We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, seductive & a Secret”
Review of South Place Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
South Place Hotel
Ranked #49 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

What a wonderfully seductive place in the heart of London. Friendly staff, stylish decor, great food & drinks, make this place feel like the home away from home, you always crave on business trips.
I stayed here with an important business partner from the Far East. His favourite part of the hotel, was his large comfy bed, while mine was the "Secret Garden" Bar.
The moment you approach the hotel, you are greeted by the friendly door staff. Entering the hotel, you are met with smiles from the receptionist. None of the turned up nose, "we are too hip to smile" attitude.
The rooms are modern, with a mood lighting, & beds to sink into, without a trace. Large baths, luxurious toiletries, & a Bang & Olufsen on the wall. Yip.
I only stayed one night, but felt a few more nights would of been necessary, to soak in this tremendous place.
Just try it. Disappointment lives a long way away from this hotel.
Oh, & sssshhh, it's a Secret.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank AFrogson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Fantastic to read such positive feedback on your stay, you've mentioned all of the traits we work hard to embody. We hope that you'll return to stay with us again soon, on business or pleasure, so that you can sample our steam & sauna, a fine meal in Angler.

Thanks again for trusting us with your important business travel!

Best regards,
Sarah Buchanan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,085)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

928 - 934 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed there for business - knew of it through a hotel industry contact.

Service was superb. The gym was superb apparently (my colleague said) and the roof garden dreamy (my smoker colleague reported.) I only had 40 minutes before dinner but once they'd found the passes I shot over to the ex-Champneys complex where you can use the wonderful pool - and classy changing rooms. Managed 10 lengths and the 1 block walk back for dinner.

We had the offer menu £15 for 2 courses. I chose the fish pie (it had a more glamourous title though!) And it was just a delight to the senses - the seafood melted in the mouth. It wasn't big - I didn't want something filling. But couldn't not finish it as it was so mouthwatering - and then felt like I'd eaten Christmas dinner.

The room - if you like buttons to put your window shutters up and down you'll love it. And if you have a bath the very size will make you feel guilty for using that much water. Toiletries are refreshing. As I happen to have an Iphone I liked the use of charging/using the iphone speaker/charge/gadget set by the bed. The TVs are Bang & Olufsen I think - so if you like your screens you'll love it.

Beds - so comfy, shame it was a work day. We only had 25 minutes for breakfast but it was all perfect.

If you want to be sociable the bar has DJs etc til the early (or late I'd say) hours. Getting some reputation for cool at weekends. Not my bag. I'd rather try to earn the budget to afford the posh nosh and snuggle under blankets and burners on the deck on the roof. Must work harder!!

If you want central/city-side of London - can't beat it. Great value food and impeccable service. If you can manage it, have a night with a lie in or longer stay. Just to enjoy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubinxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for your fine feedback on our rooms, food and drink! It sounds as if you and your colleagues discovered many of our assorted social spaces, and even made time for a trip to City Point - fantastic to hear!

We hope to welcome you and your colleagues back very soon for a longer, more luxurious stay.

Best regards,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

An enormously loud bunch of revelers at the bar made it difficult to even hear the receptionist when we checked in. The room, however was quiet,and very elegantly styled. Bathroom was excellent, but oddly, the lavatory was positioned unusually high from the floor. Service was outstanding. We'll go there again.

Room Tip: Ask to face the courtyard to avoid building noise in the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ronaldpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you kindly for your feedback on your stay. We're glad you found the bedrooms and service at a high standard. Fret not, there aren't always revellers in our Reception, must have been a special occasion!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

First stay at the newly opened hotel was good, but I'm not convinced that it's a great option for business travel. Lighting in the room was the best for any hotel in the city that I've experienced. Desk chair was practically unusable though for doing any work. The ground level is a wrap around lobby, bar, and restaurant. However, given the continuous music and swarm of people, it's hard to use it for doing any business. I expect that the currently low rates will increase as the hotel gains a reputation, making it a questionable spot for future trips.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbwn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to feed back on your stay at South Place. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please don't hesitate to ask - whether its an alternative desk chair or a quiet spot to work. Our Residents Lounge (aka Le Chiffre) on Floor 1 is plush, with free wifi and food and drink service.

Best regards,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Although my room had no views whatsoever, the hotel itself is spotless and has a really modern feel. Service is wonderful and the staff really bends over backwards for you. Some of the technology in the room (the switches for the lights) are a little difficult to figure out. I would definitely stay here again for business.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KManNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on South Place Hotel. We hope that you do decide to return to us the next time you're staying in London, and if there is any further frustration with technology or other ways we can make your stay more comfortable, please don't hesitate to ask.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

It was our second stay at the hotel and I'm sure it will be our choice again next time.
We love it for so many reasons. It has got an excellent location,we walked only 3 minutes from Liverpool train station and it's a few minutes bus ride to the center. The staff is very nice and helpful, our favourite is Zsolt concierge who helped us to find the best skybar in the area.
I love the comfortable king size bed (it's amazingly comfortable )and the huge mirror next to it. :) With the help of the touch-pannels you can make total darkness in the room,what we like to have specially in the morning .
The bathroom is clean, beautiful and well-equipped. The lounge and bar is very stylish and it has a very friendly atmosphere. We also had a delicious breakfast in the restaurant.

Don't hesitate! You 'll love every details of it.

Adrienne @ Andrew

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dryeenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Delighted to read that this was your second stay with us, and that you're familiar with our fantastic transport links and the attractions in our neighbourhood (thanks to Zsolt!).

We hope you continue to return to South Place and that each time you notice new surprises to keep you coming back.

Best wishes,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

What an excellent Hotel: Been there for three nights and didn't regret it. Very comfortable and stylish rooms. Excellent tech equipment, decent internet speed, beautiful bathroom, comfy bed. The Gym is also very well equipped, Sauna beautiful and clean (tho I didn't like the gender segregation). The Bar is stylish, service fast and efficient. Friendly and competent staff all along. Great location with very short walking distance to Moorgate and Liverpool street stations.

Little minus for the expensive (yet wonderfully stocked) minibar and the touch-pannels which weren't always responsive enough (though I like the idea very much).

I have tried a few hotels of the same price range and I must say that I like the south place best, since it is the only one that really offers the perfect synergy of location, design, cleanliness and service.

In short, a great hotel offering you a warm and stylish haven in busy London. I would and will definitely go back next time I'm in London, be it business or pleasure. Keep up the good service!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxbrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B, Director of Sales at South Place Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

It's really nice to hear you had such a wonderful stay at South Place. Thank you for your positive feedback and we hope to enjoy your company again very soon.

Many thanks for giving us a try!

Best regards,

Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#53 of 1,081 in London
2,083 reviews
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#68 of 1,081 in London
3,814 reviews
City of London
Andaz London Liverpool Street
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#52 of 1,081 in London
3,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Place Hotel

Address: 3 South Place, London EC2M 2AF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in London
#22 Business Hotel in London
#47 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $246 - $477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — South Place Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Place is an 80-bedroom, luxury hotel in the City of London, just minutes away from Moorgate and Liverpool Street stations. The first hotel from restaurateurs D&D London, South Place Hotel features Conran-designed interiors, 2 restaurants (one of which, the Angler, was recently awarded a Michellin star), 3 bars and 5 private dining and meeting rooms. The hotel is alive with the buzz of local London neighbourhoods, including Silicon Roundabout at Old Street; the creative communities of Spitalfields, Shoreditch and Hoxton, as well as the chic and sharp energy of the Square Mile. The staff are young and vibrant, passionate about ensuring guests have a warm welcome and a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your South Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Place Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing