We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Different, cheap, tasty, atmospheric” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kitfo House - CLOSED

Kitfo House
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Different, cheap, tasty, atmospheric”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

The place has been renamed to Harar. Highly recommend one of the platters for two people (though in reality it could feed 3 or 4). A large tray of pancake holds your main dishes of spicy and tangy veg and meat. It's super tasty. There's also some nice Kenyan and Ethiopian beer to try for a reasonable price. The staff are friendly and helpful. Highly recommend for something different.

Helpful?
1 Thank 1journeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
149 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“All about taste”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Maybe my expectations was too high, but my experience at Kitfo house wasn't the best.
Nothing wrong with the service or the prices, but in my opinion the food lacked some more taste.
By example we ordered the onion stuffed chillies for starters, and they tasted more like bell peber than chillies. Some of the Lamb had some good taste, but other dishes didn't stand out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank freqtravAarhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
“KITFO”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ethiopian restaurant. Excellent food and service. Fantastic value for money. Might be slightly off track for visitors to London but well worth the effort. 5-10 minutes walk from tube.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveMcDarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole/Dorset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I've been coming here for a couple of years now, always try to visit when in London. A bit out-of the-way, but worth the trouble . Really great food, really great staff! And excellent value too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank theotherbrucegriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great cooking, shared eating, and a change from the norm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This place is a gem - We've walked past this place too many times over the last couple of years. Thank god we walked in after so long!

Fantastic food, served in a traditional Eritrean style. For those that don't know - you order the main, which is served on a bread. This bread is something special in itself. Think very thin, fresh English crumpet, which is brought to life with a squeeze of lemon. The main dishes, served on top of this bread are flavourful stews. In the case of Kitfo, very well made stews! This is all served in the centre of the table and everyone shares. Awesome for going out. A real event. We ordered a 'chefs selection' for £28. This was more than enough.. three people would have been satisfied.

To my mind, this place is better than Eritrean I have had up in North London (where a couple more well known places reside).

The reality - Kitfo it doesn't look all that from the outside. And perhaps not the best place to go on a first date. But If you are with good friends or family that you want to spend time with and enjoy a great meal at a good price, walk in, give it a go and you will not be sorry.

I will also tip my hat to the friendly owner and the guys at the bar, who supplied lively conversation... which was stimulated in no small part by a few glasses of the homemade honey wine... which is worth trying in and of itself.

Happy customer, will go again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tomwatts22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kitfo House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing