We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky bar with a special door”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Callooh Callay Bar

Callooh Callay Bar
Ranked #67 of 1,277 Nightlife in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Quirky bar with a special door”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Quirky little bar with the best feature for me being the wardrobe door. Cocktails are not cheap in London and Callooh Callay is in line with other more up market areas of London. Never the less the place is very cool and trendy and the drinks were good. I went on a Saturday just as the doors opened at 6pm and an hour later the place was packed. Make sure you reserve a table if you are planning to go on the weekend and want to sit down.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidMesquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    42
    21
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The 5 stars is for the chips!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Was here tonight for a friend's birthday drink. Nice enough small cozy bar but what was exceptional, mind blowing, best I ever had was the beer battered chips - OMG
Try it! Will go back again just for the chips

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprise 25th in the JubJub bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I booked out the JubJub bar in Calooh Callay for my other half's surprise 25th and it was amazing!! The little bar, through the wardrobe and up some stairs, kept him confused until the very end and the staff's attentiveness and pre-planning - from personalised cocktail menu's to delicious bowl food and cheesecake (made on request by the fantastic chef) brought out with candles which they nipped out to buy for us, made it a very special night. My only regret is not booking the place for longer! It lives up to its numerous outstanding reviews and awards and the place has a great atmosphere, it could not have been a more perfect place for the occasion!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank EllieC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I chortled in my joy! (fab bar, scrumptious drinks)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

A magical place off a side-street in Shoreditch, which fittingly won the award for "World's Best Cocktail List 2012". We showed up without reservations on a Saturday night, but were nonetheless shown to a table in the back lounge area behind the mirrored wardrobe...be polite, dress nice, stay friendly and the equally friendly doorstaff will have no reason to take their "vorpal sword in hand". We didn't encounter any pretentiousness at all from the attentive staff, only our enthusiasm mirrored for their inventive and ecclectic drinks listed as cassette tape "Hit List" linernotes. We only made it through 4 of the 25 listed, but each was brilliant yet balanced - a feat given the strange combinations of ingredients such as cumin sugar, apricots and ginger beer (Ta Gin Mule = spectacular!). I really hate to break secrecy on this place, but it was truly the best bar experience I've had anywhere - wonderful, wonderous, wonderland!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jetlagjournals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Callooh Callay Bar also viewed

London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Callooh Callay Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing