We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you are in your 40s, it's your kinda place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of North By North West Pub

North By North West Pub
Ranked #12,650 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Price range: $11 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: A warm, candlelit welcome awaits you at the north by northwest pub, a hitchcock theme pub in the heart of the local community in n1.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you are in your 40s, it's your kinda place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

And I mean that in a good way. The music was 80s, but the good edgy, interesting and creative 80s, not the soul-sapping glitzy, syntho 80s. The craft beer is great if you like that kinda thing - doesn't really interest me, but nor is it a problem. The food was meaty, but a fishy veggie like me just about found enough to enjoy - a simple BBQ bean pot and a great shrimp burger. The waitress was excellent. All in all a good, friendly, local pub.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Eddie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, Owner at North By North West Pub, responded to this review, February 17, 2016
Hi,

Thank you for your review!!

We have just taken over the north Pole Bar..
The 'soon to be' North By North West Pub Is undergoing an Alfred Hitchcock theme.
We have a brand new, very popular food menu.
We are open now and will be announcing our grand opening party very soon!!

You may of been to our sister pub
The Alma Islington
Time Out Pub Of The Year


Exciting Times !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    5
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“As Local as it gets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Agree with review of 8 March 2013, this is a local pub, close to Canary Wharf and Britannia Hotel and a real London local pub, no modern features and decor, mix of locals and business types customers. There was some building work and fences up on our visit which obstructed the entrance somewhat but pleassant for a couple of drinks, probably not the whole evening !!

If you want modern pub chain, steer clear of the North Pole !!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GLSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, Owner at North By North West Pub, responded to this review, February 17, 2016
Hi,

Thank you for your review!!

We have just taken over the north Pole Bar..
The 'soon to be' North By North West Pub Is undergoing an Alfred Hitchcock theme.
We have a brand new, very popular food menu.
We are open now and will be announcing our grand opening party very soon!!

You may of been to our sister pub
The Alma Islington
Time Out Pub Of The Year


Exciting Times !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cheap food good selection of beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We took friends because we heard it was cheap- you get what you pay for, the veggi burger (falafal) was awful but the friends said the double cheeseburger and chicken burgers were good. There was a really great selection of beer and all the bottles of wine were under £20. The service was friendly although our friends thought a bit over friendly as the waitress kept patting everyone everytime she came over.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Abigail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, Owner at North By North West Pub, responded to this review, February 17, 2016
Hi,

Thank you for your review!!

We have just taken over the north Pole Bar..
The 'soon to be' North By North West Pub Is undergoing an Alfred Hitchcock theme.
We have a brand new, very popular food menu.
We are open now and will be announcing our grand opening party very soon!!

You may of been to our sister pub
The Alma Islington
Time Out Pub Of The Year


Exciting Times !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely barman. Great little pub for a quiet drink.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was a lovely little pub squirrelled away near the hotel with a legend of a barman and extremely cheap drinks! Definitely recommend!

Visited March 2013
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Gilly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, Owner at North By North West Pub, responded to this review, February 17, 2016
Hi,

Thank you for your review!!

We have just taken over the north Pole Bar..
The 'soon to be' North By North West Pub Is undergoing an Alfred Hitchcock theme.
We have a brand new, very popular food menu.
We are open now and will be announcing our grand opening party very soon!!

You may of been to our sister pub
The Alma Islington
Time Out Pub Of The Year


Exciting Times !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“North Pole”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Traditional old london east end pub, shabby but has a great hart, just as tone throw from canary wharf , hidden in backs streets, crisps scratchings, and a range of beers worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Imagesgwynedd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James T, Owner at North By North West Pub, responded to this review, February 17, 2016
Hi,

Thank you for your review!!

We have just taken over the north Pole Bar..
The 'soon to be' North By North West Pub Is undergoing an Alfred Hitchcock theme.
We have a brand new, very popular food menu.
We are open now and will be announcing our grand opening party very soon!!

You may of been to our sister pub
The Alma Islington
Time Out Pub Of The Year


Exciting Times !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North By North West Pub also viewed

 
Stratford City, London
 

Been to North By North West Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing