We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a view”

Emirates Air Line Cable Car - Royal Docks
Ranked #59 of 1,599 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Emirates Air Line crosses the River Thames between Greenwich Peninsula and the Royal Docks, just five minutes from the O2 by North Greenwich Tube station. Cabins arrive every 30 seconds and flights are approximately 10 minutes each way.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

The resemblance of the Olympics in London are quite substantial. The Emirates Sky Lift being one of them. The only down side it the name of the sky lift. It is probably the worst name I've ever seen of a branded train/stadium/sky lift. Enjoy the ride!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,552
    821
    197
    31
    21
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great views of East London, the Docks area and the Thames. One way trips possible.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

wasnt really too bothered about doing this, but wife had been over with the kids a few days before, so thought we we try it with my folks and brother in tow and a little alternative tag on at the end of a day out in the area. Have to say I was very pleased we did - and so was everyone else in the party. a clear, sunny summer eveining helped, but the views across this part of London were excellent and very interesting, especially if you know the area a little and enjoy seeing a little of the less touristy sites. Great views of planes taking off at city airport, flood barrier, Canary Wharf and Bow Creek joining the Thames. Oyster and discounted fares are £3.20 for a single, which you can do, then catch other connecting services from either end (DLR Royal Docks, or Thames clippers, North Greenwich tube).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jjjcLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An amazing view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

An amazing view of the Thames and London. It wasn't too busy so we had a car to ourselves. I had a little wobble at the highest point but then I'm not a great lover of heights. All the same it was worth it. You can use your Oyster card too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CCameron410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Worth doing for tourists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

It is what it is, a cable car above the Thames.

The route joins the Docklands to the o2 Arena - So perfect for travelers going to events here that are staying in the Docklands.

The price is just under £5 for a single adult or £9 return.

A clear day offers great sights of east London and would be recommended to all tourists.

If you only do one way your other transports options are: From the Docklands the DLR is a 2 minutes walk to Royal Victoria Station. Or from the o2 Arena the Jubilee Line is available within a 4 minute walk.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Sam09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warlingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A bit of a disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I was quite excited about going on the Emirates Air Line. But as soon as we got off the train on the north side of the Air Line, the disappointment started. We couldn't even find it. There were no signposts, nothing.

After wandering around, splitting our group up, hunting for the thing, one of us saw the entrance and on we got. The children had a ball because they were hoping to go in a car on their own, but were underage. As soon as our backs were turned (including the hostess supposedly in charge of boarding passengers), they'd run up to an empty car whose doors were about to close, and hopped on. Chuffed to bits they were. We expected to see their car rocking around as they enjoyed their independence, but fortunately they behaved.

What a view - sorry, that should read... What view? Why on earth did they build it where they did? Was it just that the Emirates budget didn't run as far as British Airways when it came to siting their attractions. I think that's one of the main reasons why I still think the Eye is good value for money - the sights you see are brilliant. What can you see from the Air Line? Not a lot - the O2, docklands, and that's about it.

Sure, it's great to arrive at the O2 via the Air Line, but why wouldn't you just get on a train that takes you straight to the O2 if you have the choice (that most of us do), instead of getting on the DLR and going a more circuitous route. I guess that depends on where you're coming from, but I'm sure that most visitors to the O2 would find it easier coming via the Jubilee line.

All that being said, the staff were very friendly, and the Air Line was clean and tidy. Not a bad experience.

So, OK, it was good to tick it off as being done. But I wouldn't bother putting it on a must see list for any visitors to London, unless they were really scraping the bottom of the barrel.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emirates Air Line Cable Car - Royal Docks also viewed

 

Been to Emirates Air Line Cable Car - Royal Docks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing