We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Hotel Good Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Ranked #113 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
worcester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Good Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Had a very enjoyable stay at the Premier Inn Tate Modern. A really well designed hotel, rooms were very clean and functional and had an excellent night's sleep. The bar area was ideal for a group team meeting each day too.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shiraz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    434
    64
    10
    14
See reviews for
665
349
44
143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night, last weekend. Nice modern hotel easy to find, about a 5 minute walk from Southwark station. Yes, it's not right in the centre of London, but this is a good thing, as it's in a quiet area, and I had a good night's sleep. Decent price paid for the 1 night stay, the staff there are very pleasant and seem genuinely happy to see you.
Would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: High floor room, facing the rear of the hotel, was very quiet. (Room 808)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Lovely Hotel only opened mid 2012, usual Premier Inn style, descent room, nice food. Staff helpful and friendly. Location excellent, only few minutes walk from tube station, theatre district and lots of very fashiobale bars and restaurants (bars and restaurants in this area not cheap).
Would recomed for central London short vacation or business stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors much less noise, dont forget its central London after all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant hotel, ideal location 5 mins from Southwark tube station and 5 mins from the Southbank. Rooms the same high standard as all premier inns for the reasonable rate paid.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful at this location which really pleased me as customer service these days can really be lacking!
It pleased out three year old too!
Tesco express next door is also very handy. My only gripe is that our daughters bed by the exterior wall was very chilly, so would recommend some sort of insulation is required as she woke up every night.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank didinic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wozani T, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and you found our team to be friendly and guest focused.

I apologise for the discomfort of your daughter's bed. We have a 24hr reception and next you stay with us please feel free to contact us and we can resolve any issues you have.

We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conegliano - Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had stayed previously at Premier Inn and other hotels but the friendliness of staff combined with an immaculate bedroom and bathroom makes this my favorite hotel. Period. A five-minute walk to the Southwark Tube station, very close ot the Tate Modern. If you like travelling and don't require a lot of extras that other hotels make you pay dearly for then this is the place for you. The staff were helpful to stay the least. If anyone complains about the staff don't believe them. When I return to London I will definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wozani T, Manager at Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your 5 star review. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that you founf our team to be very friendly. They will be happy to see your comments.

We are indeed in a great location, within walking distance to a few attractions.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbottom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I are huge fans of Premier Inns and Southwark, Tate Modern lived up to expectations with one exception. The staff were extrememy helpful and friendly. The rooms were spotlessly clean with a choice of soft or firm pillow. The evening meals were good and reasonably priced. Unfortunately the Continental breakfast is no longer available and the full amount of £8.95 is payable whether you enjoy the 'full works' which are cosiderable or cereal and toast like me. Children under the age of sixteen eat free and I did feel that I was subsidising the three boys next to me who were tucking into the 'full works' for free.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights whilst on a business trip to London.
10 mins to tube station.
Friendly reception staff - always smiling every time i passed.
2 lifts couldn't cope well with the demand - or maybe i was too impatient to wait - so i used the stairs (even though i was on 7th floor)
Room was modern, comfortable, clean, good size, in fact very good size for London .
Tea and Coffee etc; nice sheets on bed, spacious bathroom, but the soap and bodywash is`(as it typically is) in wall-mounted dispensers, which i personally fin marginally irritating. Maybe some people prefer that.
Bar/restaurant is near entrance on ground floor, is relaxed, comfortable, and not expensive. Beer was a little over £3 a pint, which is very reasonable.
In the morning breakfast is very reasonable and the chef is able to cook eggs how you want to order
Good for South London visit.
Would use again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DamLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Hilton London Bankside
Hilton London Bankside
#64 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 906 reviews
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Address: 15A Great Suffolk Street | Southwark, London SE1 0FL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in London
#74 Romantic Hotel in London
#93 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked behind the South Bank, where you'll discover modern art, entertainment and contemporary culture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing