We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what you expect and no more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
Ranked #659 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed April 4, 2014

if you get a good price, this place is fine for a one nighter. Wouldn't advise and extended stay though, small and the location is a bit out of it for those who don't work in the City &/or know London. Entrance area and location rather average. Lift has broken buttons! However, my room was very comfortable and unlike comments from some reviewers, clean. Shower area small, but works. I had a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBM007_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

815 - 821 of 1,609 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

I booked 4 nights at the easyhotel as I had a couple of interviews in London and needed a place to stay. Being a solo traveller on a budget I wanted somewhere affordable. Well...what can I say?! This hotel is disgusting. The rooms were filthy with unswept floors that needed a good mop, they were literally sticking to my shoes. The shower curtain was mouldy with a pink rim of mildew around the bottom and the whole cabin bathroom smelled strongly of mould. The towels were foisty. The plastic walls had handprints all over them and smear marks. There was no ventilation whatsoever in the rooms and once you had a shower the room stayed damp, the windows steamed up and there was water running off the walls. On one of the nights I got back to my hotel room and someone in the next room was smoking cannabis in their room...my room smelled of it, so did my interview outfit and all of my clothes. There are gaps in between the plastic panels on the walls and I'm sure the smell was drifting through. I asked to move rooms but they said they had none and that they couldn't do much about the smell as they weren't allowed to go into guests rooms. It honestly was such a strong smell I'm sure I could have got high! Then to top it off the woman from reception came and asked if I had a man staying with me as someone had been to reception requesting a key card saying they were staying in my room arghhh! It's disgusting honestly, and I'm not even fussy, I would happily live in a plastic room for 4 days but I expect cleanliness and a lack of potential rapists no matter how budget the hotel is. Totally don't do it. I'm currently demanding a refund and I got myself a lovely hotel for £25 extra a night including breakfast, for the price of a night out you could have a much better hotel, stay in for an extra night before you go to London so you can afford a better place...you'll regret it if you don't xxx

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ilovesummer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My wife and I went to Europe for our honeymoon and London was our first stop. We decided to stay at EasyHotel because of the price. We knew going into this trip that we were not going to be spending much time in our room anyway. We just need a place to sleep, use the shower, and use the bathroom. EasyHotel covered that!

Upon check in, the person behind the counter was very nice. We got there earlier than expected, but our room was available, so he let us check in a few hours early. This was great because it gave a chance to hit the city and begin exploring.

The room was very small, but we knew that going into the trip. There is enough room for a bed and our suitcases. That is fine. All we needed was the bed.

My main concern was noise level. Since there were so many rooms in the hotels in a tight space I was expecting tons of noise. This was not the case and I am very thankful for that.

This place is not a five-star hotel, but if you just need a place to rest your head and clean up, it is perfect!

We would stay there again if money was tight.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

This is the 2nd EasyHotel I've stayed in. I upgraded to a window room this time although it was overlooked by offices about 10 feet away. It's a really clean and really cheap hotel. There's not much service to speak of but the staff on the desk are pleasant. Handy location. Major downside was a constant vibration sound but to be fair it didn't stop me sleeping. You want a cheap stay in London more private than a hostel this could be the choice for you.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clanzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

First things first, I was not expecting the Hampton Inn or Embassy Suites when my girlfriend and I booked a room here. We had stayed in another London Easy Hotel a couple of years ago near Earl's Court, and we found it to be just what you expect for the price: spartan but decent.

So, I know not to expect much, but this place was just terrible. The first night, our room reeked abominably of mold, which was clearly on the shower curtain and around the edges of the floor in the bathroom, which was peeling away from the walls and the concrete underneath the floor. My girlfriend asked to be changed to a new room. Unfortunately, they were full that night, and the young lady working the counter admitted that the whole place was crappy.

Thankfully, though, the manager the next morning was very understanding and said she would have the room cleaned more thoroughly. Just to be safe, however, she put us in a new room. In that one, the shower curtain was still an odd mixture of off-white and rust, but at least there was no stench of mold. Sadly, that room was like an oven for the rest of our stay. To explain, there are AC and heating controls in the room, yet they appear to be just for show. We tried every setting--high, medium, low, heating off, AC on, everything off--and still we were blasted with the same hot stream of air. I gave in and asked the young man at the counter, a rather sour and aloof fellow, if there was anything he could do. Finally, he told me that the heating was tied in to whole floors and controlled by the front desk. Why, then, do they have controls in the room? Anyway, he said he would shut off the heat for just a while. That never happened. For the rest of our stay, when we weren't sleeping or in the bathroom, we simply opened the door to let in some cool air from the hallway.

I am willing to admit that when it is not winter, this place might be marginally passable for the price. After all, it really is a steal for its location given how much most London hotels cost. Furthermore, the beds, which along with a toilet in a shoebox, is really what you pay for, are very comfortable in fact--and clean. And I will admit that the manager tried her best for us. In the end, however, I am never staying here again if there is any chance that they might be running the heat.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I was slightly wary of staying here after reading other reviews, but couldn't find anything else reasonably priced in the area, so promised myself that in the interests of justice I would post my own review afterwards...

Staff perfectly friendly, room quite clean (and I used to work in housekeeping so I know what I am talking about!), very convenient location.

I understand what they are trying to do with keeping things minimal and easy to clean, etc., however -- the only space in the room not occupied by the bed is a little bit of floor in between the door to the room and the door to the bathroom -- this is the only place to put anything -- your suitcase, your glasses, your watch -- anything! Surely some wipeable, easy-to-clean shelf could be affixed to a wall somewhere so I can put my coffee cup somewhere other than the floor?!

My fiance and I were only staying there for one night, but if we were there for a week, I can see the space issue becoming a serious problem. C'mon easyHotel -- there's got to be a clever solution to this problem -- otherwise it's a fairly genius idea for people who just need a clean safe conveniently located place to stay...

Room Tip: IMO, it's worth paying extra for a window as I could easily see it getting a little claustrophob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sludge77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I went for 1 night with low expectations.
It's not that bad. Originally checked into disabled room, but door wouldn't lock, so given a window room which was much smaller. Windows don't open.

Easyhotel barbican. Is it most like;
A) staying inside a 'big yellow storage' facility
B) being contained under her majesty's pleasure
C) being in the bottom of a ship

Shower was luke warm, tiny, no hooks or shelfs. But clean.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamieandthemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Clerkenwell
Citadines Barbican London
Citadines Barbican London
#500 of 1,081 in London
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venture Hostels
#712 of 1,081 in London
144 reviews
Clerkenwell
Malmaison London
Malmaison London
#226 of 1,081 in London
1,624 reviews
Pimlico
easyHotel London Victoria
easyHotel London Victoria
#775 of 1,081 in London
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to easyHotel Old St / Barbican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about easyHotel Old St / Barbican

Address: 80 Old Street, London EC1V 9AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#85 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range: $50 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple comfort, great value rooms offered by Sir Stelios. Our newest addition to the easyHotel brand of hotels in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your easyHotel Old St / Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
EasyHotel Old St / Barbican London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing