We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Mine's a Stein"”

Bavarian Beerhouse Tower Hill
Ranked #5,362 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Price range: $13 - $32
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: City of London
Description: Bavarian Beerhouse "Tower Hill"Bavarian Beerhouse "Tower Hill" opened in May 2010. Right opposite from Fenchurch Street rail station, and just 200 feet (50metres) from Tower Hill tube station, the new venue is located in the heart of the City. Spread over two levels (street level and basement), the Bavarian Beerhouse Tower Hill has room for 300 guests. Exposed brick walls, wooden floors and modern architecture in combination with traditional and modern Bavarian design elements give the venue a unique atmosphere, both inside and outdoors. Have you noticed our pink deer head at the bar? He is called Bruno!The Bavarian Beerhouse Tower Hill was a success from day one, tripling the revenue from it's former tenant - a Pitcher & Piano - within the first month. It attracts a mixed crowd of office workers, tourists, and those who simply enjoy the authentic German and Bavarian atmosphere. Locals and residents enjoy the weekend opening hours - Bavarian Beerhouse Tower Hill is open 7 days a week. Following the success of the first Bavarian Beerhouse Old Street (founded in December 2005), the Tower Hill venue offers the Bavarian Beerhouse’s typical unique combination of excellent food, outstanding service, great German beer and fantastic rustic atmosphere.The Bavarian Beerhouse’s Owners are proud of the success: “Opening a second Bavarian Beerhouse in London proves that the British love Bavarian food, drinks and entertainment. We have already met so many local neighbours and all gave us a warm welcome.”"Tower Hill" Tube StationNext tube station "Tower Hill" (Circle and District Line)
Leave Trinity Square to your left and walk along Cooper's Row. You'll find Bavarian Beerhouse after 50 metres on the left (under the railway bridge)"Tower Hill" Train station / Railway Next train stations: Fenchurch Street / Tower Gateway (DLR)
Howden
Level Contributor
484 reviews
332 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“"Mine's a Stein"”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Chose to eat here after another local restaurant was unable to accommodate us for 90 minutes. Service friendly and helpful and decor is what you would expect of a Bavarian Beerhouse. Food choice interesting and we decided to try the house started which is a large platter of cold dishes designed for three but perfectly share-able by four. After this I went for the pork knuckle which was more than big enough and served with potato dumplings. However, what I would return here for is the dark Bavarian beer which can be served in huge steins and tastes great plus providing a fab photo opportunity.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jaspandsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BavarianBeerhouse, Public Relations Manager at Bavarian Beerhouse Tower Hill, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear jaspandsal,
Many thanks for providing us with your feedback. It means a lot!

We are very pleased to here that you enjoyed your stay at the Bavarian Beerhouse.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Thank you once again for providing us with your feedback.

Best regards,

your Bavarian Beerhouse team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    100
    59
    32
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very poor”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife is German. We know about German food and how good it is and should be. We did not enjoy our visit at all and will not be going back.

We had asked for a table in the basement. On arrival we were told they did not open the basement on a Saturday. I showed the email I had stating that a note would be made on my booking that we had requested a table in the basement. An apology was given, clearly somebody had made a mistake. Fair enough.

I asked if the chicken on the menu was free range. The waitress (very pleasant) did not know. I asked her to ask the chef. She said he/she did not know either.

My wife ordered the Beef Goulash. I ordered Wiener Shnitzel. Mine was just about okay but too dry. My wife's meal was awful. German beef goulash should be very tender. The cubes of meat in her goulash were very large and very tough. Worthy of being sent back to the kitchen really. When the waitress asked us if we enjoyed our meal I said no and mentioned the goulash. I cut open one of the cubes of meat to show her how dry it was. She apologised. I asked if the dish had been cooked here. She went to ask the chef; he/she said it was not cooked here but pre-prepared in Germany. Nothing they could do about it.

Whilst the beerhouse may not purport to be a fine dining experience, that does not mean that the quality of the food should, in my opinion, be of such a poor standard. And especially at the prices charged.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BavarianBeerhouse, Public Relations Manager at Bavarian Beerhouse Tower Hill, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear P M,
Many thanks for providing us with your feedback. It means a lot!

We are very sorry to learn of the extremely disappointing experience you have had whilst visiting our Bavarian Beerhouse "Tower Hill".

Please accept our apologies.

As our basement is closed until 5pm customer will always be seated in the street level, unless we have groups of 20 people or more that have privately reserved an area before the above stated time.

We always aim to provide a high standard on food, drinks as well as service. Hence we hope you are willing to give us another chance.

Once again we are sorry.

Best regards,

your Bavarian Beerhouse team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Over priced beer and over processed food”
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

The beer is expensive even by city of London standards and surprisingly limited choice.
Food is very cheap processed meat and arrives suspiciously fast - microwaved?
Not the friendliest of waitresses.
Disappointing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LibrarianBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BavarianBeerhouse, Public Relations Manager at Bavarian Beerhouse Tower Hill, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear LibrarianBlue,
Many thanks for providing us with your feedback. It means a lot!

We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy much about your stay at the Bavarian Beerhouse.

In order to ensure our authentic beer supply beer has to be imported from Germany as well as the increase of the beer tax let to a slight change of prices.

We do sell a certain product that is mainly targeted at groups of people that want to have a fun night out and as a matter of fact the Bavarian Beerhouse is not about ‘fine dining’, it's more about authentic German beer and entertainment. We have a wide selection of German beer such as Krombacher, Erdinger, Loewenbraeu, Kaltenberg, Fischers and Warsteiner.

Thank you once more for providing us with feedback.

Best regards,

your Bavarian Beerhouse team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
214 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Stein-tastic”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Work out a formula and stick to it - steins and sausages - great fun. Chirpy servers keep the atmosphere Octoberfest like throughout the year.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BavarianBeerhouse, Public Relations Manager at Bavarian Beerhouse Tower Hill, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear UKtraveller9569,
Many thanks for providing us with your feedback. It means a lot!

We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Bavarian Beerhouse.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon hopefully.


Best regards,

your Bavarian Beerhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
257 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Nice drinks but a bit chavvy”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Good Real Ale but had very rowdy groups in and they were allowed to try and drag up other diners to join their drunken dancing. i would steer clear.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BavarianBeerhouse, Public Relations Manager at Bavarian Beerhouse Tower Hill, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Dukeno1,
Many thanks for providing us with your feedback. It means a lot!

We are pleased to hear that you liked our drinks, although we do not have 'Real Ale'.

Please note that we sell a certain product that is mainly targeted at groups of people that want to have a fun night out especially during the weekend. If you look for a quiet meal, we suggest you visit between Sunday and Wednesday.

We hope you're willing to give us another chance! Thank you once more for providing us with feedback.

Best regards,

your Bavarian Beerhouse team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavarian Beerhouse Tower Hill also viewed

 

Been to Bavarian Beerhouse Tower Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing