We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good low cost option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Whitechapel Hotel
Ranked #611 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Needed a hotel at short notice for a reasonable price. The hotel is small as are the rooms but they are very new and clean. Excellent shower and a slightly unusual decision to have the washbasin in the room next to the bed rather than in the bathroom.

Location is ok if you know your way around , its a 10 minute walk to the nearest underground station

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourstardust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 253 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel could be a little gem, but it's in the wrong area. Ten minutes walk from the Whitechapel tube station and only one stop to the Tower of London, it's easy enough to get around from this base - but it's whether you want to. The staff were nice enough but not overly concerned with the customer. A smile does wonders. People just seem to not be bothered anymore. Too bad, there goes my money that wants to be spent.
The room design is modern and is impeccably clean. Small rooms, of course being London. Nice duvet though, and again, very clean.
Sleep-wise, it was poor-mediocre. The minibar fridge noise is loud and the air condition control is best turned off. I was stuck listening to another customer's tv at 11:30, not too fun. Tiny beds too, and I'm only 5'5". Argh.
I must agree with another reviewer that if you have kids with you, this hotel isn't really conducive to having a good time. I would, however, recommend the hotel for a business traveller,those who are staying a night or two or those who know how to behave in a culturally diverse location.
For me, it's just not the safest area so I don't think I'll return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pixie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for a night whilst having a weekend break in London visiting tourist attractions. Good location for the tube stop to the rest of the city and just round the corner from Brick Lane and Shoreditch area for some good night spots. Rooms are a bit small but typical of this type of hotel, but if it's just somewhere you want to sleep then excellent.

If you're there on a Sunday then head up towards Brick Lane and Spittalfields Market for Brunch.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lcurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stay here 2 nights a week whilst working in the city. Only a 10 minute walk to the office on Great Tower Street. Modern rooms, nice bathrooms always clean and very helpful staff.

The rooms can be a bit small and the restaurant is a bit basic, but for the price and location it is great value.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The hotel is new (opened its doors in September 2012). Rooms are bright, clean with good amenities. Staff looks professional and eager to help. This hotel is very good for business travelers who wish to stay near by the City or canary Wharf. For City you can even walk while for canary Wharf , the DLR line station is 10 minutes walk. I would not recomend this hotel for families as the area which is located (Whitechapel) is awful and looks quite dangerous in the night. By far you will loose the real London touristic experience if you stay there. All in all a fair proposal to stay in London without paying a fortune for a 12-15 sq. m room ....

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank athens2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights when working at the nearby hospital.Room was clean and spacious.Hand basin is NOT in bathroom! Nicely furnished. Ate twice in hotel due to working late-food and service fine but please note there is no bar in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights in April. The twin room we occupied had everything we required although we thought it strange to have the sink in our sleeping area ? Modern and clean interior and quiet outside in the evening. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we were out most of the day but it was busy anytime we looked. Handy for anyone staying in the whitechapel and surrounding areas . Staff were helpful with any queries we had .

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank NEMACKAY1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Whitechapel
Holiday Inn London - Whitechapel
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#111 of 1,077 in London
3,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#167 of 1,077 in London
740 reviews
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Whitechapel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Whitechapel Hotel

Address: 49-53 New Road, London E1 1HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #611 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $75 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Whitechapel Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purpose built to a contemporary aesthetic, The Whitechapel stands on the original grounds of a textile manufacturing company once owned by five brothers. Inspired by our site’s industrial past, we have also referenced specific iconic elements, which are woven into the fabric of the hotel design. There are a total of 27 bedrooms available at The Whitechapel,including premier singles, doubles and twins plus eight superior Executive twin and two magnificent King rooms. The Whitechapel also offers an exclusive Penthouse Suite and a further four boutique-style One Bedroom Apartments designed for executives, creatives and the leisure visitor seeking the perfect in-town, life-style experience with a luxury designer touch. Striking yet smooth, elegant bedroom spaces in a contemporary bold statement – perfect for creatives and professionals alike, whatever your reason for travelling. Every room has been carefully designed and coordinated to offer an alternate take on the unique Whitechapel themes of retro London Telephone Box red, pristine linen white, deep ebony and natural oak wood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your The Whitechapel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whitechapel Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing