We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing ”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Angel & Crown

The Angel & Crown
Ranked #10,972 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: British, Pub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: Pub with restaurant on 1st floor - recently opened
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

A couple of friends and I had arranged to meet in the city and so pre booked a lunch in this restaurant last weekend and from the minute we arrived until we left we had a very disappointing experience. As we had lots to catch up on and chat about I for one did not expect I would be bothered about what was going on around me but having been left standing awkwardly in a small hallway where we felt in the way because our table was not ready upon a booked arrival in a not so busy restaurant was hard not to notice. We had been offered no drinks until our order for food was finally taken and that was after waiting a little while for our menus. There were 4 members of staff behind a small bar talking to each other and drying cutely rather than tending to their customers, food was okay...very salty and overpriced for what it was. But the real sting was the 12.5% service charge!! Im all for service as I've been a waitress in the past and we paid it but the staff that day I felt were not deserving of such a percentage.

Helpful?
Thank eLODieTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at The Angel & Crown, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and we are so sorry to hear you had such a disappointing experience at The Angel and Crown regarding the service and the food. We aim for high standards on both and clearly did not meet deliver on this occasion. Please do get in touch as we would like to talk to you, Best wishes, Karen 0207 242 9122
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    36
    15
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
harlow, essex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovelyn Meal and Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We came here as a treat as we were coming up to see a show last week - we have a tastecard and chose here because of this.
The place is lovely! really nice, and such a nice atmosphere. Its a gem i didnt expect to find in the middle of London! my burger was very nice, and the pear and sultana crumble was Amazing!
Tastecard made it great value, we will definitely go there again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greek_claire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“No Soggy Bottom Fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Booked this restaurant for a pre theatre lunch and were pleasantly surprised, we were shown to a table in the bar as we did not wish to have a formal dining experience. There was a special offer of meal plus free drink of house wine or a choice of beers, we had the beer, two of us ordered burger & chips and the other fish and chips, the fish was cooked brilliantly with the whole batter being crunchy without a soggy bottom. We really enjoyed the meal and stayed for a couple more drinks as we had time to spare. Definitely recommend the pub.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 915Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average little pub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We went to The Angel & Crown on a Saturday afternoon for a pub punch. We both ordered a beef burger which was massive but average. The chips were very greasy and a bit bland. The dining room is otherwise pleasant, they had a little fire going which was lovely. It'd have been pricey for what it was if we weren't paying with a Tastecard,

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Copyofthereal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen P, Public Relations Manager at The Angel & Crown, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for visiting our pub and the review. We will most definitely look into the chips to see how we can improve them. Very best wishes and we do hope you will return, Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday Roast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Passing by with friends from abroad and found this pub. Have walked past numerous times and not noticed it. Today dropped in. Oh my god. Amazing. Honestly best Sunday roast I've ever eaten in London (and I'm a Brit living in London for 15 years). Top notch will be recommending to all my friends. Definitely coming back!

Helpful?
1 Thank Russell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Angel & Crown also viewed

London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to The Angel & Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing