We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Honey & Co.

Honey & Co.
Ranked #376 of 22,376 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Fitzrovia
Tring
Level Contributor
348 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Brilliant food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

The food was superb in all aspects, the service friendly, helpful and quick. The downside - very expensive for a basic crowded café layout (£23 for two course set lunch) and three of us were given one quartered small pitta bread between us for the Mezze. Surely one pitta each is sensible? I asked for more and was charged £1 extra on the bill - crazy!

If you charge these prices surely you could be generous with the pitta and not charge £1 for one small extra one. Insult to your customers. Spoiled what should have been a perfect experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aberdeenjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    149
    61
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Overpriced and terrible flavours”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

I was really looking forward to visiting Honey & Co after reading a positive newspaper review (a few years old) and generally loving middle eastern/mediterranean food.

First negative: The waitresses were over friendly and not very good at their job. Expected you to help too much with moving plates around, practically threw cutlery on the table etc. This is possibly because the restaurant is poorly laid out and cramped - we were on top of our neighbours.

Second: the food and wine was horrendously overpriced for what it was. The set lunch we had seemed like good value (2 courses for £15) but then the mezze starter came in tiny portions (especially the pita bread, which was cut up into quarters and they charged another pound per pitta). The two mains we ordered were overpoweringly sweet, not balanced at all.

My boyfriends prawn tagine came with prawn shells, whole spices and tomato skin floating all over the place and two tiny strips of potato bread on the side. 'Rustic' perhaps, but when full price for that dish was £14 I expected a lot lot more.

I'm thoroughly disappointed. Normally don't write negative reviews but every aspect of this restaurant was a let down. Pay an extra few quid and go to Nopi (an Ottolenghi restaurant) instead. It seems the owner/chefs are trained by Ottolenghi but clearly didn't learn their trade well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank HelloLucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
134 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Not meze but creative international food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Honey and Co. is located in a small and rather plain cafe in the up and coming streets north of fitzroy square. It's tiny, and reservations are crucial. It says it serves food from the Middle East, but this is not a meze restaurant - don't think plates of hummus and tabbouleh- if that's what you want, go to the Edgware Road. Rather, honey and co. serves creative food, made with imagination and flair, in informal surroundings. We had a superb spring salad of raw courgette, beans, lemon and grilled cheese, together with some dense, tasty falafel. For mains, we had a lamb tagine and a char-grilled aubergines dish - both were amazing. The menu caters for coeliac and vegans. The piece de resistance was the incredible honey cheesecake with pine: really delicious. It's expensive, and the sittings last only two hours, but everything we ate was delicious and innovative. It's not Israeli food, Jewish food, or Middle Eastern food, although there are elements of these - it's a distinctive and very harmonious modern restaurant,

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AmnonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overpriced food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Can't understand why this place is so popular. The food is pretty average compared to that served in Middle Eastern restaurants on Marble Arch section of the Edgware road and much more expensive. We were given a 2 hour slot at a table in very cramped premises (a badly converted former cafe). Nothing very special. and a rather expensive experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bedandbreakfastfan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Really great food here. Charming service and a nice vibe.

It's middle eastern food - which I hadn't really tried before - but it was so full of flavour! A guide had recommended it when I went on a food walking tour of Soho so I thought it worth a try. Excellent value.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roaming_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Honey & Co. also viewed

 

Been to Honey & Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing