We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of easyHotel Old St / Barbican

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
Ranked #646 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have stayed here a few times. If you want more room select an accessible room these have proper bathrooms and loads more space. I have always found this hotel clean and staff very friendly. Their is a lift in the hotel and a shop opposite. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from St Paul's and the city but business users be warned there are no irons so bring non iron shirts and steam them in the shower for 5 minutes! Overall a really good value stay but please be realistic this is a basic hotel not for those looking for luxury.

Room Tip: Get an accessible room they have a lot more space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnoS_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    303
    274
    153
    221
See reviews for
160
409
99
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Think twice about this hotel. Althought I appreciate its cheap price I do not expect the Hilton but I do expect a few basic things like a clean room and one that isn't 90 degrees.

When I arrived the room was on the ground floor without a window which I expected. It was very small and very hot. After complaining that the room was too hot we asked to move and was told we would have to pay for an upgrade even though their were other rooms that were free. Eventually we had to leave to meet our friends and left it with the management. On our return they asked if the room was ok we said it was a little better. After trying to sleep for two hours I awake in a panic it was so hot I had to leave the hotel for a walk at 3am. I was told by the management that we may be able to move room which we did to the next room which was dirty and had been occupied but I didn't care I had to leave. I awoke in the morning and sat in reception as it was the only cool place. I overheard the staff saying that 4 rooms had moved during the night and that the room we had moved to had been occupied.

Do not stay here - book a hostel over this place cheap or not!!! This could actually be dangerous staying here due to overheating.

I have written this in a rushed manner in the hotel reception so please forgive spelling mistakes and bad grammar.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clareluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

The room was small and the bathroom was even smaller. But it was okay if you just want a hotel room to sleep at night. Good price / Quality. The hotel was located in a nice neighborhood. Tip: if it is hot in your room, don't put the air conditioning on cool, it will only make it hotter. The staff was friendly and helpful, they also gave us a travel adapter plug to borrow.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce_Sigmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Ideally suited for my work at the Olympics. The room looked like an advertisement for ideal homes. The bed linen looked as if it was brand new. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Handy for underground and not too far to walk to Liverpool St. Plenty of restaurants and a coop mini market nearby.

Room Tip: The rooms are spartan for furniture but if you want clean basic you can't do better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fillipos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda Cynon Taf, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Contrary to complaints about the heating not working, it was the aircon blowing hot all night that gave me the problem. that said i think this is a clean hotel with very basic facilities - you get a bed, toilet, sink and shower. not somewhere to go if you expect a TV but a good place to hang your head during a week's work in London if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCtrchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Basically this hotel is just as you'd expect for the price. This is basically a converted office building with each room constructed using prefabricated units. The room was just a little bigger than the double bed with no storage other than a single hanger on the wall. Everything in the rooms is made to be cheap and quick to maintain - so hard surfaces all round. The bathroom is tiny but functional and the shower was good.

Overall this is fine for a short stay but if you're planning to stay longer I'd go for something else unless you're going to be out most of the time.

Room Tip: My "room with window" looked out over a neighbouring buildings air conditioning units. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rnwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the night as a short city break with a friend. The room was clean and tidy, with clean sheets. And the staff were friendly and helpfull. The room and bathroom were a bit small with no view but I guess in the end it was a place to put our heads for the night that wasn't a room full of people. Will definitely try this place again asits quite central and there's a Weatherspoons and a balti right down the road. The bus into central stops just outside too. Very handy. It's also manned 24 hours apparently so you don't have to worry a bout curfues. They had a couple of computers in the lobby for using the Internet on though I didn't use them.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Craig N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel London, Liverpool Street
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#298 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venture Hostels
#679 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to easyHotel Old St / Barbican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about easyHotel Old St / Barbican

Property: easyHotel Old St / Barbican
Address: 80 Old Street | Islington, London EC1V 9AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#87 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple comfort, great value rooms offered by Sir Stelios. Our newest addition to the easyHotel brand of hotels in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your easyHotel Old St / Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
EasyHotel Old St / Barbican London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing