We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So refreshing, best London stay in years.I can highly recommend it.”
Review of South Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
South Place Hotel
Ranked #40 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

For our 10th wedding anniversary we planned a weekend in London to have some quality time combined with some overdue shopping for essentials me missed since moving out of the UK.
We specifically wanted to avoid a hotel in the typical tourist areas, and South Place looked perfect in that its so easily accessible via Victoria and yet promised a more 'hip' weekend making use of the hotel and an opportunity to easily explore Spitalfields.
To cover the basics;
rooms - super trendy, weel equipped, super comfy bed and pillow menu's, ipod doc.
bathrooms - ours had a double shower - yes for 2 with 2 rain showers and gorgeous full size toiletries
breakfast - we went a la carte, loved it! But the highlights were

Friday night, is busy and varied in the hotel. a live acoustic set in the library (yes it really is that cool) , DJ's downstairs, a great garden bar ( a few music industry bods around). we did a little of each after an amazing wine tasting and BBQ on the terrace with Benoit. what amazing value and a fabulous experience. Promising ourselves next time we would try the Angler restaurant adjacent to the terrace. Absolutely the best Friday night we've had in years and we didn't have to leave the hotel.

On Saturday we shopped at an empty M&S next door, before heading to busy Marble arch and then wishing we'd stayed East and missed the crowds. Saturday eve we walked to La Chappelle and back for a quiet drink in the bar, a much quieter experience so glad we planned our weekend the way we did. although next time we will try the Grill downstairs which looks amazing value!

Overall however, the bit that makes South Place stand out for us is the quality of the team in house. We left desperate to return having had the kind of interactions with staff we've only ever previously experience in places like the Anantara's or Four Seasons. The service was impeccable but so personalised and so genuine it really sets this place apart.

We are passing through London again in October. I didn't hesitate for a second to book to go back.
My big bit of advice would be to check ahead to see what's on att he hotel and plan your stay to make the most of it. We wouldn't have missed the wine tasting for the world but only found out about on an email 48 hours before.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenborsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Karenlynch,

Our sincerest thanks for taking the time to leave a review following your recent visit to South Place. It is very satisfying to read that you appreciated the extra lengths we go to in terms of our cultural and arts programming. We strive to offer a window into east end culture and are delighted that you enjoyed yourself so much. The team are always thrilled when a guest takes the time to recognise their efforts, so thank you once again.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to SPH.

Warm regards,

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,034)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

828 - 834 of 1,034 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

The South Place has to be one the best hotels I've stayed in in Europe so far. The young staff is extremely friendly, energetic and helpful. The rooms big and make you feel good about being there. The look and feel pretty modern. Great toiletaries. The breakfast options were quite classy. The location of the hotel with its proximity to two underground stations is pretty fantastic. A really good place to base yourself when in London

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalyan-finelychopped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Kalyan,

Many thanks for taking the time to pass on your comments. We were thrilled to learn that you enjoyed the hotel and the hospitality of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to South Place in the very near future.

Best regards,

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I'd definitely come back to stay here. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and funky. Our room was able to completely black out during the day time which was great after my 24 hours of flying.

The negative reviews on here often refer to noise. We were fortunate to have not experienced anything like this. We were told this is a usual occurrence during the bank holidays.

I haven't stayed anywhere else in London so I cannot compare but if you've stayed in a 'W' brand hotel before they are some definite parallels.

Funky-Fresh. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael_mrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Michael,

We were delighted to learn how much you enjoyed your stay. It means a lot to the team when guests take the time to pass on their feedback.

We very much hope to welcome you back to South Place in the very near future.

Best regards and thanks,

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

What an excellent find. There are not many hotels in my experience that get it absolutely right in every regard. South Place Hotel does this.My only slight grumble, which was put right immediately, was the lack of tea making accoutrements. I was told by house keeping that I could order tea or coffee at any time, but one likes to have the option to do it oneself. It's a home from home item.

The sauna and steam room was fab and I had it to myself. The room was superbly stocked and very comfortable. B & O tv very nice indeed with a selection of films to watch for free. We could have stayed in the whole 20 hours we were there, but had to go out to a party. The atmosphere in the evening was really convivial and the staff excellent, especially the concierge. One in particular, Paul I think, took great delight in explaining the features of the hotel and hotel room in minute detail. Worthwhile, as the trendy switches took a bit of getting used to.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bexie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Bexie_11,

Please accept our sincerest thanks for taking the time to pass on your comments. We are always delighted to hear that a guest has enjoyed your stay. We are awaiting delivery of tea and coffee making facilities for each room but in the meantime we do have trays available on request. The hotel is still in its infancy and we are always looking to refine our product making your feedback especially welcome.

Best regards and thanks,

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I sttayed for one night at the South Place Hotel in the City of London as we were attending a wedding close by. We both have to say how the service at the hotel was excellent. The check-in and check-out staff were great, the room service personnel were also fantastic. I've stayed in many hotels around the world and I have to say this one was exceptional.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Ed A,

Many thanks or taking the time to pass on your comments. The team will be thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to South Place in the very near future.

Best regards,

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just got back from our one night visit to celebrate my boyfriends birthday and I can honestly say it was the nicest trip ever! We received a very warm welcome and the reception staff were lovely! Our room (309) was amazing. Just beautiful! Dinner in 3 South Place was delicious and again the staff were lovely. On learning it was my boyfriends birthday the lovely waitress arranged for a candle to be placed in his dessert and for a happy birthday message to be written on his plate - very sweet. We enjoyed a drink on the roof top bar which was a lovely experience. We had breakfast in our room the next day which was beautifully presented and tasted amazing! We've only been home a few hours but we are already planning our next visit in November to celebrate my birthday. A massive thank you from my partner and I for making his birthday very special.Kelly :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luton_kelly_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce R, General Manager at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Luton_healy_1987,

Many thanks for taking the time to pass on your comments. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you back at South Place in the very near future (perhaps for your birthday next time?).

Best regards and thanks,

Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed there for 3 nights. It was a very comfortable experience. The room was spacious and i very much appreciated good sound isolation from the street below. The window curtain that made the room pitch black should be in all hotels. Service was excellent even delivering fresh strawberries on my first day.

Small things that may be improved are: (1) Bang&Olufsen tv set was good looking but very slow when changing stations; (2) when showering water was leaking to the bathroom floor from a ledge on the bathtub. I had to use a towel to block the leak. Again those are insignificant items in the whole, excellent package.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HrundiBakshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#46 of 1,076 in London
1,991 reviews
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Batty Langley's
Batty Langley's
#68 of 1,076 in London
176 reviews
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#57 of 1,076 in London
3,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Place Hotel

Address: 3 South Place, London EC2M 2AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in London
#22 Business Hotel in London
#40 Luxury Hotel in London
#53 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $235 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — South Place Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Place is an 80-bedroom, luxury hotel in the City of London, just minutes away from Moorgate and Liverpool Street stations. The first hotel from restaurateurs D&D London, South Place Hotel features Conran-designed interiors, 2 restaurants (one of which, the Angler, was recently awarded a Michellin star), 3 bars and 5 private dining and meeting rooms. The hotel is alive with the buzz of local London neighbourhoods, including Silicon Roundabout at Old Street; the creative communities of Spitalfields, Shoreditch and Hoxton, as well as the chic and sharp energy of the Square Mile. The staff are young and vibrant, passionate about ensuring guests have a warm welcome and a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your South Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Place Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing