We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Communication”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bloomsbury Palace Hotel
Ranked #353 of 571 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Our room was on the third floor (fourth, if you count the ground floor, and no elevators). One side of the bed was lower by 3 inches, as the room tilted to one side. The shower was half the size of a phone booth, and impossible to use your arms to wash. The room had a thermostat for A/C but no A/C. Cheap fan only. The desk personnel on all shifts looked at you quizzically whenever you asked a question or directions. English language deficiency.

Won't be back here, although London will be revisited soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zebradoubleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 364 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

The description of the THIS HOTEL IS a complete LIE. My husband has to help him with the suitcase up the stairs (what about having a lift!!!), they put the suitcase on the floor and the ROOM WAS FULL, YES! FULL, no space for anything thing. It is NO clean, mice around near the kitchen; they run out of food for breakfast and they can't be bother to go around the corner, and buy whatever they need at the last minute. Only because we were going out of London the following day, I couldn't have told our friend pay one night and cancel and I could booked something better, bigger, cleaner for the same price or EVEN LESS!!! THIS KIND OF PLACE GIVE LONDON A BAD NAME!!! But he is over 70 and we couldn't help him moving hotels. This HOTEL, certainly it is FAR, FAR from being a "palace" just misinformation. PLEASE London tourist boarding fix this people, downgrade the 3* to 1* so they can't charge high prices, and check them on being clean...!!! stay away from this place too expensive for what the offer, London is expensive BUT you can find better place and service for the same price. (£75 to 170 it is a joke!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosesarered777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Filthy and disgusting!! Went to get a towel this morning and a used ear bud fell on the floor. The basin had a brown ring around the plug hole. The air conditioning didn't work and when we went to complain all they said was "oh it's probably broken" and then offered us another free standing fan. Really?? We were in a LG room lower ground it was more like the basement. Thank goodness I didn't take my child. No water in our room although there was in the other room. Breakfast, well where do I start. Such a small room and the woman had her fingers all over our knives and forks. I wouldn't even have a cup or tea from the room. The hair dryer was a joke. I wouldn't let my dog sleep in this place

Room Tip: Do not stay in this place is the best advice I could give to someone!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee-Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at the Bloomsbury "Palace" hotel for one night and that was more than enough. Very unhelpful reception staff
. Air con and tv in the room didn't work, room was small and hot and dirty. Breakfast was an absolute joke, down in the basement and to small for a hotel with over 20 bedrooms.The waitresses were surly and can not have had any training as they were handing out the cutlery with their hands on the blade and fork area and were leaning across our party when placing the breakfasts on the table, the tea and coffee were cold and not enough fruit juice of fruit. We have been travelling to London for years and have never stayed anywhere as bad as this. Unfortunately we didn't check it out on trip advisor before we booked which is very unusual for me as I thought we'll its only for one night and it's in a nice area!!!!!!!!!!! STAY CLEAR OF THIS HOTEL !!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Single room in the hotel is too small and no AC. Noisy for rooms that are with road facing windows. Breakfast served is good and is value for money.
Reception staff is good.
Hotel location is excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANILKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Tiny, cramped room. Water from the tap was very suspect- I was too scared to make tea or coffee. Great location though. Staff were pretty average. Breakfast doesn’t start until 7.30am which was too late for me because I had to leave for a flight at 6.30am.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Anubha_PeaceRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel last weekend (9th and 10th August) we were bought a weekend in London as wedding present.
After reading reviews on Trip Advisor, I was expecting an absolute shambles. But, we were pleasantly surprised with the hotel and it was much better than we were expecting, based on the reviews we'd read.
We arrived at around 8pm on Friday, the gentleman on reception was very helpful and gave us information on breakfast times, wi-Fi codes etc (free wi-Fi is great, especially if you don't know where you're going in London!)
The room was a strange shape, but perfectly big enough for what we needed. We had a quick shower and got changed (shower was hot and powerful - better than mine at home!) and shampoo, conditioner and shower gel, as well as towels were provided.
We asked if there were any nice restaurants close by, the receptionist gave us clear directions to Covent Garden and was happy to help with any questions we had. Covent Garden is a 10 minute walk.
Our room was on a main road so we had some noise from the traffic which can't be helped. But there was a fan supplied which was great as it allowed us to keep the window closed overnight, whilst keeping cool.
Breakfast was ok, a selection of cereals and fruit, with an English breakfast choice too. 1 sausage, 1 bacon, beans, mushrooms, tomato and a choice of scrambled or fried eggs. Tea, coffee and fruit juices too. The breakfast staff were rushed off their feet, always busy and doing something so on one occasion, we gave her a hand by helping to clear our table. She was working really hard.

Best thing about this hotel is the location, 10 mins from Covent garden, 5 mins from British museum, 10 mins from Tottenham Court Road. Perfect location for Central London. Would definitely use this hotel again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NavyBaby91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#521 of 1,077 in London
361 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#82 of 1,077 in London
1,814 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#620 of 1,077 in London
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#64 of 1,077 in London
3,354 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#570 of 1,077 in London
801 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#359 of 1,077 in London
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloomsbury Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomsbury Palace Hotel

Address: 29-31 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 571 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $89 - $575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bloomsbury Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Palace Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing