We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Found my home away from home!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
South Place Hotel
Ranked #37 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Found my home away from home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

I am going to London quite regularly and as such I have seen quite a few hotels in the past years. This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in so far, no question. It is modern, contemporarily designed in a playful, unobtrusive way, squeaky clean, very friendly and as a bonus it has a Michelin-star restaurant on the top floor which in itself is worth to going there. I enjoyed the way the receptionist took her time explaining everything in the room to me and felt treated a bit like royalty. The room was large (remember, it's London) and equipped with everything one could possibly need, even sunglasses. The spa is as new and shiny as the rest of the place and the bar does not let the side down either. I think I have found my place in London now. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliverJavert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear OliverJavert,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback, I was delighted that you found your stay at South Place Hotel so enjoyable and were able to try Angler.

I hope we will welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Warm regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    138
    22
    10
    2
See reviews for
89
458
42
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We were celebrating an important anniversary and the staff were brilliant. We got upgraded to a ELDON room, a personalised card from the staff and some extra goodies in the room.The Duty Manager Alex made our stay! From the moment we checked in to the moment we left, he ensured we were exceptionally looked after.The room was amazing! Superb toiletries and lots of lovely little touches. Breakfast had a really good variety of items to choose from. Each time we came and left the hotel we were greeted and asked how our day was and if we needed anything. Thank you once again for an amzing stay! Looking forward to going again as soon as possible.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Peter A,

Thank you so much for choosing South Place Hotel to celebrate your anniversary and for taking the time to leave your feedback. I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay.

I hope to be able to welcome you to the hotel again soon.

Warm regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed here last weekend as we are going to see russell Howard at the O2.
We were very much welcomed into the hotel an we could not fault it. They room was spacious very clean. when we came back to our room from being at the show we had a lovely card through our door and our robes and slippers were put out ready for us when we got back. Would recommend to everyone to stay here an we will definately be going back :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Narissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Narissa H,

Thank you so much for your feedback, I was so pleased to read that you had such a great time when you stayed at South Place Hotel recently.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in one of the suites on the 6th floor...chic, contemporary and superb service. Bruce Robertson knows how to run not just a hotel but an experience! A very relaxing break in the City with a top quality restaurant, Angler....stay here and dine here.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dead Nifi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback and for your kind words. I was delighted that you chose to spend your birthday at South Place Hotel and had such a great time.

I hope to see you at the hotel again very soon.

Warm regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed here as part of a 9 person group celebrating a friends 40th Birthday. The rooftop bar was excellent, as was the chefs table with a view on the kitchens - great to watch your Michelin star food being prepared & fab quality food. I'd recommend the Sea bass on crab & potato mash.

The rooms were plush, with top quality fittings / controls for the room. We had a room with a bath & the bath foam was great - you didn't need to use much to get loads of bubbles!!

The cherry on the cake was the games room, where they had decks (with loads of vinyl records), a fussball table & a pool table. I loved the red wireless telephones to order room service - a great way to finish the evening off.

Breakfast was a little pricey, but what one should expect for a fantastic eggs benedict.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a bath & visit the games room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisC965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear ChrisC965,

Thank you so much for leaving your comments; we really appreciate you taking the time to do this. I was thrilled that you chose South Place Hotel for such a special occasion and that you were able to explore the entire hotel.

I hope we will see you at the hotel again soon, whether that will be for an overnight stay or dinner and drinks in the restaurants.

Warm regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed here for a birthday treat, and compared to a lot of other hotels and deals I looked at, I thought this was a good price for the luxury you get in return.
The rooms were super stylish, with touch sensitive light switches and heating control. Other reviewers have commented that this was annoying, but I found it easy to use.
Our room was spacious, clean, stylish and luxurious. The touches like the artwork, gave the hotel a boutique feel, even though the actual hotel was quite large, it didn't feel like a large hotel.
The bath was amazing, (so book a room with a bath!)
The beds very comfortable.
We had brunch,with an unlimited prosecco deal the next day, which was buzzy and busy and the food was great.
I love this hotel, it's also convenient for Liverpool street and The Barbican.
I also love the fact that they make an effort with organising cool events and nights.

Room Tip: Any room with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank BrightonBems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear nunx,

Thank you so much for leaving another lovely review, I was delighted that you and your family returned for another great stay and that we now have a new fan of South Place Hotel.

Our team were so pleased to read you kind words and we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.

Warm regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We spent a Saturday night here with 12 family members to celebrate my Dad's 60th birthday. It was superb. The hotel itself is new and trendy but still atmospheric and cosy. It was buzzy all weekend but without being in your face. The rooms are lovely and a reasonable price for central London 5* at less than £200. The bed was exceptionally comfy and the bath could have fit 4 of us!

We had the 'red room' for our birthday dinner which is a private dining room that I'd highly recommend with a huge round red table that all 12 of us sat comfortably around. The service was excellent and the staff tried so hard to make our event memorable. My fathers room was upgraded and all of the staff involved in the planning were superb.

We went for a £45 a head 3 course menu and all of the food was of a very high standard. The only gripe at all was that there was a limited selection of wines at the cheaper end and I thought £40 for the cheapest bottle of sparkling (prosecco) was a bit steep.
However apart from paying the bill we all had a really wonderful weekend and I will be back to try the other restaurants!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gooldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Gooldie,

Thank you so much for your review, I was delighted that you chose South Place Hotel for such a special occasion and that you had such a great time during the dinner and the hotel stay.

I hope we will see you in one of our restaurants or bars soon.

Warm regards,
Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#44 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#49 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#28 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#18 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Place Hotel

Property: South Place Hotel
Address: 3 South Place, London EC2M 2AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in London
#22 Business Hotel in London
#37 Luxury Hotel in London
#53 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — South Place Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Place is an 80-bedroom, luxury hotel in the City of London, just minutes away from Moorgate and Liverpool Street stations. The first hotel from restaurateurs D&D London, South Place Hotel features Conran-designed interiors, 2 restaurants (one of which, the Angler, was recently awarded a Michellin star), 3 bars and 5 private dining and meeting rooms. The hotel is alive with the buzz of local London neighbourhoods, including Silicon Roundabout at Old Street; the creative communities of Spitalfields, Shoreditch and Hoxton, as well as the chic and sharp energy of the Square Mile. The staff are young and vibrant, passionate about ensuring guests have a warm welcome and a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your South Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Place Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing