We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Devran restaurant

Devran restaurant
Ranked #1,611 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At The Devran, our philosophy is simple: Treat guests like family, serve great food, and always exceed expectations.At Devran Restaurant you can always expect a warm welcome from our highly-trained team of international waiters and waitresses. The attentive staff will be happy to help in any way they can to make your dining experience a more pleasurable one. The team would be pleased to recommend dishes from the menu and accompanying wine as well as sights and attractions in the local area. We can adapt dishes to cater for food allergies you may have.Our team of waiting staff come from combined of different countries and speak over 20 languages, so if you're a tourist and English isn't your first language, you'll always be in safe hands with Devran.Here at Devran Restaurant we pride ourselves on serving the finest quality Food all the time. Each and every Dish we serve is prepared with the same care and consideration, then expertly cooked to the customer’s liking to ensure the end result is delicious and tender every single time.Devran Restaurant source our ingredients from only the finest Lamb & range of chicken & fish providers, which guarantees that only the most succulent meat is served. Every cut we serve is 100% Halal.And of course, it’s not just about the Lamb. We cater for all tastes and assure the same level of quality from all our dishes. Our delicious range of fish, chicken and vegetarian and meze dishes are prepared, cooked and served with the same care and consideration that goes into our food dish.All ingredients are subject to rigorous taste-tests from our Executive Head Chef prior to selection and put through regular quality assessments to make sure you always get a top quality meal when you visit an Devran restaurant.We look forward to welcoming you to our London restaurants soon.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Wonderful Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I went here last Saturday night with 4 friends. The place was heaving which is always a good sign and luckily we had "booked" a table. There was a queue out the door and even though we had booked it took about 15 mins to get seated due to how busy it was. The range of food on offer is amazing - we started with mixed meze and then we opted for the "Devran Special" which was a meat feast that should feed 2 people. Four of us had this to share and we couldnt finish it! It was an amazing amount of food. One of our party is vegetarian and she had a wonderful sea bass. All this plus wine and a tip came to £22 a head! The best Turkish food I have ever had in London

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonk1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    51
    17
    6
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
117 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Totally Gorgeous food wine and desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We tried this restaurant for the first time this week and can say we were not disappointed. We chose the Devran special (be prepared for a monster size dish for 2) sooo totally yummy.
Kofte, lamb chops, chicken pieces chicken thighs, shredded chicken, lamb pieces shredded lamb, tomato cous cous, butter rice, Turkish bread, tomatoes, large peppers, onions, ribs, chopped salad, houmus, tsziki cucumber and mint dip. Chai (Turkish tea...Free!) the wine we chose was very reasonable, and the deserts were a great choice. We were totally bloated.
If you can't finish your meal then ask forbit to be boxed up and take home. We had 1 large bottle of sparkling water (welsh..very nice). Plus spiced pears and ice cream, plus a hot baklava ice cream...all this for 2 and the bill was £47.50p...now we love good food and will pay a good price but it's hard to find places to dish it up as we like it. But honestly this place as well as opponents Gokyuzu are a great place for a single person for lunch, or evening meal, couples and definitely family. Devran has crystal chandeliers and waiters in long aprons, very clean and top class fresh food. It is halal but probably so is your local Indian restaurant or take away, and no horse here people! Just good clean honest food cooked in front of you!! I would suggest look in the window and your mouth will water!! The colours and mixture of food for meat eaters and vegetarians.
Buy your following days dinner ( we do) re-heat and enjoy a relaxing evening with good good for all. Go outside go left to yasar halim supermarket and buy your breads, salad, fruit meat and cheeses. Spices Cyprus potatoes, fresh mint coriander and an array of coffees. Wish I didn't live 150 miles away! But we originally come from London and know these places are amongst the very BEST to eat and buy good food. Pheww I look forward to sharing my good and bad places to eat and stay.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank englishrose7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The best Turkish restaurant in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We are lucky enough to live minutes away from this gem of a restaurant off Green Lanes N4. The food is great with generous helpings, good choice (veg as well as lamb, chicken and fish kebabs and other dishes) and always cheerful, attentive service - it has become our regular neighbourhood restaurant over the past three years. Despite often being full of diners the floor manager manages the trick of ensuring that you never have too long to wait without rushing you once you are enjoying your meal. The mezze can be a meal in themselves with a platter ideal to share with a kebab or stew between two if you are not extremely hungry. The wine list is also decent and very reasonable - how many places in London can you eat your fill with a bottle of wine for two for around £30? The staff do a great Happy Birthday snake dance routine, often more than once in an evening! One more thing - it is open for night owls till 2.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GREATT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have started to go devran since it has open it is an ADDICTION! my whole family loves it.
very busy place so you shall make your reservation before. brilliant place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank angelina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better for vegetarians than the famous place opposite...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

I am a big fan of the amazingly popular restaurant opposite the Devran, but I have to say the Devran has a much better veggie selection. Try the courgette fritter balls..simply delicious. This place is going to be just as popular when local knowledge spreads...enjoy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dubidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devran restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Devran restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing