We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with a difference”
Review of The Pillar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pillar Hotel
Ranked #88 of 579 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed her for two nights and it was comfortable and very interesting. The building is a listed English Heritage Landmark property and is beautifully refurbished inside.We stayed in the Gatehouse and the room was very nicely appointed. I was disappointed that there were no drink making facilities in the room and guests were expected to go to the Lobby to make teas and coffees. This was fine apart from the fact that I enjoy being able to have a coffee or tea as I get up and a drink before bed. It was a liitle irritating to have to go out in the cold and cross the quadrangle to get a warm drink.
The hotel is near to Hendon Central Tube station and the Northern Line. It can take 30 minutes to get into Central London or a bit longer if there are delays. It is therefore important to plan your trip accordingly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vivhoworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Pillar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Vivhoworth

Thank you for taking time to review us and moreso for your kind comments.

It has been noted about your comments regarding tea & coffee, we now offer on request to bring these to the room.

We will continue to offer a choice of homemade cakes, biscuits, fresh fruit a selection of hold and cold beverages all for the hotels guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to London.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 131 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2012

After many agonizing years of staying in sub-standard kosher hotels, this was a jewel that we came across surfing the net. Their attractive website encouraged us to book and on arrival we were not let down. The building is architecturally well preserved, the interiors are modern and spotless. The quadrangle is meticously clean, with manicured lawns and shrubs. Breakfast was advertised as continental, yet again we were surprised at the variety and the lashings of smoked salmon, although if you want a good cup of coffee you need to ask the waiter and he will prepare it in the kitchen and serve you at your table. The rooms though quite small are comfortable with luxurious linens and towels. A nice touch were the bottles of water and bathroom toiletries under their brand. The reception staff were warm, helpful and always available. So we hope you will all experience the same. Oh I forgot, there isn't any air conditioning - this is needed on a hot summers day!

Room Tip: Ask for a room inside the quadrangle and not any of the lodges, as they suffer from the road noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Pillar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Roxy L

Thank you for your review.

We are all delighted at the hotel that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again at The Pillar Hotel in the near future.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here on our trip to London for our Honeymoon. The staff were extremely helpful and upgraded us to an executive room as soon as they knew this! The building is absolutely beautiful with a stunning courtyard at the centre, rooms were clean and well decorated. Didn't sleep too well in the morning as our room was directly adjacent to a primary school so the children were rather noisy at 8am and the loud bells also can wake you. Breakfast was nice but would have liked tea/coffee making facilities in our room, as had to go out to a communal area to make a drink. Otherwise, this was a perfect hotel to spend our time at. Used it as a base for visiting London City Centre and sightseeing. Hendon Central Underground Station is around 10 mins walk (taking around 25 minutes to get to all of the main tourist attractions), as the sun was shining we didn't mind the walk to the station, may have been different if the weather wasn't as great but nothing a short taxi ride couldn't sort out. The staff at the hotel were so pleasant, always offering to help and on hand to answer any questions. Would definately recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to Reception as the further away you are, the closer you will be to the primar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Pillar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear L H

Thank you for your review of The Pillar Hotel. And we send you our warmest congratulations on your recent marriage.

Reviews positive or negative are crucial part of the hotels continued success.

I agree with your comments on the School Bell, The school has been in existence for many years... and we have passed on the comments in hoping they may decrease the sound level.
Regarding the Tea & Coffee facilities on request we can arrange for them to be brought to the room, however it’s our intention to do something abit different from other hotels. As you may have seen we offer in our lounge daily, a choice of homemade cakes, biscuits, fresh fruit a selection of hold and cold beverages all for the hotels guest use.

Thank you again for all your feedback and the hotel would love to welcome you back possibly on your anniversary.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Very impressive with a quaint ambiance. When you drive through the two lodges, connected on their 2nd levels to create an enclosed entrance, your experience begins. Built, formerly, as a girls boarding school, surrounding a cloister, there is a sense of solitude. The rooms are well appointed with luxurious linens and our room had an over sized shower. The staff was gracious and extremely helpful. It's well organized and well managed. The breakfast had a wide range of foods from which to choose. I wouldn't stay anywhere else, while in London. The quality of the hotel, the convenience of this Hendon location to the "metro" and from the North Circular couldn't be better. Hospitality at its finest!

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent but if you want a view of the cloister, ask for an inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hadassah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Pillar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Hadassah L

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you.....

Your words are inestimable to the Hotel.

We dearly look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to London.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Fabulous small hotel with caring and friendly staff.
Very clean and the beds were new and comfortable.
Breakfast were not hot, but the selection was lovely.
The hotel has a lovely history, which the staff are happy to share with you.
We had a lovely suite upstairs. The building is in the shape of a square surrounding a gorgeous courtyard, which was well maintained.It is a very quiet hotel in a lovely area.
Found the walk to the nearest tube station quite walk (about 20 minutes),but the hotel is on a main bus line.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jocelyni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Pillar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Jocelyni

Many thanks for your review of The Pillar Hotel.

Your opinion adds to the developing success of the Hotel.

We hope to meet your acquaintance on your next visit to London

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is my favorite hotel to stay at when I am in London. 5 minutes to the Underground in a quiet area. Very Clean, Very comfortable, FREE internet, personable staff! A must when in London.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shimon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Pillar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Dear Shimon L
Thank you for your review in making us your "Favourite Hotel in London” One of the highest possible compliments for us to receive! The Pillar Hotel as you know is a English Heritage Grade II-listed building dates back to 1893 and is wrapped around a beautiful, grassy Quadrangle, of which we believe makes us unique for a hotel in London.
We hope to welcome you back to The Pillar Hotel in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FKPARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Hendon Hall Hotel
#481 of 1,081 in London
659 reviews
The Hide London
#61 of 1,081 in London
976 reviews
Croft Court Hotel
#89 of 579 in London
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rose and Crown
#43 of 579 in London
142 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
The Malt House
The Malt House
#31 of 579 in London
171 reviews
Wimbledon
The Dog & Fox
The Dog & Fox
#82 of 579 in London
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pillar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pillar Hotel

Address: 19 Brent Street, London NW4 2EU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 579 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $171 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pillar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pillar Boutique Hotel North London is a boutique hotel, offers versatile conference facilities and is an ideal venue for events. The building dates back to 1893 and stands in 2 acres in the centre of North London, boasting a beautiful green garden around the whole hotel. The Pillar Hotel has successfully kept the history and old-fashioned Victorian charm but with an added contemporary design and style that the modern traveller expects. All rooms have a 32" LCD television with satellite channels, hypoallergenic pillows & duvets and the Pillar Hotel signature bed. All this combined we deliver a uniquely luxurious Hendon/Golders Green/Wembley hotel. Though we are one of many hotels in London, our beautiful surroundings make us unlike any other. Attractions just minutes away include: Hampstead Heath, Middlesex University, Kenwood House, RAF Museum, Alexandra Palace and Allianz Park the famous home of Saracens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pillar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pillar Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing