We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only complaint was the lack of heating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
easyHotel Old St / Barbican
Ranked #791 of 1,069 Hotels in London
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Only complaint was the lack of heating”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed during the snowy weather in January. First off I have to say that the price of the room for central London was amazing.

Room was small, but not unexpectedly so, clean and the bed was comfy, so no complaints there.

The problem as other guests pointed out was the heating which didn't work - in fact the system seemed to be blowing cold air into the room.

I mentioned it at reception and the very nice person there said there was a problem and lent me a fan heater ( I think it was the one she was using to keep herself warm so that was kind of her).

If it was a one off problem fair enough but it doesn't sound as though it is and that would put me off staying in the future at this particular Easy Hotel. Having said that I've stayed in the Glasgow branch and would stay there again no problem.

Only other gripe is that I paid for a window - and it wasn't worth it, couldn't be opened and couldn't see out / let light in as it was covered with a film presumably to stop people looking in.

Al in all not bad if you are realistic about what you can expect for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    321
    302
    183
    275
See reviews for
188
458
112
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I booked a room with no windows and no cleaning service. The room was big (bigger than other Easy Hotels in London) and was en-suite (small but you don't really need any luxuries).

It was cheap enough and only 10 minutes by bus from Oxford St., so that was very convenient. I would not recommend the tube as it might take you longer with the different changes between stations.

There's only a small bin in the room, too small, so make sure to bring a plastic bag with you to put your rubbish.

There's free Wi-Fi in the reception area and my only complaint is that there was no mobile reception inside the room (I was expecting several texts/calls and only got them the next morning when it was already too late).

Also, there was an extremely loud woman in a room nearby and I don't think her sexual life is of any interests to the rest of the clients who are only trying to get a good night sleep.

To sum it up, it was exactly what I was looking for: cheap in 'central London', a place where you just go to shower and sleep. I might go there again, but might consider paying extra for a room with a window if that's the way to solve the mobile reception problem.

Room Tip: Get a room with a window if you want to use your phone in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryCinema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed at Easyhotel Old Street for 3 nights. It is a small room, it doesn't have breakfast and you only get housekleening if you ask for it (and pay).
Overall it is a very central, clean and cheap hotel. The service is friendly and the room is kind of cousy. For this price and with your own bathroom you only find it outside London.
I will definitly stay here on my next time in London.

Room Tip: You have 2 tipes of room. With window and without a window. I chose the one without window and it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marta_dcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The rooms although small and somewhat claustrophobic do exactly what you need. A good clean bed and functional en-suite. Very poor mobile phone coverage from the rooms though. Good if you don't want to spend much time in the hotel & a good central location

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adrian d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Cheap, cheerful, comfortable beds, nice towels and a good shower, and most importantly, not too much orange. I can't see any reason why I wouldn't stay here again. There was ample space around the beds, separate lighting for over the beds and plug sockets in useful places. The reception staff were friendly, even when I rocked up at 00:20 to check in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank razorbladepianos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

So we wasn't expecting much as it was the cheapest room available in London, I think, with the best location to centre. But what a strange little place, it is the worst room I have ever been in. Who designed these things it's like a pod, must of taken half an hour to build this room.
U dont want to spend much time in it. The smell and heating stories are true. Heating pointless doesn't work not even a heating system anywhere. Toilet flushes like an aeroplane one. The door even looks like its from the cockpit. Clean room and bed. Strange plug socket under the ceiling ?

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Critical66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was looking for a cheap clean hotel to just stay the 1 night on a work get together that I could sleep in shower in morning then leave nothing fancy.

I was very happy as this room was exactly what is said on the tin, small but I did not need anything big, shower worked, beds were clean and room was tidy.

I would and will be using this again, nice work to the cleaners.

The Only reason this did not get an excellent was that the reception on arrival was a bit abrupt but everything else was perfect....

Room Tip: My Room was 1.16 check out is 10am, be aware or you will be charged for late check-out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s4harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Travelodge London Central City Road
Shoreditch
Point A Hotel London Shoreditch
Whitechapel
Hotel ibis budget London Whitechapel - Brick Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Spitalfields
Point A Hotel, London Liverpool Street
Thistle City Barbican
#613 of 1,069 in London
3,046 reviews
Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
The Z Hotel Shoreditch
#306 of 1,069 in London
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to easyHotel Old St / Barbican? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about easyHotel Old St / Barbican

Property: easyHotel Old St / Barbican
Address: 80 Old Street, London EC1V 9AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #791 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simple comfort, great value rooms offered by Sir Stelios. Our newest addition to the easyHotel brand of hotels in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your easyHotel Old St / Barbican reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
EasyHotel Old St / Barbican London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing