We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great and Moving Memorial”

Bomber Command Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.79*
and up
The Original London Sightseeing Tour: Hop-on Hop-off
Ranked #34 of 1,596 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The RAF Benevolent Fund is proud and privileged to be the custodian of the new Bomber Command Memorial in central London. The memorial has been built to be modern, yet classical, in Portland stone. At its heart are the bronze sculptures of a Bomber Command aircrew. Within the memorial, the space is open to the sky with an opening designed to allow light to fall directly onto sculptures of the aircrew.
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Great and Moving Memorial”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a long overdue memorial. The figures are superbly modelled and cast to give a feeling they will speak. In spite of being right next to a busy road it has a moving calm. The roof is part open to the sky and the inside is like a fusilage construction. Any time we passed it there were people admiring it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank grahma76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,448 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,885
    432
    107
    12
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England of course !
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Very Humbled”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

A must visit, a long wait for those that served for this memorial but worth it. So well made of good size and presence.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank daneworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
429 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
“About time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

A superb sculpture but a bit of information tastefully displayed close by would be useful for those who are not so familiar with the trials and tribulations of Bomber Command.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpassion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Bomber Command”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

A very moving experience in a beautifully laid out arena. We owe our freedom to these people and a visit here to remember them is very worthwhile.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SimonIG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“At last a memorial to our brave airmen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Together with my husband, I was privileged to attend the unveiling of this spectacular memorial, We returned a few weeks later with our son and daughter, and it was an emotional
experience, especially because my late father served as a Lancaster pilot with Bomber Command Although he was lucky enough to survive the war, he did not live to see this impressive sculpture in the name of his fallen comrades, It was a matter close to his heart that a symbol of recognition of their sacrifice should have been made in their honour, and now we have it to show future generations. It was with great pride that I looked up at this magnificent memorial.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank 13Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bomber Command Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Bomber Command Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing