We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”
Review of Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travel Inn
Ranked #442 of 566 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Where do i start, we got there and they were a little unfriendly but not to bad. They walked us to our room which barely fit the bed and fridge in. We had a look round and found mouldy food in the warm fridge that had been left there, then we saw wires dangling from the ceiling to then look closer and see a camera! Next we looked at the bed and found that it did not smell fresh, we found a hair and to top it off the was a dead bug on the pillow. I went to demand a full refund and they offered to swap rooms but i said no i want the money back. They then proceeded to charge me for that night but refunded the rest.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aliwhiteway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 124 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

Booked late as were undecided of where to stay. Chose this place as it was £28 for the room and was the closest. We thought we could sleep anywhere for 1 night as we would of been back late and tired anyway ... Boy were we wrong!

Pulled up outside and a sign said you had to pay for parking when our reservation stated that there was free parking onsite.
When we got there door was answered and we were asked 'What do you what?' no hello or welcome. When we got there took forever to check in and they double charged us, we had paid on the website before but we had to pay again. We were walked to our room by a very unhappy member of staff.
Our room was on the top floor at the front of the building, it was April and the window wouldn't shut, the room was freezing, bed was broken, sheets dirty (hairs on and a strange crispy stain???), no radiator or heater, bathroom door didn't shut, toilet didn't flush, hot tap didn't work and we couldn't stand on the shower tray as there was a huge crack in it. TV remote didn't have any batteries in, tv had 2 channels, was dusty, room stank of smoke, our door wouldn't lock and the lamp was broken.
We were going out to a concert and asked what time the doors closed we were told they didn't and they said we don't want our keys going outside ... NO WAY were we leaving our key!!
After we got back my partner stayed awake all night in case someone got in the room while we were asleep and I nearly broke by back on the bed.

All in all didn't think we'd leave with all our stuff, un-raped and alive! Wouldn't go back if you paid me. The room was terrible, the staff unfriendly and rude.

Room Tip: Please don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moobag23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We're do I start arrived at travel inn to wait to be seen!! Then got led to a room with a electric heater in it. We were told it was the new and best room in hotel!! The carpet was soaking wet and the ell of damp! We got located to the top floor in a room smelling of smoke and covered in mold and hair all over the floor!! Being so late unable find new place.
Had to sleep fully clothed on top of the dirty stained beds!!
Biggest waste of money

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John13ram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Needed a room for my son and I as we were going to watch The Who at the O2. Location is good but that's it. Beds were lumpy, fridge was noisy, bathroom was minging. Didn't even bother with the breakfast. This is real budget end accommodation I would definitely pay the extra and get something better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unders51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Booked the hotel by phone, seemed very nice and service minded, but that was all.
Family on a trip, 2 adults and 3 children.
Adult room on the 3rd floor in full Build work.
Kids room 1 floor.
Where the nightmare began.
Spoke to the receptionist, he organistert so we got rooms on the same floor
Children who ok with windows, but the room we were given was next desk.
People went in, out all night and the staff had loud sound on the tv was very annoying as the window to the bedroom ¨ opened into the lobby.
When the room had windows or ventilation kept the room a oil temperature of about 35 degrees.
Because of the noise and Temperatures we set out almost all night, and found out that the hotel was closer to a bordel, when the man saw clientele that came in during the night.
Refrigerator as it stood in the ad was not there.
The shower was there but the tap was not working, so had dursje with cold water when finished showering and was water everywhere in the bedroom.


Breakfast is served in the hotel, with the bread that is several days old, dirty cutlery, dirty glass, a boss is calling and whining on the staff that they should hurry there's no food here.
In other words, very poor breakfast.

Positive.

Cold soft drinks and cold water that you can buy at the reception.

This we paid 85 pounds for a night

This hotel is not recommended for anyone.





This hotel is not recommended for anyone.

Room Tip: This hotel is not recommended for anyone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shazad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Words truly don't describe what I have been through this weekend. .But I will give it a go.

A group of 11 of us booked had booked in for the night of Electric Daisy Carnival. The hotel seemed ideal on paper due to the distance to public transport and the reasonable price. Ironically, by the end of my stay i would happily have taken a loan on Wonga.com and stayed at The Ritz in which becoming bankrupt just to avoid having the experience of staying at the Travel Inn for one night.

On arrival we were greeted by a chirpy fellow who was in his full tanned corduroys outfit. He swiftly led us into the reception/dining area in which had plenty of character. The neon clock and random scratched old records from Barry Manilow sellotaped at random around the really set the tone well. After an hour of the reception/security/owner/breakfast chef/decorator booting up his Windows 95 computer and counting how much we owed for the rooms by his fingers finally he was ready to show us to our rooms.

After the first door from reception it felt like I would be willing to bet some.The hotel decor was a touch 70's, a touch of Eastenders' Queen Vic, mixed in with a massive dollop of 'been-down-the-dump-this-shouldn't-have-been-thrown-out' look. The Only consistent thing about the Travel Inn is the fact that nothing surprises you whether it be the random sinks in the hallway or the canvas paintings drilled in to the wall from the outside.

The bedrooms were fitted with all the essentials, if mold, stink and awkwardness were essentials. There was so much moss around every light fixing/water outlet that I thought parts of the walls were carpeted. One of the bedroom didn't even have a light for the bathroom other than something which looked like a head torch which had a note under say 'press here for light'.

Now to the beds, ahhh where to start.. the pillows I had were basically two socks with cotton wool buds in, even after folding the pillows twice i had no neck support. I can tell you exactly how many springs there were in bed in room 23 as i could feel them all individually penetrating my back and looking back at it i wish it would just have impaled me to my death to end it all.

It wasn't all bad in the room though. It was very basic, no appliances apart from the fridge which was warm enough to cook some food had we felt like it. We were generously left with 2 old, uncleaned mugs and a filthy kettle which did work - which was a pleasant surprise and was lovely in the morning after the curtain rail fell down to look over the building site of what seems to be a extension to the hell hole.

I was not notified that an episode of Corrie was due to be filmed at the hotel that night. 2 Hours of a guy shouting 'CHLOE I LOOOOOOOOOVEEE YOU' and a fight kicking off was in fact making me grip to Crusty bed sheets even tighter.

All in all, my experience at the Travel Inn was like sleeping with a filthy lady of the night without the pleasure of having sex.. just the feeling of being dirty and the possibility having caught a disease.

However, all these delightful 'characteristics' put the weekend up there as one the funniest experiences of my life to date. So thanks Travel Inn, thanks for the memories.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nikolai U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We booked this 'hotel' for 3 nights this July as it seemed tidy and a decent location, at arrival the reception seemed shocked at paying customers. once we paid he then took us up to our room on the very top floor the majority of the building was undergoing building work and everything was dusty, as soon as we were shown into our room we were surprised it was nothing similar to what was advertised there was no fridge as advertised, no cups or iron. Don't be fooled by the black marble ceiling in the bathroom it's actually just covered with damp no bath which was also advertised, there was a large clump of hair on the floor and carpets thick with dust the wallpaper was dirty and looked asif was barely hanging on. Our satellite tv was actually a plugged in ariel tied to a rope dangling from the ceiling and controller didn't work, the fire escape was out of order and truly looked like a down and out hostel, keys had to be handed in every time you left. We were here no more than 20 minutes when we left to book the holiday inn express we tried to cancel as it was unsafe unhygienic and not what we had been sold and were still charged full price for the first night even tho we didn't stay, I would advise anyone to look elsewhere as this isn't somewhere you'd want to sleep, a building with so much work shouldn't be open !!! Stear clear

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha7415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Viking Hotel
#761 of 1,076 in London
684 reviews
Forest View Hotel
#759 of 1,076 in London
77 reviews
Epsilon Hotel
#596 of 1,076 in London
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Ibis London Stratford
Ibis London Stratford
#453 of 1,076 in London
835 reviews
Travelodge London Stratford
#344 of 1,076 in London
1,256 reviews
A to B Hotel
#403 of 566 in London
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Address: 207 Romford Road, London E7 9HL, England (Formerly Countryside Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #442 of 566 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $53 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travel Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms include:•Flat Screen TV with all Freeview Channels•Radio and Alarm•Tea and Coffee Making FacilitiesHotel Facilities Overview:•No. of rooms: 30•24 Hour Reception•Car Parking (small surcharge)•Wi-Fi Available (small surcharge)•Limited Hours Room Service•Laundry / Valet Service (small surcharge)•Wake Up Call Available•Ground Floor Bedrooms•In-room Broadband•DVD Hire ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Inn London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing