We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why dont you listen???”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge London Balham
Ranked #344 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Why dont you listen???”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

First of.....this place is not bad. The rooms are clean and the bed was ok too. The location is handy. There was no hassle checking in or out.

Threr was however a number of negative points.
Firstly the bathroom door did not shut (not sure if this is a standard feature....room 311)
Secondly....why on eart do you not put toilet brushes in the bathrooms? Very odd and not very pleasant.
Thirdly.......the heat. And yes I know you have fans......but they are tiny and just circulate the hot air. I do not understand why all the reviews are ignored, its obviously an issue otherwise people would not mention it in the previous reviews. It clearly looks like there are AC vents in the rooms......switch it on! Why can you not open the windows? Most hotels have the ones that open a few inches.

its not a vad hotel.......but a lot of people will not return because you are not addressing the real issue.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tzmrbx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge London Balham, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear tzmrbx, we are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay. We do expect our facilities to be in good working order and we are sorry to learn your bathroom door did not close fully. We will let our hotel know so they are able to make repairs. We do not provide toilet brushes in the rooms as part of our brand standard. Similarly we also do not provide air conditioning as standard in our hotels. Unfortunately the windows in this particular hotel do not open due to its location and the nearby train station. As you have mentioned, we offer fans in an attempt to make our customers stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    170
    71
    38
    37
See reviews for
121
211
54
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Ideal central location. Very clean, comfortable accommodation with friendly, welcoming reception and housekeeping staff.
The most comfortable bed we have ever slept in and all for a price so reasonable, we wouldn't consider booking anywhere else for future trips.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRSP55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 5 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed in this hotel twice, once soon after it had first opened in September 2012 and then this year in July 2013.

Both weekends were very hot (26 – 29 degrees Celsius daytime) but we were fortunate that we didn’t suffer with a hot room.

The rooms both times were very spacious, clean & bright (we stayed in an EasyHotel later which was less than half the size & had no windows). The shower was hot & powerful.

The location is great on, right next to Balham Station (Northern Line). Balham High Street has quite a lot of useful shops (pharmacies, Sainsburys, 99p store et cetera) which come in handy if you forget some essentials on your trip.

I would definitely stay again in this Travelodge, especially if we could get it for under £40 per night.

Please note: If you're unfamiliar with Travelodge brand then find out what this “no-frills” chain offers before you book. For instance breakfast & wifi are not included and come at a extra premium. I think many of the hotels don’t offer free soaps anymore either. No-frills isn’t for everyone, but the low price and large clean rooms suit us for a short trip in London.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizzy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very very basic accommodation taking 'no frills' to the nth degree. However conveniently placed and relatively clean. Still quite expensive for such a low level of basic comfort. probably won't use again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suehelen480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I didn't believe the reviews on here when I booked at Travelodge Balham until now. Having stayed before at other Travelodges and stays being pleasant....this one was quiet an experience.

The rooms are so hot and no ac ? Windows don't open because of H&S issues....due to being so clse to the station.....then why have them?..Fans available from reception...well I requested one at 6pm.and it arrived after midnight! Fan did'nt really cool the room down

Although staff were helpful......the above conditions were not which made the night very unpleasant. If H&S is a major concern then I feel the issues about windows not opening and no ac should be mentioned on their website so it's known before the booking is made. Being such a hot room with no windows is not good for families with small children and people with health related problems....

New hotel !!!! How can they have windows that dont open? Not much thought really given for the people staying there !!!

Room Tip: Check before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shrmp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed on a Wednesday night September. I often come to London on business and I normally stay in the centre but there must have been a special event on as prices were ludicrous so looked further out and found this little gem. It was just 10 min door to door journey from Victoria train station!

Was a little bit apprehensive about previous reviews but having stayed in many Travelodge's I know people are a little extreme in the criticism of the company.....PEOPLE REMEMBER THIS IS A BUDGET HOTEL!

Quite new hotel, wonderful location next to the station and many other restaurants and supermarkets. Quick service the room was basic but was perfectly fine for my needs, TV, Bed shower. It was quite a muggy night outside but did have any issues about the heat or noise from the nearby station.

One final note, I work in the building industry and many people have commented about the windows not opening fully.......It not Travelodge's decision it is health & safety striking again, mad I know but this is the consequence of a few idiots and our increasingly litigious society!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nelly428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Booked Balham months ago for 2 nights to go to family wedding in Brixton/Herne Hill. Price low. Location good next to station/underground and plenty of nearby eating. Staff very polite and helpful. Very clean and beds comfortable so would have given a top value for money rating BUT room was so hot and airless we had difficulty sleeping (or even sitting around wearing clothes!). A fan was provided by reception when we asked but despite running it all night made little impact. The outside temperature was pleasant and around 21C so why the fierce heat indoors? Unable to open windows and no aircon. This building is only around a year old so WHY?????? I would now be wary about booking a Travelodge based on this visit. The staff were apologetic but there was nothing they could do (apart from the fan) and the management were well aware of the issue. It seems to us that there was a fundamental problem in the design of the building so someone must be responsible and held to account. I would now be wary about booking a new Travelodge based on this visit in case it has been designed by the same person.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge London Balham, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We are really sorry to learn of your disappointment with the temperatures in your room Judy L, unfortunately we do not provide air conditioning in this particular hotel however in an attempt to make our customer’s stay more comfortable we do offer fans. These are available from reception on first come first serve basis. Our staff will also keep curtains closed and ensure lights are off before your arrival in an attempt to keep temperatures down during the warm summer months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
The Gateway Hotel
The Gateway Hotel
#566 of 1,069 in London
152 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Travelodge London Clapham Junction Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Pelican London Hotel and Residence
Leigham Court Hotel
#533 of 1,069 in London
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Balham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Balham

Property: Travelodge London Balham
Address: 177 Balham High Road, London SW12 9BX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge London Balham 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge London Balham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Balham England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing