We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Good Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Ranked #184 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Had a very enjoyable stay at the Premier Inn Tate Modern. A really well designed hotel, rooms were very clean and functional and had an excellent night's sleep. The bar area was ideal for a group team meeting each day too.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shiraz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,392 - 1,398 of 1,748 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night, last weekend. Nice modern hotel easy to find, about a 5 minute walk from Southwark station. Yes, it's not right in the centre of London, but this is a good thing, as it's in a quiet area, and I had a good night's sleep. Decent price paid for the 1 night stay, the staff there are very pleasant and seem genuinely happy to see you.
Would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: High floor room, facing the rear of the hotel, was very quiet. (Room 808)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Lovely Hotel only opened mid 2012, usual Premier Inn style, descent room, nice food. Staff helpful and friendly. Location excellent, only few minutes walk from tube station, theatre district and lots of very fashiobale bars and restaurants (bars and restaurants in this area not cheap).
Would recomed for central London short vacation or business stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors much less noise, dont forget its central London after all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant hotel, ideal location 5 mins from Southwark tube station and 5 mins from the Southbank. Rooms the same high standard as all premier inns for the reasonable rate paid.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful at this location which really pleased me as customer service these days can really be lacking!
It pleased out three year old too!
Tesco express next door is also very handy. My only gripe is that our daughters bed by the exterior wall was very chilly, so would recommend some sort of insulation is required as she woke up every night.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank didinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wozani T, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for your 5 star review. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and you found our team to be friendly and guest focused.

I apologise for the discomfort of your daughter's bed. We have a 24hr reception and next you stay with us please feel free to contact us and we can resolve any issues you have.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had stayed previously at Premier Inn and other hotels but the friendliness of staff combined with an immaculate bedroom and bathroom makes this my favorite hotel. Period. A five-minute walk to the Southwark Tube station, very close ot the Tate Modern. If you like travelling and don't require a lot of extras that other hotels make you pay dearly for then this is the place for you. The staff were helpful to stay the least. If anyone complains about the staff don't believe them. When I return to London I will definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wozani T, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you for your 5 star review. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that you founf our team to be very friendly. They will be happy to see your comments.

We are indeed in a great location, within walking distance to a few attractions.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I are huge fans of Premier Inns and Southwark, Tate Modern lived up to expectations with one exception. The staff were extrememy helpful and friendly. The rooms were spotlessly clean with a choice of soft or firm pillow. The evening meals were good and reasonably priced. Unfortunately the Continental breakfast is no longer available and the full amount of £8.95 is payable whether you enjoy the 'full works' which are cosiderable or cereal and toast like me. Children under the age of sixteen eat free and I did feel that I was subsidising the three boys next to me who were tucking into the 'full works' for free.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights whilst on a business trip to London.
10 mins to tube station.
Friendly reception staff - always smiling every time i passed.
2 lifts couldn't cope well with the demand - or maybe i was too impatient to wait - so i used the stairs (even though i was on 7th floor)
Room was modern, comfortable, clean, good size, in fact very good size for London .
Tea and Coffee etc; nice sheets on bed, spacious bathroom, but the soap and bodywash is`(as it typically is) in wall-mounted dispensers, which i personally fin marginally irritating. Maybe some people prefer that.
Bar/restaurant is near entrance on ground floor, is relaxed, comfortable, and not expensive. Beer was a little over £3 a pint, which is very reasonable.
In the morning breakfast is very reasonable and the chef is able to cook eggs how you want to order
Good for South London visit.
Would use again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DamLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough High St) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
Southwark
Travelodge London Central Southwark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Holiday Inn Express London - Southwark
London Bridge
Ibis London Blackfriars
Ibis London Blackfriars
#265 of 1,077 in London
3,428 reviews
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel

Address: 15A Great Suffolk Street | Southwark, London SE1 0FL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in London
#74 Romantic Hotel in London
#93 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $118 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked behind the South Bank, where you'll discover modern art, entertainment and contemporary culture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing