We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Ranked #144 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
157 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“We'll stay here again”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great location. Centrally located.... maximum 10 minute walk to either the nearest Tube station (Southwark), the Thames shore, or the Borough market. About 5 minutes to the back of the Tate Modern. Clean and quiet accommodation. All we heard at night were the closing of doors in the hallway. Friendly and helpful staff greet you. We didn't try their restaurant, Thyme. Moderately priced for such a great London location. My only comment about the room was that it is very small, and a bit claustrophobic when the curtains were closed, and the beds are a little too firm for my tastes. But we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyHobbyIsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    521
    85
    17
    17
See reviews for
777
398
52
176
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N Scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

All Premier Inns are reliable and good value. This is no exception. Conveniently situated. Rooms are clean and the staff pleasant and helpful. Handy for Old and Young Vic theatres, The Globe and Tate Modern plus all the pubs and restaurants that the area offers. I'll definately use this place again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TGSpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Fantastic staff !!! Everybody was very helpful and always friendly.
Very good location close to the walking path along the river Thames.
Excellent breakfast with a lot of choice.
Rooms were standard but clean and quiet. Beds are fine
We would go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesdods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We managed a two night break over Easter and got a great price. Our favourite PL is London Eye but this came close. It is a close to the Tate St Pauls, the Shard and Tower.
The staff were all very pleasant and helpful but were a bit overrun at Sunday breakfast - we were warned it would be busy. The restaurant is a bit small, but the breakfast food great and good value.
Not the best area - a few drunks searching bins on the way to the tube on Monday am. The District line was out on Monday but reception told us to go to Green Park and change there to get to the V&A and it worked fine.
Our 7th floor room was smaller than usual, we asked for one at the top of the hotel, and it was quiet and well equipped with a bath. Would use it again .. at the right price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bdenhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Had a four day break in London over Easter. Wanted somewhere we knew would be comfortable and where breakfast was not included (planned to go to Borough Market for breakfast). This is an easy walk from Southwark Tube station. We were welcomed in a most friendly manner, thru the very easy check in and up to our 7th floor room with a view (just about) of the London Eye. Adjusted the heating to suit, and used it as our base for exploring and sightseeing. The restaurant downstairs helped out each day with complementary fresh milk for our tea (can't stand those UHT things)
There was the usual almost invisible daily care and although there was a towel deficiency one day that was quickly remedied. Easy access to Tate Modern, Bankside, Borough Market, The Globe Theatre, St Paul's Cathedral and the City and from Southwark Tube to the West End and Euston Road area and via London Bridge to the south east. Brialliantly situated, in good nick and did not break the bank (although there were sadly no £29 offers to be had!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neal_jolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a family break over the Easter weekend.

The staff were excellent, friendly and seemed genuinely eager to help.

Location- it is very close to Tate Modern and Southwark tube station. There are also good bus connections, a much underused mode of transport in London, particular these days with so many apps available to show the bus routes. As with so many locations in london your first impressions of the area will depend which way you walk to the hotel. If you come from the direction of tate modern it feels like a hotel that is close to major tourist attractions and restaurants.

It is a short walk to St. Paul's cathedral , over the millenium bridge, or you can walk along the Thames to the Southbank.

Bedrooms - the rooms work very well for families. Our family room had a very large and comfortable double bed and two single beds, which were perfectly adequate for a 10 and 5 year old. They secondary beds were also more comfortable than many other hotel chains provide for children. The room was, quiet, modern, clean and had a good shower. Nothing spectacular but everything you need and and you would not notice much difference between this and a Hilton or Novotel.

Breakfast - we tend to rise early (the children don't do lie ins)and the breakfast room was quiet. The breakfast was good value offering a decent selection. The only difference between between this and the 4 star chains is there is slightly less choice of fruit and the continental breakfast does not have cheese and ham. However given the enormous difference in price these are minor quibbles.

The hotel has a bar and restaurant but we did not visit these at night.

During he stay our son (aged 5) fell ill. The staff were incredibly helpful and allowed us to remain in the room on the day of checkout well past past the usual checkout time. This was greatly appreciated as we had a late train to catch and needed somewhere to wait with an ill child.

In London we always used to stay in Hiltons or Novotels however or our last two visits we have stopped at premier inns, (county hall and here). The staff at the premier inn have been every been a match for the staff at the other hotels and in many ways exceed them. They are helpful, enthusiastic and seem to genuinely care about the guests. They also seem to employ a higher proportion of local staff, which is good to see when staying in a hotel in any city.

This hotel offers excellent value for money and I would not hesitate to stay here again or recommend it to friends.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Normallywithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Premier Inn Tate recently for my husbands birthday on 14 March ,,and spent four nights there.. My main comment would be EXCELLENT. The staff really are the jewels in the crown of Premier Inn. From a quick and efficient check in - to prompt attention to a small problem we had. It was my husband's birthday, and we were made to feel like friends - which is not a thing I say easily. He was made to feel really special,(as was I) both by Ayola in Reception and Elvira in the Restaurant! He even got kisses which made his day.The full breakfasts are superb! Nothing was too much trouble for these girls. Always smiling, pleasant and efficient.. As the FACE of a company, they are 5 Star.and we think this is what makes Premier Inn brand special. They so earn their money...The BEDS were so comfy, as were the pillows. A rarity these days. We have stayed at several Premier Inns around the country, but this has to be the BEST. No other chain of hotels have such superb staff - they really make your stay a memorable one. The hotel is close to bus stops, and train stations so getting around was not problem at all. Just make sure you get an Oyster card, which allows you to pop on and off buses and trains without queuing for tickets/change. Saw Singing in the Rain...BRILL.
So big thank you to ALL THE STAFF, some I have not mentioned, but will not forget. Would not stay anywhere else if returning to London.So much better than other hotel chains.
Have not done a review of a hotel chain before, but just had to do this one...

Room Tip: High floor - farthest away from front of building is quieter. 6th floor even numbers do not have bli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myfanwy_Powys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Address: 15A Great Suffolk Street | Southwark, London SE1 0FL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in London
#74 Romantic Hotel in London
#93 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked behind the South Bank, where you'll discover modern art, entertainment and contemporary culture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing