We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful room, prices great, food a disappointment”
Review of Brasserie Zedel

Brasserie Zedel
Reserve with OpenTable
Brasserie Zedel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #547 of 23,379 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $63
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: A large, bustling Parisian brasserie transported to the heart of London. Open throughout the day, offering great value with remarkably low prices, its glorious, historic Art Deco interiors also play host to a 'Bar Americain', 'The Crazy Coqs', a live music and cabaret venue and ZL Cafe.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Went there on a busy `Sat night. Told by receptionist that we should wait in the bar and she would let us know when my boss and his wife arrived. We looked up to see them frantically searching for us throughout this huge restaurant. food was mixed. starters good, entrees not. my duck w cherry sauce was tough and I counted three cherries in total. My husbands Onglet lacked seasoning. To be fair I will give them a try again in case they were having a bad night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JGrossman_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,150 - 3,154 of 4,167 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

I saw this place reviewed as reasonable by Time Out, ratings here seemed ok, so visited for dinner. Unpleasantly surprised. Awful stringy lamb , tasteless parfait starter disappointing profiteroles. Wines were good but expensive place is huge and service sloppy. Plenty of gastronomically better, more picturesque ( this is a cavernous basement), and cheaper bistros and brasseries in London. Avoid this place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rathin100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BZedel, General Manager at Brasserie Zedel, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

I was very sorry to read your review and comments regarding the food and would like to follow up. Please do email info@brasseriezedel.com at your earliest convenience.

Stephen Macintosh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a reservation at 9. Our arrival wasn't even acknowledged until 9:10, despite letting know the staff about our reservation. We had to wait a crowded bar with a patronising bartender until our table was ready. By then it was 9:45 and we no longer had the desire to give them our money and asked for the bill.

However our waiter apologised and let us have our drinks for free and the manager approached us to apologise personally.

Nice bar, cool building, don't try on the weekend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tripi c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

What a shame. The room is beautifully done. The desk, bar and waiting staff are ever so good, but the food. Oh, the poor food; average quality ingredients, under seasoned, tough meat, no care or cooking skills apparent. Real pity.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just next to Piccadilly Circus this is a large busy old fashioned French Brasserie. It has a lively atmosphere, elegant art deco decor, and an extensive French menu. Good quality well presented food, and excellent service. Staff were friendly, attentive and efficient without being over the top. Good wine by the glass. I will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Zedel also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie Zedel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing