We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different and enjoyable”
Review of Wahaca Southbank

Wahaca Southbank
Ranked #594 of 23,009 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Southbank
Description: Built from 8 recycled shipping containers arranged on 2 overhanging levels on London's Southbank, serving Wahaca's award winning Mexican street food.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Different and enjoyable”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We ate here this evening. Arriving circa 1800 we got a table straight away. The young staff were welcoming, smiley and fun. The food was lovely! Different, spicy, well balanced and, well, just really tasty. We ate well and had two beers each for £40 - good value for this area. I enjoyed it very much and would recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JILLOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    406
    133
    47
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Caramba ! Excellent Mexican”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Came across this place by accident when walking along the South Bank and was drawn to its fantastic position and unusual setting in a number of adapted containers.Fantastic atmosphere,good service and tasty unusual food,what more could you want!
Good Tip is to order the sharing dishes!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyA104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun with friends; a good place for a summer dinner”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I knew the food was going to be good, having been to the Wahaca in Covent Garden a couple of times before, but this quirky restaurant setup makes it even more fun! Located in a stack of turquoise shipping containers on the South Bank, the restaurant is basic but the views (from the outside of the bar upstairs) across the river are pretty good. This is a great place for sharing food with friends in summer but gets a bit chilly (even inside) later on in the evening.

I went in a group of seven at 5.30pm on a Saturday, the queue was out of the door and we waited around 45 mins for a table. But as long as there's space in the bar, waiting a while is worth it. The staff are very friendly and happy to talk you through the menu and point out the vegetarian dishes (of which there are plenty) when they arrive on the table.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A great unexpected find”
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Saw the shipping containers from the walkway along the Thames,went to investigate and found a quirky and exciting menu advertising Mexican street food. The atmosphere was fun and friendly, was seated immediately (on a sat lunchtime) and out waitress was extremely helpful. The food, wow what a treat! We ordered about 6 tapas style dishes-the pork chipotle mmm! And the cactus was tasty too, as was the guacamole and sweet potato fries. I had 2 tequila cocktails both very tasty and I'm no tequila drinker! Dessert was churros& peanut butter ice cream with a chocolate brownie...mmmm! The bill including my husbands beer and a tip came to £50, which was a lot cheaper than expected for the location and the quality of food. Already planning my next trip so I get to go back and try some more dishes!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Plummers85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great location, quirky set up, friendly staff, good food”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was our second visit having discovered the quirky restaurant and bar last year. Theres a fast food caravan out front and then a series of containers that have been converted into the restaurant and bar. The sides open completely in good weather a great place to sit with a few beers and watch the world go by. I hadn't eaten at this location before but wasn't dissappointed. The roasted sweet potatoes were to die for as was the Guacomole. The other food choices were great too. If you are really hungry you probably want some sides even with the larger plates or select a few of the tapas options. The churros were a little dissappointing being a bit greasy. Given the location we felt the prices were good. On paying the bill instead of a sweet you get a packet of what looks like matches - but no grow your own chilli seeds wierd and wonderful !!! If you want somewhere a little different then give this a go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gingercat_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wahaca Southbank also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Wahaca Southbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing