We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful honeymoon suite and additional room for my mother”
Review of South Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
South Place Hotel
Ranked #40 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I recently married, and had the pleasure of staying at South Place Hotel for our wedding night. Thank you mum for the amazing gift of a nights stay in suite 610 .

There was nothing that wasn't thought of for our stay with a beautiful bottle of champagne, strawberries and cherries atop a 10 seater dining table finished with a touching personalised card from the staff.

With a six+ seater couch in the lounge area a fully stocked bar, it took us a while to sit like kids in all the seats and enjoy the entire experience. The B&O sound system was also a treat.

There were more seats in the suite than I can remember, honestly not the first thing that would come to mind but with so much to take in and such a long day for a wedding and reception, I honestly felt like a princess.

Moving into the Bedroom there was everything you would expect including soft luxurious robes and slippers with a huge bed. All the blinds and lighting is operated with one push of a button,very easy.
The bathroom was extravagant, a large two person-side-by-side bath with clear sides, it was incredibly decadent with a huge rain-fall shower - an open wet shower (no screens). Plenty of towels and hot rail, double his/her sinks, huge mirrors, lighting and two bathrooms one at the end of the bathroom and the other between the dining and bedroom.
We literally did not want to fall asleep.

There were four televisions, (not that were watching any of them) one in the lounge, one between the dining and lounge, one in the bedroom and one touch television for watching in the bath tub.


The scented shower gels/shampoos/conditioners and bath foam are lovely bottles big enough for long hair and more and from start to finish all I can say is our wedding day was made perfect with a perfect wedding night.


My mother stayed in another standard room, had room service in the morning and enjoyed the delights of a lovely room and even enjoyed a bath in the morning before check out. She thoroughly enjoyed her room and slept peacefully.


I couldn't recommend the South Place Hotel enough for the most enjoyable luxurious night with a late lunch in the south place restaurant. Here we also received impeccable service (thank you Sam for keeping the bubbly flowing). We are both vegan and Chef Peter (who we thanked after) provided an amazing 3 courses to suit our needs. It was so nice not to have to question what we could and couldn't eat :)

The hotel location is amazing for central London (late night cab home was super quick), and was still buzzing when we got back for a late night drinkie in the bar. There are plenty more things I could add to this review but really the little touches are too many to note and the rest of our stay turns into a honeymoon!

5 stars

Room Tip: Suite 610 for a honeymoon night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klw007_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear klw007_13,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such wonderful feedback. I was so pleased that you chose South Place to celebrate such a special occasion and had such a great time. Suite 610 is a beautiful space and I'm glad you took full advantage of all the facilities.

Our staff were all so proud to read your kind comments.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Best regards,
Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,034)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

795 - 801 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

South place hotel was a wonderful place to stay. The staff were very friendly. The room was great and lovely bathroom.
Unfortunately there was no jug or tea and coffee in the room available for a late cuppa, only a toaster???. The restaurants and food were especially good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joyce339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear joyce339,

Thank you very much for leaving this feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to do this. I was very happy to read that you had such a great time.

We've had feedback regarding the tea and coffee making facilites from previous guests also, and as such, we are in the process of installing them into every room. This should be completed by the end of the month.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Best wishes,
Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

In a word South Place Hotel is cool!

It has everything you'd want and expect from a hotel of its stature and location; such as great service from staff that really do care as well as great food.

The venue itself is awesome in terms of the decor. Whether you're looking for a place to have an important business breakfast/lunch/dinner, a place to host a meeting to remember or just somewhere to unwind check out South Place. You won't regret it :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CambsAndy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear CambsAndy85,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback, it is really appreciated. I was delighted to read that you had such a wonderful time at the hotel.

We hope to see you again soon, whether that's for a stay at the hotel, or dinner in one of our restaurants.

Best regards,
Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My mother and I booked the South Place Hotel on Jetsetter for a great price. We were a bit wary of the East end location, but other travellers commented on its close proximity to transportation so we decided to give it a whirl. The location actually proved to be one of the best aspects of the hotel -- it IS centrally-located to the Tube, yet part of the very hip Shoreditch neighborhood drawing a crowd of young professionals and artsy folk, alike. Needless to say we made many a friend at the hotel bar(s).

Aside from the modern amenities (bluetooth sound system, full in-room bar, luxurious shower), the best aspect of the SPH is the staff. From the moment we arrived, they were attentive and accomodating, making sure we had everything we needed. The bartenders are wonderful (be sure to snag a drink on the rooftop terrace and at the garden bar) as is the concierge and front desk staff.

We started our Europe trip off in London and the SPH really helped us kick off our vacation right. Would recommend it to anyone headed to London in search of a trendy, centrally located spot.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elysse K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear Elysse K,

Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate you taking the time to write. The whole team was thrilled to read your kind comments. I'm so glad you enjoyed our bars - the terrace has been especially popular this summer and it's a great place to relax with a well deserved cocktail.

We hope your travels bring to South Place again soon.

Best regards,
Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Not stayed here for a while, so interested to see how the standards had kept. From the moment we walked in, it was smiles & sincerity.
SPH "Good to have you back again Sir"
Me "Good to be back. Just going straight out to the shops"
SPH " That is fine, your luggage will be in your room, upon your return"
Hours of shopping, & ready for a relax, on the sumptuous bed. Anything you read in the reviews, which is positive, is correct.
Shower, change, & a pre theatre drink in the Secret Garden. I love polite bar staff, who can engage in conversation, & also know about the drinks they are serving you.
Downstairs.
SPH "Good evening Sir"
An informal chit chat with the reception staff about our evenings events, suggestions given on tube etc, & off to Billy Elliot.
Return back after a great show, & after show drinks in the bar.
Knwledgeable bar staff again, & bar snacks at 11:30pm, cooked to perfection.
Had to set the alarm, as the black out blinds are exactly that.
Great English breakfast.
I cannot remember seeing a member of staff without a sincere smile for us. No prima Donna staff here.
I love everything about this place. Location, staff, rooms, food & everything.
This place knows it is good, but does not have any attitude.
Stay & be impressed.
Subtle tones of Bryan Ferry, Avalon, at breakfast in the morning, topped of this perfect break to London.
The standards by the way, are the same. High & proud.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank AFrogson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Dear nunx,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such wonderful feedback. I was thrilled to read that you had such a wonderful return visit, and our staff were all proud to read your kind comments.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Best regards,
Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I've stayed in a number of hotels in London City and South Place will now be my hotel of choice. It is a perfect blend...nice rooms, modern facilities, great location and a reasonable price (for London!).

The hotel is quite new...less than a year old...and it shows. A small lobby area, but it connects up to a great bar and restaurant area. The rooms are great...I'm in an Eldon Suite...not really a real suite, but a god sized room...bigger than your standard London hotel room, but not a suite by US or Aussie standards. Rooms are very well appointed. B&O TV, good lighting, nice bathroom with a proper sized bath and a great wide shower head...the best bathrooms and shower I have seen in London.

Other facilities are great...the gym is not huge, but top quality equipment, quiet, and good little extras like high quality headphones, nice towels etc. the Angler restaurant on the top floor is very high quality, with a nice outside bar area.

Special mention of the staff who, without exception, have provided first class service with a smile.

A great city hotel and perfect for longer business stays, although also good for families who want a city location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RWA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night for our anniversary. There was some confusion on the front desk wether we had made a dinner or room reservation but when this was worked out the front desk staff were very friendly and humorous. Very comfortable and spacious King room with good free movies so you can have a rest between what you are doing in London. Loved the big bath and the bubbles that came with it.
We were woken at 11.30 with 4 tea bags on a plate, in sleepiness I took them without thinking but we had no kettle, milk or cups in the room, which is usually a must but when we asked for these again in the morning they were broughs straight to us with a complimentary smoothie.
Overall a great stay, garden terrace is lovely and we will stay again.

Room Tip: Go for a king, perfect sized room for a comfortable stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slaytay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#46 of 1,076 in London
1,991 reviews
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#68 of 1,076 in London
176 reviews
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#57 of 1,076 in London
3,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Place Hotel

Address: 3 South Place, London EC2M 2AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in London
#22 Business Hotel in London
#40 Luxury Hotel in London
#53 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $235 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — South Place Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Place is an 80-bedroom, luxury hotel in the City of London, just minutes away from Moorgate and Liverpool Street stations. The first hotel from restaurateurs D&D London, South Place Hotel features Conran-designed interiors, 2 restaurants (one of which, the Angler, was recently awarded a Michellin star), 3 bars and 5 private dining and meeting rooms. The hotel is alive with the buzz of local London neighbourhoods, including Silicon Roundabout at Old Street; the creative communities of Spitalfields, Shoreditch and Hoxton, as well as the chic and sharp energy of the Square Mile. The staff are young and vibrant, passionate about ensuring guests have a warm welcome and a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your South Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Place Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing