We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and comfortable accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Ranked #181 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We're used to staying in chain hotels and independents but this was our first time in a Premier Inn. Really pleasantly surprised. The staff were eager to help with anything. the room was clean and well presented - the bathroom particularly so. Wide variety of items available for breakfast including branded products. Good quality food served in a lovely dining area. We walked there from Waterloo station initially (due to rare glimpses of sunshine!). It's about a 15-20 minute walk. Alternatively it's a 5 minute walk from Southwark Tube Station on the Jubilee Line. I'd recommend it and definitely go back if I needed to be near the South Bank. Note that there's a Tesco Express next door if you forget any essentials.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,716)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,288 - 1,294 of 1,716 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

Clean, quiet and civilised. Excellent location - walking distance from Southbank. Excellent staff and superb breakfast. Highly recommended. Minimal street parking so ensure that you locate car parking before stay as hotel does not have own car park.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmrajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our family (2 adults & 2 teens) stayed for 7 nights and we had a great stay. First of all, it is really well located, Modern TATE is within walking distance, as well as Thames Southbank. The closest underground station is Southwark, which is probably less than 5 minutes walk, just crossing Blackfriars Road. From there, Waterloo train station is the next stop. Private hire minicar from Heathrow airport is only 50 pounds.
The hotel staffs are all really friendly and helpful. Check in is using automated machine, but the reception staff is there as well to help you all the way. Tesco as mentioned, is just next door. A lot of amenities in surrounding area. The area is really quite, helping us to achieve a great night sleep. Worth mentioning, we felt really safe walking late at night from the underground station back to hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hola890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Big, clean, comfortable rooms. Breakfast and dinner was very good, with reasonable prices. The staff was very helpful and kind.

Two negative remarks: The internet connection was very unastable, which spoiled some important work I had planned to do. Another problem arised when my cellphone stopped working, and I could not call my boyfriend from the reception, because it was not possible to call a foreign number.. I had an appointment with him 1 hour before this, and I could not notify him.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanna r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great hotel - good location near Tate Modern, the Millennium Bridge & St Paul's. Also a Tesco next door - this helps cut the cost of day trips! Staff are v friendly - the Tube is a 10 minute walk - to Southwark which connects to Waterloo in one stop. So really good. Staff are smiley and attentive - even when they are busy. Lots of people here on holidays so good atmosphere and family friendly for older teens too. Breakfasts are fabulous and very good value for a family as the child eats free with a paying adult. This is the best Premier Inn we have stayed in - and we have stayed in loads! You have to pay for Wifi - warn the kids.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlkleyDiamonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

went with my 3 daughters, hotel great location just round corner from tube, very clean, beds very nice slept well, the staff are amazing, read about noise from pipes heard nothing at all, tesco next door went there for stuff for brekkie so can not comment about food, was that good booked again for august great all round hotel

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairymoon19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and our two girls (8 and 13) stayed here last weekend. We had previously stayed at the County Hall Premier Inn but wanted to try another London location. Premier Inns do what they say on the tin and you know what you are going to get. This is why I like them. However I have to say that the Southwark Premier Inn has to be my favourite of the many I have stayed in. It's a relativley new hotel so everything is clean and bright and the staff are extremely friendly and eager to help with any problems that may arise. The location is great. It's a five minute walk from the Tate Modern which means it is about a ten to fifteen minute walk to St Pauls across the footbridge next to the Tate. London Bridge tube (Jubille Line) is about a ten minute walk. I really liked the area; it's a rapidly developing part of the city and the evidence of new money is everywhere with new aprtment buildings going up all over the place. There's some great places to eat very close to the hotel (we ate at the Vapiano and the Tortilla which were both great value) and there is a Tesco Express right next door to the hotel). The location is also very quiet at night. We had only one complaint while we were there and that was that the small cot bed was a bit underpadded. The staff sorted this out straight away but if you are booking a family room you may want to get that right as soon as you get there. We'll be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tenbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough High St) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel

Address: 15A Great Suffolk Street | Southwark, London SE1 0FL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in London
#74 Romantic Hotel in London
#93 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $129 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked behind the South Bank, where you'll discover modern art, entertainment and contemporary culture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing