We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite decor and friendly staff in this intimate hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dorset Square Hotel
Ranked #337 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
227 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Exquisite decor and friendly staff in this intimate hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We were lucky to be staying in this hotel courtesy of some friends who hosted a 50th dinner party there. We got to a hotel about 11am with the intention of dropping off our bags but our room, on the 4th floor, was actually ready. We had a really friendly greeting by both the receptionist and the gentlemen, Octavio, who showed us around the hotel and then to our room - a rarity in London! He was also knowledgeable about the hotel and its history which was nice. The hotel has a 'cricket' theme running through it although it is not too overt which pertains to the cricket ground that used to be nearby.
The bedroom was beautifully and tastefully decorated and the bathroom was also lovely in grey marbled tiles. Our room looked over one of the busy London streets but was quiet being so high up and there are also black out blinds and shutters to ensure a good night's sleep. There is everything you could want in the hotel except we never found tea or coffee making facilities which we like.
The bar and restaurant in the basement are beautifully lit and the food was first class - grilled halloumi salad to start then pork belly and scallops. After 11.30pm, we all went upstairs to the drawing room and honesty bar and it was lovely to feel so well cared for, as if you were in a friend's house.
Located between Baker St and Marylebone tube stops, it is a great location and we hope to stay here again sometime.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxxylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    66
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
29
92
15
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Room was gorgeous, colorful and different from most hotels i have stayed in.
The team and services provided is also helpful, we felt very welcome from the moment we arrived, it was raining heavily and the black gentleman at the door raised us an umbrella and helped with our load. Very kind.
The restaurant was cozy and the food was amazing. We would definitely visit again.

Only thing is we felt the rooms were a little highly priced considering the size.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jus-ham001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Small (less than 40 rooms) boutique hotel on Dorset Square, between the Marylebone and Baker Street stations. I stayed there as I was attending a conference nearby. The hotel was renovated recently, which is a positive. Small room but very clean. Good bed. Poor view unfortunately. Strange 'vegetal' decoration in the stairs. Service was good. Smiling staff willing to help. OK breakfast. I will certainly give it another try.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyageur3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

The team at this hotel could not be more helpful. Their style was genuine, natural and very professional. We were greeted with the good news that we were upgraded as it was our euro honeymoon (yay!) and the room was lovely! So pristine, great decor, amazing shower and really modern. The breakfast in the morning was absolutely amazing and very generous. I could not fault this hotel and definitely will be back to stay. Thanks Dorset Square Hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chamonix79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We booked for 2 nights over New Year. As we have a daughter I was advised I had to book the Deluxe room to accommodate the extra bed. The room cost over £300 per night inc breakfast. We arrived at the hotel early (1330) as our room wasn't quite ready the staff asked if we would like a tea/coffee after a long journey we were ready for a coffee and a milk for my daughter. Along with the coffee tray we were given a bill for £12. I actually thought our booking included a welcome drink obviously not!!!!!! I was very disappointed with the sizeof our room, we could not walk around the bed it was so small! This was a Deluxe room not the standard room I wouldn't like to see the size of those! I brought this to the attention of the staff and they advised me they would try to change our room. They then advised me that because the hotel was so busy they could not change our room, but for £70 would let my daughter have a single room. This really annoyed me because then we would be paying around £390 for a night in an hotel, I had looked at Claridges and could have booked that for £400 in a much larger room and have all the trimmings that Claridges offers. The Dorset Sq does have a "drawing room" but only 1 family or 2 couples can fit into it!! You can also hear the sound of the tube below even on the 2nd floor!!. the room did not have a coffee machine or kettle which I would expect in any star of British hotel. The room did not have a bath only a shower. In the evening we ate at the restaurant, the food was lovely although the service was poor. After my earlier complaint about the room I thought it may have been nice to offer a complimentary drink but NO!. I had booked 2 nights at this hotel but felt £300 for a very small room without a bath was not good value and left after 1 night. Given the inconvenience of having to find another hotel on New Years Eve and having our plans for 2 relaxing days upset the hotel did absolutely nothing to help us, Jermaine the duty manager said you maybe more comfortable in one of our other properties in the West End next time you visit!!!! We were very disappointed and would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 365DebbieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Hotel with superb decor and attention to detail. Staff and service excellent throughout, its just unfortunate we only spent one night there. You pay for what you get, and we had a great view overlooking the Dorset Square Park. Short taxi or walk to many other attractions and food and drink stops.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marktaylor911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Stayed a couple of weeks ago in one of the studio rooms. Room was on the ground floor but had no noise issues from the street. Room was very well decorated, usual Firmdale great style. Paid 420 a night which was expensive and a little over priced. Had lunch in the restaurant which was very nice but very quiet and the staff decided to clean out the cutlery drawer right behind me in the middle of lunch which was annoying. Overall I would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#65 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Marylebone
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#407 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Travelodge London Central Marylebone
Marylebone
The Landmark London
The Landmark London
#50 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,691 reviews
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#52 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorset Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset Square Hotel

Property: Dorset Square Hotel
Address: 39-40 Dorset Square | Marylebone, London NW1 6QN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Business Hotel in London
#212 Romantic Hotel in London
#243 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorset Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorset Square Hotel is a beautiful Regency townhouse with 38 individually designed bedrooms many of which look onto the leafy private garden square which was originally the site of Thomas Lord's first cricket ground. An interesting collection of cricket memorabilia can be seen displayed throughout the hotel. There is a sumptuous ground floor guest drawing room with a fireplace and The Potting Shed bar & restaurant which is open all day long. The hotel's interior has been designed by owner and design director Kit Kemp in her fresh modern English style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorset Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorset Square Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing