We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Ranked #143 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed here with my boyfriend from the 11th until the 13th of October as a birthday present for him. Booked early and got a great deal. I was pleasantly suprised! Fantastic location, less than 5 mins from Southwark station on the Jubilee line which for £7 a day travelcard you can do most sights in one day by tube or bus. Hotel staff were friendly and we felt very safe. Room was on the 8th floor with amazing views of the Shard, it was cleaned whilst we were out and came back to a comfy bed with lovely pillows. Would return to this hotel without a shadow of a doubt :)

Room Tip: We were on the 8th floor and had fantastic views of the Shard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayWill90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    513
    84
    17
    16
See reviews for
764
392
52
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

First time in a Premier Inn and I found it far better than any of the other budget hotel chains I've tried. The room was clean and fresh with easy to use temperature controls and the beds were very comfortable. It is in a great location very close to Tate Modern and a couple of minutes from Southwark tube station to get anywhere you want to go. The best element of the hotel was how helpful, friendly and cheerful the staff were any time of the day or night. Even the maintenance man at the end of a 12 hour shift!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork - Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed at this Premier Inn over the weekend. Got a great deal - pay-up-front so great value. Hotel is very new, very clean, very friendly staff, and fantastic breakfasts. Location is very close to Southwark Tube station and the area although not visually great is OK for quick access to central london and the West End. Room was somewhat larger then I expected and had a great view of the Shard. Room and bathroom exceptionally clean. Bed was fine for a budget hotel. Wasn't the most comfortable but absolutely not the worst. Lots of great touches in the room/hotel to make things convenient and Wifi free for 30mins and 3GBP for 24hrs. Great Value and fast! Check-in was done using automatic machines and your card provides access to lift etc. Hotel is very security concious but does not provide safety deposit boxes in the rooms. We had breakfast on the Sat morning. Bit chaotic due to the small room and peak time. Staff very friendly and attentive. However, one thing I did find is that all staff do all things and there is little communication between them so who exactly was in charge of e.g. restaurant or check in etc. Made for a lot of staff asking you the same questions even though another colleague was already acting on your request/query/table etc. Breakfast at 8.95GBP was fantastic. Great quality - e.g. Kellogg's cereals rather than the dust-bowl Aldi/Lidi stuff so many hotels are now serving. Another note - aircon in the room was very powerful and good!

The only issue and to be honest its a bid enough issue regardless of hotel type: our room was not serviced on the Saturday so when we came back around 8pm after a long day in the city we didn't have any clean towels and the room hadn't been touched. The tip I left hadn't been touched either (thankfully). Rang reception but no answer for quite a long time as the reception staff (1 person) seemed also to be managing the restaurant and responsible for other work too! lol! Eventually they called back and I explained about the room. First question was "did you leave the DND sign on the door?". Obviously I didn't and checked to confirm!.. And the cleaning lady saw us leave the room earlier on in the day as she was outside in the corridor. They dropped up some fresh towels and they then offered breakfast free to us. Unfortunately we didn't get to take them up on it. It wasn't mentioned to us at check out as a follow-up.

All in all great value for money. Ok location. Fantastic breakfast. Friendly service. Spotless new hotel accommodation - but some minor enough points to work on. Would I return - Yes - when good deals are available.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i-love-ayia-napa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just had a two night stay here this weekend.the staff are excellent especially at reception!always polite and helpful!even gave my pregnant partner a free breakfast in the morning due to not being able to get in the restaurant straight away the night before.no complaints and would stay again with out doubt.keep up the good work

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stueybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We got a really good room rate via the email news letter from Premier Inn, amazing value for the service and welcome we received.

The hotel is a few minutes walk from the south bank of the Thames and the Tate Modern,in the opposite direction approximately 5 minutes walk is Southwark underground station which is on the Jubilee line an ideal starting point for exploring London.

The room was the usual premier inn standard spotlessly clean and comfortable ensuring a decent nights sleep, comfy bed and choice of pillows.

The staff in the restaurant are a credit to the hotel. Ashleigh was caring and showed genuine interest into our plans for the day ahead. The dinner and breakfast were great value and definitely recommended.

We wouldn't hesitate in booking this hotel for future trips to London.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_Liz_Mog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is my first time to visit London and I choose this hotel and book 6 nights after check the tripadvisor's comments
Room is quite clean and location is ok. But the experience is terrible!!

1.Do not expect any help from call center you need to wait at least 30 m to get your phone through and it's very expensive for international consumer. The CSR is not the least helpful.
2.This is really a cheating company, they stated on their website that the ealier you book, the cheaper price you get. So I booked 2 months in advance but they cut their price by more than 50%. I complaint and they admitted their imporper but simply deleted the sentence.
3.After I checked out, they deduct one night fee from my credit card without my authorization! Although they found it was a mistake and refunded me later, still I couldn't believe that they can do it, I feel so risky to pre-authorized debit to them!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiona20052005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plumstead
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

I love to moan. However I had a recent stay at this 'budget' (?) hotel. The reception I received had me concerned. Did they mistake me for a celebrity or royalty? Serious. It was lovely. So check in was done in 30 seconds. The room was spotless. The bathroom was like new. The comfort was ohhhh so good. There you go! Oh and there is a Tesco express next to the hotel to buy your wine and (as I did) a full on picnic which I devoured in the room. Wonderful stay. Did I mention its location? Perfect for trains (Waterloo) and tube (Southwark).

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlumsteadBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel
Address: 15A Great Suffolk Street | Southwark, London SE1 0FL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark , London Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in London
#74 Romantic Hotel in London
#93 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked behind the South Bank, where you'll discover modern art, entertainment and contemporary culture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London Southwark (Tate Modern) Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing