We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, lovely staff, poor food”
Review of Brasserie Zedel

Brasserie Zedel
Reserve with OpenTable
Brasserie Zedel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #544 of 22,834 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $62
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: A large, bustling Parisian brasserie transported to the heart of London. Open throughout the day, offering great value with remarkably low prices, its glorious, historic Art Deco interiors also play host to a 'Bar Americain', 'The Crazy Coqs', a live music and cabaret venue and ZL Cafe.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful room, lovely staff, poor food”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

What a shame. The room is beautifully done. The desk, bar and waiting staff are ever so good, but the food. Oh, the poor food; average quality ingredients, under seasoned, tough meat, no care or cooking skills apparent. Real pity.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank michael k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,984 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,833
    1,414
    459
    181
    97
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Art Deco gem in the middle of London”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just next to Piccadilly Circus this is a large busy old fashioned French Brasserie. It has a lively atmosphere, elegant art deco decor, and an extensive French menu. Good quality well presented food, and excellent service. Staff were friendly, attentive and efficient without being over the top. Good wine by the glass. I will return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful place with great food”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

First time had been here and was certainly not expecting the fantastically opulent décor of this place which you were greeted with once you have descended the stairs to this underground brasserie.

Great value fixed price menu with efficient but friendly service.

Lovely atmosphere, appeared to be a popular place with a mix of clientele.

Will definitely return when in London again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thorny247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BZedel, General Manager at Brasserie Zedel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you again when you are next in London.

Stephen Macintosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moulton, AL.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Zedel”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We walked into this restaurant without reservations, and although they were busy, were seated almost immediately. This place is exactly what it claims to be- a big, elegant, slightly noisy, well-priced establishment, serving good, traditional French food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tdlitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Poor service attitude and mediocre food.”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

What a shame this place isn't better. The Art Deco entrance and splendid, cavernous dining hall are such a great setting - and so close to Piccadilly Circus! Unfortunately, anything good about this place stops there. I booked a table for lunch early the same morning and upon arrival was told there was no booking under my name. After managing to get a table, things didn't improve. The service was hurried throughout - making us feel rushed and unwelcome as though the place was just a cash generating machine rather than a place of pleasurable experience. The Chardonnay we had was utterly grim - student party quality at £27.20 a bottle. The chips were soft and slightly undercooked. My guest had asked for her duck well done - it turned up bloody, even by French standards. The duck was returned to the kitchen by a more senior waiter who made us feel awkward for asking and then returned with a fresh plate of duck having lost my guest's potatoes which she had added to the original plate. When I mentioned this, the unhelpful fellow made it clear that having sorted out the duck he did not want to have to find a replacement potato - quite incredible! The duck was still too pink for my guest who left most of it rather than going through the embarrassment of having to ask the slightly rude and singularly unhelpful waiter again. My chicken chasseur was a piece of chicken breast in a rather Italian-style tomato sauce with some mushrooms and a few fragments of tarragon - I could have made better at home, but it was acceptable at a sort of transport cafe level. The onion soup I had to start and the Ile Flottante to finish were both below par but edible - you would get better in absolutely any brasserie I have been to in Paris. And everything still whisked on and off your table at break-neck speed - why? No-one was waiting for a table at the late end of lunch. Not a great experience - the pity is that it could have been.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoPresumptions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BZedel, General Manager at Brasserie Zedel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
I was very sorry to read your review and would like to follow up. Please do contact me at info@brasseriezedel.com at your earliest convenience.

Stephen Macintosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Zedel also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie Zedel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing