We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, cheap & exactly what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyde Park Radnor Hotel
Ranked #672 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Manchester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Decent, cheap & exactly what we expected”
Reviewed January 18, 2010

We stayed 2 nights on a 'mini break'. The room provided was as expected - quite small but fine for a weekend break, big bed, clean bathroom & relatively quiet even though we were over looing the main road - we did have a little balcony as well which was quite nice.

Location is excellent, 1 minute walk from Paddington tube & the road to there has some useful shops - 24/7 type places, few restauarnts and bars, handy indeed. We found it easy to get anywhere form there & of course Hyde Park is just a minute walk (literally) as well.

Staff were ok, not overjoyed but they were helpful enough - they just looked really bored. Can't comment on the breakfast as we missed it both days. We paid £85 a double each night whihc considering it's London is pretty good indeed.

In Sumnmary - If you want a decent budget, clean hotel which is in a great location, then this is a good choice.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sethareli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    225
    115
    40
    28
See reviews for
146
152
58
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights this trip, had stayed for 5 nights one year ago. Rooms are small but very clean, beds comfortable. Short walk from Paddington station. This is not the fanciest hotel, and breakfast is not gourmet standards, but if you are looking for clean place to stay and aren't fussy, you would be very happy here.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2009

Good location, a short walk from Paddington. The rooms are small and VERY small for a double, but clean, and cleaned daily.
I did not try the breakfast after our first attempt - crowded, noisy, so we rather went to walk in Hyde Park and get a more healthy bite from the local Pret or Eat..
They did have amazing service when organising for a taxi to take us to the airport at 3 am.. cheaper than before, and great service. Thanks for that!
Recommended for a short stay, near public transport.
Not recommended for leisure travel, not for younger couples.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Innerpeace35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

Went to London for 2 weeks in late Oct 2009 for business trip, and I chose this hotel from the comments on this site.
The place is in a great location, with a few minutes walk to Paddington Station and you can find a laundrette, restaurants, Tesco Express, Sainbury's or shops nearby.
I stayed in the top floor. The room was a bit small but it's acceptable (when comparing the experiences I had in Japan). Bed sheets were changed every 2-3 days and the room was clean. The wi-fi service was not that stable though, sometimes you need to be in the lobby to get a good reception.
Just one small complaint to the breakfast, sometimes it's really hot but sometimes it's cold. I heard people having similar complaints in the dining room as well.
But in general this is a good stay. I will choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Macquarie, NSW
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2009

This Hotel was walking distance to Paddington Underground and lots of pubs and restaurants. Clean and cozy, staff were very helpful - gave us an umbrella when it rained. Breakfast was very good. Great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDandSS_thirteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

This small hotel is in my favorite area, less than 10 minutes walk from Paddington Station and 15 minutes from Hyde Park. It is close the the great middle eastern restaurants on Edgeware Road,and given the high hotel prices in London, it's a bargain.

The hotel was renovated a few years ago and is clean and bright. The rooms lack basics like an alarm clock of clock radio, and to make an outgoing phone call you need to go to a pay phone near the lobby. However, it does have free wi-fi.

We had two negative issues that made me give this place a negative review. The BIG deal was the service and the attitude of the non-family staff. We asked one night for a wake-up call at 5:45 am as we had to catch a train. Fortunately, I set my iPhone alarm as no call came. When we approached the night clerk (who took down the wake-up call request), he said, "Oh, yea. You asked for I wake-up call. I guess you were lucky you woke up!"

On our final night we asked the same guy for a 6:30 wake-up. We did get a call, this time at 6:00, a half hour early. I had told management about our first experience and I guess this guy is trying to tick off customers.

The other negative is the hotel's "full English breakfast." They have a small kitchen and serve 36 rooms, so I'm not sure what they can do. However, breakfast was one egg, one small tasteless sausage, a small rasher of bacon, a canned tomato, canned beans, and canned mushrooms. For 3 of our 5 days in London I went down the street and paid 5 GBP for a great, fresh breakfast. Not a reason not to stay here, but be forewarned. At 100 GBP per night they could do MUCH better with breakfast, staff, and room amenities.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPRH, manager at Hyde Park Radnor Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2009
Thank you for staying with us during your stay in London. We are sorry to hear that you did not receive the wake up calls you requested. This is not a frequent complaint, however, we have spoken to our night staff about this to ensure this never happens again.

You pointed out that Paddington station is less than 10 minutes walk, in fact the station is no more than a 3 minute walk and Hyde park only a 5 minute walk.

Our full English breakfast is as advertised and consists of egg, bacon, beans, sausages, toast, tomatoes with tea and coffee and orange juice. You mentioned canned mushrooms however we do not serve this and never have done. If a guest feels that the breakfast has not sufficed they are more than welcome to ask for more. There is also a choice of cereals to choose from as well.

We do appreciate your comments as this helps us strive for better service.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

Just back from a short stay at The Hyde Park Radnor Hotel. This is advertised as a 4 star establishment, but we would say more like 2 and a half to 3! Rooms were small, but okay as we were out most of the time. They were clean and comfortable enough, but the main problem was the shower in the small bathroom only gave out cold water! We complained twice about this to 2 different staff members who both said they would get it sorted, but never did. Also the "English breakfast" as they call it, was cold 2 days in a row and pretty inedible. The location was great as it was only a few blocks from Paddington Station, but just don't expect much in the way of service.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rad14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#688 of 1,067 in London
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#671 of 1,067 in London
422 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albro House Hotel
Albro House Hotel
#664 of 1,067 in London
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Darlington Hyde Park
The Darlington Hyde Park
#208 of 1,067 in London
2,138 reviews
0.0 mi away
Piccolino Hotel
Piccolino Hotel
#712 of 1,067 in London
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Columbus
Hotel Columbus
#481 of 1,067 in London
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Radnor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Radnor Hotel

Property: Hyde Park Radnor Hotel
Address: 7-9 Sussex Place, London W2 2SX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#374 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyde Park Radnor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central London Hotel - Luxury bed and breakfast located in the heart of London. 4 Diamond rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Hyde Park Radnor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Radnor Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing