We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Low Cost Views”

Emirates Air Line Cable Car - Royal Docks
Ranked #59 of 1,599 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Emirates Air Line crosses the River Thames between Greenwich Peninsula and the Royal Docks, just five minutes from the O2 by North Greenwich Tube station. Cabins arrive every 30 seconds and flights are approximately 10 minutes each way.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Stunning Low Cost Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a great way to get some stunning views over London for very little cost. You can use your Oyster card to take the 5 minute 'flight' across the river and enjoy the sights. Each pod holds upto 10 passengers so expect to share your ride but even with a full number on board you can still see the views and take photos. Well worth it, especially around dusk on a clear day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank nick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,551
    820
    197
    31
    21
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
258 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

A great way to travel from the Docklands light railway over to the 02 arena. We were with our family and it wasn't busy, so the 6 of us had a cabin to ourselves. At only £3.60 each (showing our day travel ticket) for a single ride it was well worth the experience. Then after "doing" the 02 where we had lunch, we took to the river to get back to central London. Recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindylou146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
199 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Up up and away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Lovely way to arrive at the o2 arena before the tennis - and the second trip I took in November was nice and quiet without queues. Staff are friendly and helpful and the views are wonderful on a clear day. It's rare you get something as useful as this (as a quick and easy way to cross the river) combined with such stunning views - the sheer pleasure of seeing the London skyline from way up on high.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank holidayqueen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“fantastic views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Did the return journey for £6.40 with my Day Travelcard so very good value for money.
Went late afternoon so no queues despite being Half Term week. Shared the cabin with 3 others but on return journey had cabin to myself.
All very clean and efficiently run service and ticket office very efficient too
Fantastic views all the way, had an overcast day for my visit but visibility still good
Reccomend it as an attraction in this part of London and as a way of crossing the river

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank PETER G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

I decided this would be a good thing to do as part of my birthday activities so the family piled on the train to London then over to the O2. It was fairly quiet when we got there (Sunday AM) and our Travelcard's gave us a bit of a discount which was a bonus. We got a car all to ourselves. It's not the longest ride but for ten minutes or so you get some great views across the Thames - the Dome, Docklands Airport, Canary Wharf, the City, Thames barrier etc. It's nice and high too to you can see for miles. Luckily it was a glorious clear day so we really got to see it at it's best.

There's not much to do the other side although we did wander for a bit round the green living exhibition thing a short walk from the exit station. We then hopped back for the return trip. By then it was a bit busier and they were more keen on getting us to share, which was no problem, in fact quite good as the other group had a youngster who was REALLY loving it.

The staff were all very helpful, the process for boarding quick and easy and whilst not hugely cheap for the duration, it's an experience and well worth a go.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ilaskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emirates Air Line Cable Car - Royal Docks also viewed

 

Been to Emirates Air Line Cable Car - Royal Docks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing