay at the hotel for five days and I enjoyed my experience very much! Everything at this hotel is top notch: new, very chic and modern, and extremely comfortable. In the hotel industry lingo, this is a high quality product! There are many hotel options in London, international chain or boutique/independent. I stayed in a few different ones, and I find South Place is truly a good balance between price and value and a high quality hotel. The room is exquisite in a modern, chic yet comfortable way (and very clean, roomy and bright; and you get free and reliable wi-fi!). The staffs are very helpful and friendly. The location is at the heart of financial district and right across the street from Mark & Spencer store where you can buy pre-made food, beverages, and fresh fruits and produce. That is a big convenience! I also want to mention that the the hotel is owned by a famous restaurant group in London. The restaurant is a Michelin starred on the roof top. I really regret not having the opportunity to try it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Aquavit28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Aquavit28,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

Your comments are very kind and I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future when you can try Angler.

Warm regards,

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#52 of 1,077 in London
2,061 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#67 of 1,077 in London
3,766 reviews
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#53 of 1,077 in London
3,533 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#33 of 1,077 in London
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Place Hotel

Address: 3 South Place, London EC2M 2AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in London
#22 Business Hotel in London
#46 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $247 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — South Place Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Place is an 80-bedroom, luxury hotel in the City of London, just minutes away from Moorgate and Liverpool Street stations. The first hotel from restaurateurs D&D London, South Place Hotel features Conran-designed interiors, 2 restaurants (one of which, the Angler, was recently awarded a Michellin star), 3 bars and 5 private dining and meeting rooms. The hotel is alive with the buzz of local London neighbourhoods, including Silicon Roundabout at Old Street; the creative communities of Spitalfields, Shoreditch and Hoxton, as well as the chic and sharp energy of the Square Mile. The staff are young and vibrant, passionate about ensuring guests have a warm welcome and a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your South Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Place Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing