We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - though a few small problems...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westbridge Hotel
Ranked #97 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I booked The Westbridge pretty last minute. As far as I knew, it was a pretty new hotel, probably opened for the Olympics. However, with the regeneration of Stratford, I can assume it will get some use in the future.

The HOTEL is very modern and clean, though in small areas it seemed a little unfinished - one or two skirting boards in the corridors weren't glued properly, and the doorframe in our bathroom was exposed.

We had a standard ROOM and, though very nice to look at, was a little small. No real problems though, as you aren't in London to spend a lot of time in the rooms. We had all the things we really needed, such as a TV (with a decent array of channels), hairdryer, iron, a very good shower, etc.

The main problem I found was the common sense when it came to HOUSEKEEPING - towels were changed every day, which is great, but things like toiletries and refreshments (coffee, tea, milk) were not replenished! This was annoying on the second morning when we forgot to check and had to share a cup of coffee! I think the staff would give you things if you asked, but it's not too convenient to always ring reception for everything.

My biggest problem - something I anticipated when I booked - is the LOCATION. It's in Zone 3 and takes about 40 minutes and a few changes to get to a central location (like Covent Garden). It's a hassle if you want to pop back and freshen up, etc, as it will take you 1.5 hours round trip. Also, we ended up spending around £30 each on Oyster Card top-ups for two days. Worth keeping in mind.

However, one stop away from the hotel is the Westfield Shopping Centre, which had plenty of cafes and restaurants - this is worth checking out if you want an evening meal, but don't want to travel over an hour to get somewhere decent. There doesn't seem to be anywhere decent within walking distance of the hotel.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the hotel. I will probably stay somewhere closer to the centre next time I visit London, but - with a few teething problems sorted - The Westbridge would make a really good place to stay for the Stratford area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,439)
There are newer reviews for The Westbridge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,170 - 1,176 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed for one night for paralympics closing ceremony. On arrival at the hotel they had no record of our booking and told us they were full. I had rung them in the week to request a quiet room and the man I spoke to said he had made a note of the request. Although having said they were full they managed to give us a room although it was a double and not the twin we requested; we were just grateful to have a room as all hotels in the area were likely to be full and we wanted to get to the Olympic Park in good time. On the way out, two more couples were at reception with room reservation problems. On our return at midnight a couple were trying to check in to be told that the hotel was full. There was obviously a big problem with the reservation system and it appeared that people were being given rooms in the order that they arrived.

The room was modern and comfortable although rather small with a firm comfortable bed ; good use of mirrors made the room look larger. No seats or luggage rack and anybody with a lot of luggage would struggle for space. Enormous telly/PC. Our shower leaked into the bathroom as the seal didn't fit properly; quite poor for a new 4* hotel. The double glazing was poor and we could hear conversations in the street below. The curtains didn't really fit well at the side to block out light and felt very sticky and horrible to handle. I am not sure if it was strange material or some sort of fire retardant spray.

In light of the booking problems the staff were polite, helpful and as professional as possible for the difficult situation they were in.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the busy main road and not opposite the lift as you can hear 'doo...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mintey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

stayed here during a 3day paralympic visit. Rooms on small size but plenty big enough for short time spent in hotel. Modern facilities in room, flat screen TV, rainwater shower, tea and coffee facilities. Surprisingly quiet at nights given events close by. When olympics over still in good location for Westfield Shopping Centre. Coffee shop in hotel very well priced. All staff friendly throughout our stay . Exceptional value considering other cheaper brand hotels in the area and their higher prices.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Like others, stayed here when visiting the paralympics. Great, warm welcome and 'wow' factor rooms - all brand spanking new. Little on the small side but this is London where space is at a premium. So, before I start, I would highly recommend this hotel. There were some niggling issues that should have been addressed by now if they have been open a few months - but the main one was lack of Hotel/Room information(e.g. number to call for reception - I had to guess the number to call when the remote wouldn't work; need info about the cafe; how the (very good new) room technology works etc. (was woken at 4 am by air conditioning but trying to sort it out was no fun). Was interested to read Lanashire David's review - not sure when he visited but, like him, I made some allowances but think that, by now, they should have sorted things out. I did leave them a list on their feedback form including the lack of instructions on the way to use the card to open door etc. Could do with more milk than 2 portions (for 2 people); agree that there are far too many toileteries (La Source) - would prefer they had less and knocked it off price of room. Finally, I was concerned that, whilst it was nice to have a flat screen on the wall for tv/internet etc. It did seem to store my email address when I was using it so am wondering what else it stores... passwords? They should all be set up to not store info. OK Westbridge... you are allowed to have a few teething problems for the first month but I hope I am the last one to report them. Get these sorted and I would give you a 5 star rating because you have all the makings of a very good hotel in this spot.

Room Tip: Rooms and storage relatively limited; make sure you understand how the technology works for the room...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DollyPantry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Firstly this is a new hotel and, at the time of this review, has only been open for a couple of months. We chose this hotel as we were visiting the Olympic Park and the location was ideal - it is about a 10-15 minute walk. It is also about the same distance from Stratford tube station/Westfield shopping centre. Currently this hotel can only be booked laterooms.com.

This "hotel" does not have a bar nor does it have a restaurant - and there are no restaurants in the immediate vicinity - you would need to go into Stratford Town Centre or to the Westfield Shopping Centre.

We had a standard double room which was of a modern standard, but was "compact" but adequate for our needs (I have stayed in more "compact" rooms in my time). I was informed that we were the first guests to have that particular room and that I can believe as there were numerous dimensions written on the walls from the room having been fitted out. I would have expected such things to have been noticed when the room was checked over. Also there was only one double power socket in the room which was partly used by the kettle.

The hotel offers a self service continental breakfast which is probably one of the best breakfasts of its type that I have ever had but there is no cooked breakfast option.

The good points: Being new it is clean and modern (it still smell new!). The staff are all very pleasant and helpful and the place is full of modern technology (some good some not so good). The hotel has a system whereby you hold your room card over a panel next to the door and you need to put the card into a slot inside the room to have the lights on - fairly standard, but more modern, system and seems to work well. There is also a "high tech" TV in the room from which you can control the air conditioning, lights, set "do not disturb". However the only way that I could turn the over the bed light off was via the TV! The TV will also give you other information such as the weather and have Internet access (not tried) but does not have the facility to view your account.

This hotel does, at the moment, have some "teething" problems none of which in themselves would be a "deal breaker" but do need to get sorted. There are several room facilities that were stated to be part of the room that were not correct; there was no turn down service, the bathroom mirror was not anti mist, there was no heated towel rail in the bathroom. It also states that there is tea/coffee facilities - which is true - but they will only be replenished upon request and when you come in late at night that is the last thing that you want to have to do. It would have been prudent if someone had checked that you could actually fill the kettle from the bathroom tap - can be done but it is not easy.

In fact the hotel has a policy that anything can be replenished upon request but, unlike most hotels these days, towels are replaced every day without requesting them. Also there are two sets of toiletries in the room which if they are prepared to replenish on request is somewhat excessive.

I feel that this hotel has an identity problem in that it is trying to be an hotel but is more akin to a "lodge" type of establishment. I am also not sure what its future will be once the Olympic/Paralympic Games are over.

Would I stay again - yes without a moments hesitation but only if I was to be in that area - which is unlikely.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireDavid63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

we stayed in a really lovely modern hotel. clean and new modern rooms and bathrooms.
tea and coffee making in room and biscuits also provided! A safe, fridge and an iron also in room.
They have a coffee shop in the hotel downstairs where you can have breakfast and is open all day.Lovely friendly reception staff and the cleaners are also nice.
Its a 5 minute walk to stratford train station, 5 mins to stratford bus station and five mins walk to stratford international to get directly to st pancras. and its a 5 mins walk to westfield shopping centre. excellent last minute choice. I would stay here again and i am extremely fussy about where i stay and about cleanliness. go for it!!!

Room Tip: all rooms should be lovely the hotel is new and only been open for 1 month. there is not a pool beca...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nita p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le camere sul retro sono molto silenziose in quanto strada poco trafficata
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dario F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#108 of 1,072 in London
3,219 reviews
The Hide London
#55 of 1,072 in London
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westbridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westbridge Hotel

Address: 335-337 High Street, London E15 2TF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Best Value Hotel in London
#70 Business Hotel in London
#87 Luxury Hotel in London
#103 Romantic Hotel in London
#197 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $94 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westbridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westbridge Hotel exudes all the luxury and comfort you would expect from a modern 4 star hotel situated in a Grade II listed building dating back to 18th century. There are 80 rooms with free WIFI internet access, individually controlled air conditioning and private bathrooms with walk in showers, luxury amenities and a hairdryer, LED Smart TVs, phone, refrigerator, safe, iron, and tea & coffee making facilities. Restaurant is open from 7am to 10pm offering full English breakfast, lunch and a la carte dinner. Note, it is Halal Restaurant, and therefore neither pork nor alcoholic beverages are served. Menu is changed seasonally to make sure only fresh, locally grown produce is used. Afternoon Tea with its freshly baked scones and mouth-watering sandwiches is served daily between 12noon and 6pm. The Westbridge Hotel also has a state of the art gym, furnished with all the latest fitness equipment and open for guests 24/7. Complimentary for all guests, whether you're a hardened gym enthusiast or just looking for a chance to be active on a rainy London day, you'll find gym facilities to be more than meet your requirements. There are 2 changing rooms with showers available for your convenience. Fresh towels and Drinking water provided at the Gym. Westbridge Lounge is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, once inside, you won't want to leave behind the beautiful décor, comfortable seating and sheer cosiness brought by the fully restored original fireplace. Spacious yet intimate, it provides the perfect setting for a cup of tea or simply afternoon read. There is a wide selection of daily newspapers, magazines and books to keep guests occupied - from classics and bestsellers to children's books. It is also a place to catch up on important work with 2 computers and printer available free of charge to our guests. Hotel Courtyard offers the perfect balance of sun and shade during the summer months, and with an array of comfortable seating it really is a tranquil spot. The Westbridge Hotel is just 5 minutes' walk from Stratford Underground Station and 2 minutes' walk from Stratford High Street DLR, offering direct services to Canary Wharf and London's West End. Close walking proximity to Queen Elizabeth Olympic Park and Westfield Stratford City will keep you entertained whilst staying in this area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westbridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westbridge Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing