We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find for central London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bloomsbury Palace Hotel
Ranked #346 of 557 London B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good find for central London”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

A desire to see the Pompeii exhibition prompted a spontaneous trip to London over the Easter weekend with my wife. At very short notice we found the Bloomsbury Palace conveniently situated for the British Museum at under £100 B&B which for central London is a bit of a result.

I stay in central London hotels all the time on business and room size is often an issue - even in the big brands (when someone else is paying!). We stayed in a basement room (No 4) and it was fine - far more spacious than some of their near rivals, very clean with a great ensuite shower. The door to the bathroom could be a little more private (see through glass). The staff in the hotel were very helpful, bringing extra towels swiftly when asked. The hotel was nice and quiet on Gower Street, but only a short walk to Goodge Street tube where there is all the life in terms of restaurants etc you would want.

Breakfast was cooked to order (always a good sign in London) and was tasty - good quality bacon and sausage. We left our luggage at the hotel during the next day - there didn't appear to be a secure luggage room there, as the bag was just left in the lobby. So don't leave anything valuable in them (we didn't have a problem). A great stay in a part of town where hotels can be decidedly grotty - well done to the Bloomsbury Palace.

Room Tip: Room 4 was perfectly big enough in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiltonKeynesTimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    92
    109
    44
    85
See reviews for
63
68
55
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Spent 3 nights at the Bloomsbury Palace as have just started work in London and this will be a regular commute. Hotel staff excellent , helpful and available. Hotel location is central and easy access to Central London. Down side is room size, I stayed in a single room for 3 nights and it was tiny. No wardrobe, just 4 hangers to hang my work clothes. Shower room compact fairly clean but could be better. The room was just far to small, there was no space to work, as the only seating area was the bed. Hotel is rated 4 star but its misleading. Breakfast was served from 7.30 but too late for me so no benefit for paying for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bae84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tingstäde, Gotland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is small but excellent in many ways. It is close to central London. But it is on the rather peaceful Gower Street. Good service at the reception. Very good English breakfast in the basement. The basement room we had with three beds was small but clean and quiet during the night. But you had to put your suitcases on the floor and there were but one hanger in the small bathroom. Nowhere to sit except on the beds.

Room Tip: All rooms with three beds face the backyard and therefore are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariafredin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

I had a small single room and it was really small, but well designed, so absolutely fine. Had ensuite, which many hotels for the price don't offer.
The only problem I had was fitting my phone charger in the socket as the space around it is too small for anything bigger than a standard plug.
Staff fine, breakfast as you would expect etc....

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boodyhoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed here two nights, paid £50 each per night with a friend! Pleasantly surprised by the modern rooms and they were so clean!! The hotel had an excellent location right next to googe street station and only 15 minutes walk from Oxford street! Hotel staff polite and very helpful, let us leave our suitcases in reception all day after checking out! Definitely recommend this small but pleasant hotel! Breakfast was delicious with a choice of full English, toast, cereal, fruit, coffee and juices!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigerlilly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I paid £65 for a room and breakfast - did n't eat breakfast - date elsewhere but the room was perfect. o.k! it was small but perfectly appointed, yep with the window open there was a bit of traffic noise - hey this is central London! Yes I walked up stairs to get to the room - this is what legs are for!

Room Tip: If you want quiet ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillbrown55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located in a very central location which is great, the rooms are clean and perfectly formed, the hotel staff are friendly and accommodating.

We paid £95 for a dbl room, very cheep however the stairs are very steep with no lift. The breakfast room in the basement was very small and offputting, with a very inadequate breakfast. For a little bit extra on cost you could get a lot nicer hotel if you look around.

Ps the scrambled eggs were rubbery!


Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraJ1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#539 of 1,069 in London
352 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#648 of 1,069 in London
219 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#560 of 1,069 in London
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#863 of 1,069 in London
46 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,069 in London
3,244 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#133 of 1,069 in London
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bloomsbury Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloomsbury Palace Hotel

Property: Bloomsbury Palace Hotel
Address: 29-31 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #346 of 557 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bloomsbury Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Palace Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing