We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be 5/5 at this price, so what's wrong?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dorset Square Hotel
Ranked #270 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Should be 5/5 at this price, so what's wrong?”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

When you're paying this much for a room, you'd expect, no demand, a 5/5 score. But I'm not going to give Dorset square that. It falls slightly short.
Like other reviewers here, we have stayed at all the other firmdale hotels and have become accustomed to their style. We love it. Quirky, thoughtful, inspirational and exciting springs to mind. When a new one opens it's so exciting to see what they've come up with this time. You won't be dissappointed, the design and the build quality ( the highest finish ) is just what we've come to expect. The service is wonderfully friendly with a lovely professional balance between formal and informal.
We had lunch in the potting shed basement and delighted in the menu and the quality of the cooking. Like the surroundings, its inventive and exciting. Loved the cups that illuminate in patterns showing words that form cricket related sentences. The bed is sumptuous, with crisp cold heavy sheets that wreak quality. Why can't I ever get my towels at home this soft?

I have three whinges. The room was small. Really small. (And we were upgraded!)
There's no bath.
You have to pay for wifi.

It's ok to need to cram rooms in to make economic sense but you can't charge the same rate in that case. At this price, you need to offer a bigger room, it's just too dear.

No bath, again at this price you expect a bath. You can drop the size of the room and drop the bath but you need to drop the price too, hence no 5 stars.

Then to charge for wifi - that's a real bug bear of mine. In 2012, where the Internet has become so ubiquitous, it seems really outrageous to charge for access, especially at this room rate. What's next? An electric meter? So Kit, I hope you read this and get your policy to the Internet up to date as your decor. It should be part of the fixture and fittings these days. Not cool.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank ESilvester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    69
    7
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
99
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

No we're not at Lords cricket ground but the nearby newly opened Dorset Square Hotel, with its cricket memorabilia surrounding us. As fans of the other hotels in this group we had popped in to have a look around and a bite to eat.

Small but perfectly formed, the Firmdale tradition of style and quirkiness has been retained. Don't let the thought of heading into a basement restaurant put you off either...a clever use of space opened up by a generous sky light enables one to look up at the passing Londoners above where helpful, knowledgeable and friendly staff were on hand.

The bar menu offers reasonably priced delicious food, a short walk from the foodie Mecca of Marylebone High Street. A great place for a relaxing afternoon tea which could be had in the small drawing room. Service was impeccable, with some lovely after dinner treats and surprises in store.

A small gem, in a great location for transport at nearby Baker Street Underground or Marylebone mainline stations.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cyclesforcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

This is the 4th time I've stayed in this hotel, which given its only been open a few weeks shows a certain level of loyalty. Unfortunately that loyalty is waning quickly.

The hotel is very nicely designed, and the location is great for those who prefer to be north of the city - easy for the West End, Regents Park, Marylebone etc (and good transport - roads and tube). Also the potting shed restaurant is nice enough for lunch and breakfast.

So now the problems:

Service - I stayed here on their first or second day of opening, and service was poor (forgotten requests, staff not used to systems, door handle came off in my hand, that kind of thing) - but I gave them credit that it would improve. The second time I was with my wife going to an event and we requested early check in so we could change. The room wasn't ready when we arrived but we were told it would be shortly. We had lunch. Still not ready. We had coffees. Still not ready. Finally it was ready 1.5 hrs later - and when we walked in there was a photography crew taking photos in the room, so we had 15 minutes to move to another room and get ready. When we returned from the event the front door was locked and the bell broken so we stood on the street knocking on the door for five minutes. I arrived last night for my 4th visit - the staff didn't show any interest in the fact I was returning and the welcome was verging on non-existent. Service is basically poor and not improving.

Rooms - the lower end rooms are very small but nicely designed (we also stayed in one of the higher end rooms and that was a reasonable size). But I'm writing from this from Room 107, and you don't want this room! I arrived late, checked the room and immediately asked to change it - but the hotel was full. It's ridiculously small (see photos), which I could live with except for two things: (1) the room is directly on a bus route (see photos) and I've been awake since 5.45 am listening to the buses, and a rubbish truck outside my window; (2) there is no hanging space - so my suit trousers are draped on the back of the chair and my jacket on the back of the door. I'm sorry but that's simply not acceptable...

I have a booking in September which I'm going to cancel - I would avoid this place until Firmdale fix it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank AlexSmith75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel only opened last month so i booked a night to try it out. It is a great small boutique hotel with many great quirky features. The service was wonderful and the breakfast divine. Only downside was the bedroom was rather small which didn't really matter to me. Location is also good being in walking distance of many decent restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chesterdoggerel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed here with my wife on the night of July 11th, about three weeks after the hotel had opened.

Good points:

1. Very clean (as you'd expect), and everything still smells new.
2. Fast check-in, although not early check-in as we'd requested - and as I thought we'd get mid-week.
3. Great little restaurant downstairs and the food is well priced for Central London - £12 for lunch main course, £5-8 for breakfast. Excellent service too.

Bad points:

1.For £300/night I really expect to have WiFi thrown in. Don't be so cheap, Firmdale.
2. I also expect a room slightly larger than the stamp-sized one we got. Got a cat? Leave it at home, because there won't be room to swing it.
3. When were leaving, the doorman was told to go and get us a Taxi. So outside we went, and he was nowhere to be seen. We waited five minutes, and he was still nowhere to be seen. So we walked to the Tube station instead, because there were no taxis to be had. Seriously, tell me where you're going, doorman - don't just run off and expect my physic abilities to help me out.
4. Thinking of bringing your own car? I wouldn't.

Honestly, next time I'm in London I'll probably stay somewhere else, but that's only because there is such a choice of hotels in this price range (once the price fixing/hiking affair that is London 2012 is over and done with).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank youaremessedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
758 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We have stayed at several of the Firmdale hotels and so were keen to try another. As this hotel has just opened I will try and give a fair and generous assessment.
What I liked:
Great shower, deep comfortable bed, Lefroy Brooks bathroom, nice gift of massage oil, decor of potting shed restaurant, lovely wallpaper in entrance area, large flat screen tv.
What I didn't like:
Difficult to arrive by car - hotel is on a corner with double red lines outside and no drop off space. Porter was off sick so parked car ourselves in local car park but managed to get lost in one way system due to tight car park entrance. Car park is £48 for 24 hours and hotel charges 10% on top if they park the car. On departure same problems with loading car - there are traffic wardens regularly in this area due to double red lines.
Expensive room rate for the location and size of room - dull decor in room, garden view room is actually room overlooking the dual lane road with a public garden on the other side of the road. No DVD player available or access to films
Location is not ideal - I thought that it was closer to Marylebone High Street but it is off Marylebone Road which is not so nice
Breakfast - we asked for a room rate including breakfast - this turned out to include English Breakfast which means a cooked breakfast and does not include anything else eg the normal continental breakfast. If you want anything else you have to pay extra. This is such a tightfisted policy and very short sighted. Who wants to argue over toast being an extra? See my recent review of the much better Coworth Park hotel - for lower overall rates they include the most amazing breakfast in an incredible hotel. In most hotels breakfast inclusive means exactly that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LAW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just opened. Very clean, well appointed and in a great location. Staff very helpful and enthused. Though I was on the square side with a view, the street noise was very tolerable and hardly noticed. Would defn stay again. Regent's park early in the morning is a great experience for jogging, walking etc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank georgieasnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#35 of 1,067 in London
495 reviews
Marylebone
Park Plaza Sherlock Holmes London
Marylebone
Blandford Hotel
Blandford Hotel
#433 of 1,067 in London
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Landmark London
The Landmark London
#50 of 1,067 in London
2,766 reviews
Marylebone
Travelodge London Central Marylebone
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#60 of 1,067 in London
3,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorset Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset Square Hotel

Property: Dorset Square Hotel
Address: 39-40 Dorset Square | Marylebone, London NW1 6QN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Business Hotel in London
#201 Luxury Hotel in London
#212 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorset Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dorset Square Hotel is a beautiful Regency townhouse with 38 individually designed bedrooms many of which look onto the leafy private garden square which was originally the site of Thomas Lord's first cricket ground. An interesting collection of cricket memorabilia can be seen displayed throughout the hotel. There is a sumptuous ground floor guest drawing room with a fireplace and The Potting Shed bar & restaurant which is open all day long. The hotel's interior has been designed by owner and design director Kit Kemp in her fresh modern English style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Dorset Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorset Square Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing