We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish i could give 4.5!”

Donostia Restaurant
Ranked #1,229 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Wish i could give 4.5!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Great food served out of a tiny kitchen - really professional looking (and tasted fantastic). Good staff, nice ambiance, good and varied choice of wine and other drinks to suit all budgets. Will definitely go back here (quite a bit)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Teejay12391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    81
    25
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb dining experience!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Donostia Restaurant ticked all the boxes - delicious authentic basque delicacies, attentive and helpful staff and a great atmosphere. The tempura battered courgettes stuffed with goats cheese, finished with orange blossom honey were to die for. Loved it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank lostcargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautifully done Basque restaurant, tapas bar.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were delighted to find a Basque restaurant near our hotel in London. I have a passion for their hard to find local white wines, and here-a 3 minute walk away-was a restaurant importing the wines for a local restaurant. We tried the tapas, or small plates from the menu, including the white anchovy, the cod special, a salad with oranges and hazelnuts, charcuterie, homemade ice creams (mint, coconut, banana) and everything was excellent. Knowledgeable wait staff, outside seating available. LOVED IT!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Great Discovery”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were staying nearby for a week and found this from a little local exploration. In the event, we ate there three times; twice when we had booked and once 'on spec' for a late evening snack on a walk back from a concert. All members of staff were welcoming and attentive and we began to think of them as friends. The food and wines - including our new discovery of Txakoli - were all good and, though not cheap, good value. I am recommending "Donostia" to my group of friends who meet to discuss - though in Castellano rather than Euskara - and enjoy, all that Spain has to offer!
Though we were lucky on the one occasion that we called in on chance, it really is necessary to book.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank NatGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing! A piece of Basque in the heart of London”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Excellent modern take on basque cuisine. Nice, vibrant ambiance, great food & wine, friendly staff. Good value.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Calle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donostia Restaurant also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Donostia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing