We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pillar Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$336
$269
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$228
$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$290
$247
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$376
$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$223
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$142
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$317
$255
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$233
$180
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$179
$157
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$288
$277
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (134)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveler rating
77
43
8
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
43
8
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskosher hotelgreat koshermiddlesex universitynorth circularbrent crossnorthern linewembley stadiumcontinental breakfastboutique hotellovely hotelboiled eggstea and coffee making facilitiespleasant staybed was very comfortablegood sizestay there againnice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 134 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night for our wedding anniversary. The hotel has been refurbished to a high standard and we had everything that was needed for our short stay. There was free parking and wifi included. Hendon Central tube station is a 5-10 minute walk, which was a nice walk in the afternoon and also at around 11pm when we were returning. We would definitely recommend and consider the hotel for future trips to London.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hailey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Pillar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Hailey T

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, your patronage, and for sharing your perspective with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is far out in NW London. So, firstly I do not recommend it if you are close. I had a mere 10 miles to travel in the morning down to the W4 area and it took me almost an hour by car and by tube it would have been even longer. That said, the hotel is a nice old building and the rooms are newly refurbished and has everything you want, a comfortable bed and sheets, duvets, complementary WIFI, complementary bottle of water, nice new bathroom and an efficient air conditioning which actually was needed even in September since it was 27 degrees outside. The service at checkin was personal and very friendly. The onlything I would criticize is the breakfast in terms of selection and also that it starts at 07.30 (although I got to sneak in 07.15). All in all, good, clean but far away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joachim73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Pillar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Joachim73

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, your patronage, and for sharing your perspective with us. All the more so as I note you are a "Top Contributor" for tripadvisor.

Naturally when we are advertising the hotel we do stress our location point and nearest tube station, just in order for guests to know and work out where they need to get to. The nearest tube station to the hotel can have you in the west end within 25 minutes.

Whilst our Breakfast has been noted for its wide range and fresh selection, we do change this seasonally and always try and put items that would please all guests

We do hope to welcome you back the next time you visit London

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We recently stayed two nights at the Pillar Hotel in Hendon UK which is on the outskirts of London. The staff there were extremely friendly and very accomodating. The rooms while being nicely appointed were on the small side and most did not have airconditioning.Both items were a small problem for us as this was a short stopover of a two week trip and it was a challenge fitting all our luggage in the room. We also happened to be there at an extremely hot time, which by all reports is very rare so what was an issue for us does not seem to usually pose a problem. In any case we were switched to an airconditioned room for our second night and the hotel took care of all the moving of our things. We were also allowed a very early check in, 10AM. I would recommedn this hotel with all the caveats kept in mind..

Room Tip: request a room with airconditioning if traveling in the summer
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights from 4-7July. Booked through Booking.com, i did request that it was our wedding anniversary and whether we could have an upgrade but this was not met :o(
Instead we were put in a room above what can only be called the archway tunnel entrance you drive through to get into the hotel, basically we had a room on the main road rather than in the main hotel. I was disappointed about this but we were told they were fully booked, but seeing as we arrived at 2pm, it would have been nice if they had at least tried to accommodate our request.
The room itself was nice, a little tired in places, could do with a lick of paint, but it did the job. Bathroom was lovely with a really good shower.
The complimentary tea, coffee, cakes and biscuits made up for being stuck on the main road rather than in the hotel itself (which is where the tea, coffee etc was!)
All that said, the location is fab if you want to visit London and don't mind walking. We picked a great week as it was scorching. The walk to the nearest tube (Hendon Central) was a 5-10 minute walk as were the vast array of Jewish bakeries selling fabulous pastries, bagels and bread.
We came back from London, late every night (after 10.30pm) and it felt a very safe area to walk back down to the hotel whilst admiring the fabulous houses in Hendon.

When going into London, get off at Hampstead, we had a fabulous afternoon here, pottering around the gorgeous little shops and eateries.

Would definitely go back to the Pillar Hotel, but would probably stand my ground a little for a better room!

Room Tip: If you get a room in the archway, this is on the main road, complain if your not happy!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jomabaala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at The Pillar on one of the hottest weekends of the year. The hotel is small and beautifully furnished, built all around the tranquil gardens of this former monastery. The rooms vary, but are well appointed and very clean with comfortable beds, quality linens and excellent bathroom products. For those who like fresh air - like me - the windows do open, but the air conditioning is so quiet and unobtrusive that we did leave it on all night. Plenty of hanging and drawer space.
The cool Lobby lounge has cold and hot drinks all day - complimentary - with cake and biscuits and fruit to help yourself to, and daily newspapers, comfortable sofas and peaceful surroundings. The breakfast is buffet style, much more than the Continental advertised, with yogurt, cereal, smoked salmon, cheese, fruit and more.
And the staff, who seem to double up as front desk, waiters, porters, are extremely helpful and friendly.
The other guests were an eclectic mix of Orthodox Jews, Japanese tourists, a family from Colombia and another from Cyprus - everyone smiling and happy and with a cheery good morning.
The only reason I give this lovely hotel a 4 rating instead of a 5 is that the television in our first room wasn't working; the air conditioning in our second room wasn't working and nobody had checked the wake up call on the television, so that we were awoken at 5 a.m. by the lights and sounds of the daily news on Sunday morning!
Otherwise we are already looking forward to our next stay at The Pillar.

Room Tip: Choose a suite if you can
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews