We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place, average food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brasserie Zedel

Brasserie Zedel
Ranked #533 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: A large, bustling Parisian brasserie transported to the heart of London. Open throughout the day, offering great value with remarkably low prices, its glorious, historic Art Deco interiors also play host to a 'Bar Americain', 'The Crazy Coqs', a live music and cabaret venue and ZL Cafe.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely place, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Beautiful atmospheric very French basement restaurant, and very stylish bar next door. Food is fairly ordinary, not unpleasant, just a bit run-of-the mill, though fish soup was very good. Worth going to for lovely surroundings, and open late

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annabel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,709
    1,337
    432
    173
    91
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too quick service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Me and my partner ate here before we went to the theatre. On arrival we were asked if we were going to the theatre and said yes so felt assured service wouldn't be painfully slow. However there is quick, and there is quick! It was fast to the point of irritating. The waiter, though very nice and polite, took my empty plate aware before my partner had finished eating,(ok I eat quicker than him!) during both our courses, which in my view is just rude. It didn't make for a very relaxing meal as we just felt they couldn't wait to get rid of us. This was a shame because the food was good but the service spoilt the experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tinkerbell014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Quality & great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

A rare place indeed where style, quality & value for money are the order of the day. Booking is advisable. We waited for a table as we hadn't booked it were quite happy sipping French Martinis at the bar. The table was available exactly when they said it would be. It's not an intimate venue it's on a large scale but the quality hasn't been compromised. It's an upmarket Cafe Rouge but with much better food!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CrystalandShawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
154 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Okay food and reasonably priced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Had pre-theatre dinner here before our Book of Mormon show on a Monday evening. 2 minutes from Exit 1 at Piccadilly tube station and 10 minutes from the Prince of Wales theatre. Booked a table a few weeks in advance. Quickly seated on arrival and the waiter asked if we were going to a show to make sure that we would be able to leave in good time. Very good service. Food was okay but it was not your gourmet 5-star presentation and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TeddyBTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
132 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Stunning Room Not Great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

What A disappointment a beautiful restaurant situated in a basement close to Piccadilly.
The room is run very efficiently and has very good staff BUT THE NOISE unbearable we ate and ran. The table next to us even apologised that the were shouting to make themselves heard and as is such in these situations we had similar comments from other diners so it was just us.
The owners will not be complaining as the turn over of tables was rapid to say the least.
THE food was quite acceptable although our main courses and side came up cold and were dealt with in a very positive and pleasant way and removed and re presented the vegetables still not hot at best warm.
This could be due to the size of the restaurant Bear in mind there is a bar and cabaret room separate from the main room as well.
I will go to its sister restaurant The Wolsey but avoid the new incarnation like the plague

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clive L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Zedel also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie Zedel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing